We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Senlis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel de Senlis to your Saves list
Hotel de Senlis
7 - 9 rue Malebranche, 75005 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,346 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel has a perfect location close to the Panthéon. It is set on a quiet back street that I've seen used as a background in romantic movies, and it is indeed very pittoresque. However, the interior is quite dark and especially the rooms could do with a splash of paint and maybe change of carpets. The staff are helpful, but all in all this is a quite average hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
6
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a great little hotel of the sort that is disappearing too fast to be replaced by hideous hotel chains or by "renovated" boutique hotels. I' ve stayed at Senlis five or six times over the last decade and found it always to remain the same. It's very clean the people behind the desk are helpful but not sycophantic, the breakfast is exactly like good value petit dejeurner in that quarter.The value is excellent, in fact the same rates that I remember from my first stay there placed by a French university. Sometimes the people who write these reviews have no idea what is normal or good value in Paris and maybe anywhere else in the world as well if they rarely travel.

Room Tip: Give the hotel a break it's in the Latin Quarter for heavens sake it's the student quarter s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagno a Ripoli, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The only positive thing about this hotel is its location: 15 minutes walk from Notre Dame and 5 minutes away from the RER B metro station.
Maybe we've been just unlucky, but our room was dusty, the carpet old and stained, the red bed cover also stained, and the springs in the center of the mattress were so worn-out that we both slid to the center of it. Furthermore, the tiles in the bathroom were coming off the walls, there was a permanent cigarette odor and the corridors between the rooms were just large enough to fit a person walking with luggages behind or in front of him/her. Gloomy receptionist and definitely not welcoming. Wi-Fi service is only two hours a day per room AND for one device at a time only! We kindly asked if it was possible to add another device even by issuing another access code (we would have also paid for it) we got a straight "No" as an answer.

Room Tip: We've heard that the room at under the rooftop was nice. Try asking for that one when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The location of the hotel is great, close to quite a few touristic spots such as Notre Dame and the Sorbonne as well as quite a major metro line which covers the airports and Château de Versailles. The hotel and our room were clean but quite old and ran down. The street the hotel is on is very noisy and the bin men were out at 6 am EVERY morning. The worst of all was that the maid or somebody else was watching TV all night long very loudly and that was not sorted out even after we complained.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel if you would like the appealing location but if you are after descent sleep you can find better, considering that a night sleep there costs €100.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I had stayed at the de Senlis in 2002 and rembered it as adequate. It still is! The location in the Latin quarter is great. I also took the RER B line to Luxembourg metro stop direct from terminal 2 at Charles de Gaulle airport for 9.75 Euros. The hotel is about 7 blocks from the stop so it was very convenient.I found the staff helpful and the continental breