We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best budget option in Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perfect

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Perfect to your Saves list
Hotel Perfect
39 rue Rodier | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #955 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best budget option in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Finding accommodation in Paris was a real challenge. Despite the challenege of which area to stay in, Parisian hotels are super expensive and the rooms are notoriously small.

In the end we opted for the Hotel Perfect - as I'd stayed there before many years ago.
This hotel has a mix of private rooms and dorm rooms.

The double/twin rooms with private facilities are newly renovated and cannot be faulted. Spotlessly clean, ours had French doors opening up onto a balcony which helped make the roo feel bigger.
For the 39 euros per person we paid per night, we got a continental breakfast (pan au chocolate, baguette with jam, fruit juice, tea, coffee or hot chocolate) and free wi-fi. It's hard to beat that kind of value.
And despite the building being fairly old, it has a lift which is rare and welcome.

The only complaint here is that the walls are paper thin which can cause problems when other guests are having conversations at night. But wearing ear plugs is a small price to pay for a killer location.
On Rue Rodier, just five minutes from the Sacre Couer and a ten minute walk to the Gare Du Nord, the Perfect is well placed for all tourist needs.
It is a short walk to Anvers and Pigalle Metro stations, has a supermarket across the road and is surrounded by amazing bistros.
Check out the local markets in the park by Anvers Station on a Friday, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    156
    89
    36
    17
See reviews for
45
148
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed there for a week in the female bedroom and enjoyed very much. Everything was fine for me - clean, cheap, good location, heating, supermarket and boulangerie near, the lady at the reception was very nice (Chantal). I speak french and english (I'm brazilian) and she speaks english so we communicate very well. The mister at the reception at night was a little rough. The bedroom doors have magnetic keys.
Cons: no proper place to put the baggage in the female room, although there's a safe. There are no hangers, no shelves and no hooks. There's no sink next to the toillet of the floor.

Room Tip: For the girls (of all ages): I liked the female bedroom with four lits, but don't bring too much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Pros:
- Very clean room & cleaned everyday with towels replaced
- Helpful staff
- Good location - very easy to get to the center of Paris from Anvers metro station (3 min walk from hotel)
- Sufficient breakfast and they do provide more if asked
- Very good price for what you get!

Cons:
- Walls are a bit thin - but its not too bad
- We didn't have curtains in the room, but that doesn't matter if you're getting up early

Overall I would definitely return!! Very good value for money and was better than expected :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

First time in paris and more than happy with this top rated hostel in top location: close to public transport, montmatre with sacre ceur. Moulin Rouge is also not so far away. Rooms are cosy equipped with double beds and clean bathrooms. In the fair price is a breakfast included, consisting of cafe au lait, croissante, baquette, butter and marmelade.

Room Tip: Go for the double or at least twin bed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I booked a female dorm for 4 at this hotel, but they messed up my booking and put me in a mixed dorm instead, where all the other 3 people in the room were guys. I don't know if it really was just a (very stupid) mistake, or they did it on purpose to accomodate more people (they were fully booked when I arrived) because I was supposed to arrive at 11pm and I might not have noticed because everyone might have already been asleep by then. Either way, it was extremely unprofessional and they can be sure that I will NEVER book a room there again. To their credit, they found me a room at the hostel across the street, but that was just lucky. What if that hostel was full too? How the hell was I supposed to find another hostel at 1am? The guys in the room were probably nice people who wouldn't have bothered me, but people book all female dorms for a reason. Some of us are just not comfortable with sharing a room with random strangers of the opposite sex. The hostel should not mess up things like this.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed on this property from 08/06 to 12/06/2013. The Hotel is so easy to find, as I boarded the airport express from CDG costing Eur 9.50, all the way to Anvers Station, which is like 5-6 minutes away from the Hotel. From CDG take RER 2 line to La Chapelle station which is like a 40- 45 minute journey and from there change to Metro line to Anvers and get of after 2 stations.

The Hotel is past a Children's Park which is in front of the Station and exiting from the park you will be able to see rue Rodier. Coming to the Hotel so tired from CMB after a 14 hrs flight on UL, I was greeted with a BIG smile by Chantal. Withing 2-3 minutes I was given my key and padlock.

The rooms are adequate for 4 adults to sleep and hence quite rightly the Hotel had just 4 ppl in a room.

The super market just across the street has the freshest produce and mineral water and any other beverage to quench your thirst.

The Bunk beds are roomy and the showers always had hot water running. Soap and towels were provided by the Hotel.

The two Sri Lankan cleaners do a fantastic job and special thank you goes for Antony. The wash on level 1,3,5 you have the toilet and the showers, but on level 2 where I was in had only the toilet. But climbing to L 3 or cmng down to L1 was not a biggy for me as at any given time the shower was free.

The rooms did have good sound proofing and by the time you close the balcony door noise was minimal. Hence all 5 days I had my 6 hr beauty sleep, hahaha......

You can get Excellent French wines for under Eur 5 from the shop I mentioned and bread for under Eur 1.50, and everything was reasonably priced where 9 ltrs of water cost me Eur 1.48.

The breaky next morning presented by a Delightful Mnsr Antoine was adequate enough. The breakfast items and its cost break up I have listed out and you decide for your self how worthy it is.

Item Ave French price (EUR)
Half a French Bread 0.70
Chocolate Croissant 1.50
Fresh cup of WhiteCoffee 2.40
Butter and Jam 0.30
Glass of OJ 0.50
Total 5.40

Hence this was well worth as it was already included in the very very modest room rate ranging from EUR 28-35 depending on how efficient you were in booking the Hotel well in advance.

Further I would highly recommend the breaky as the Hotel served the Best and freshest coffee available and the bread produce was equally fresh.

Most of the lunches were taken outside or via piknicks which I used to prepare in the Hotel's roomy kitchen.......

The relaxing diners were spent on the balcony of my room, eating french cheeses with baguettes freshly baked from the downstairs bakery. along with plenty of vino.

The directions given by Chantal and Nabil were excellent. (BTW congratz Nabil on ur Big Day).....If you are lazy and do not have more than 5 days you can definitely use the Metro. And I suggest u take single passes at Eur 1.70 as that can take you anywhere in Paris within 1 Hr. Hence you can reach a furthermost tourist destination in Paris (Except for Versailles Gardens) by buying 1 ticket and return the same with another Eur 1.70 ticket. But if you have more than 4 days it is recommended to buy the 10 trip ticket in one go as it costs only EUR 13.30.....

But I highly recommend you all to walk to any destination if you have more than 4 days to spend as that gives us the best way to experience the Parisian Life and culture. Further it is good for you.

The luggage room is big and the washroom for transit travelers was more than adequate. Wifi connection was excellent and super fast.


Lastly about the city, Paris is Wonderful with Nice people..... And thank you Perfect Hotel and Chantal, Nabil and Mnsr Antoine for making it a Dream tour for Me.

Room Tip: Level 2 rooms. Room where you have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place was perfect for our trip, we just needed somewhere to crash after the evilness that Paris had to offer!
Paris itself was a total nightmare..but this hostel was fine, comfortable and clean.
The guy on reception, who we presume was the owner, was slightly rude at first but that soon wore off!
The area is great, a couple of minutes walk to the metro, there is an amazing patisserie at the top of the road that do gorgeous ham and cheese baguettes and really nice coffee!
A word of warning to fellow female travellers..make sre you definitely know where you are going if you venture out at night..we found an Irish bar a few streets away and when we started heading back to the hostel we got completely lost and ended up having to get a taxi back, its not the safest of areas!
Overall the hostel is just what it says it is..a hostel..if you're looking for 5* accommodation this is not for you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Perfect? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perfect

Address: 39 rue Rodier | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Perfect reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Perfect Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Perfect, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.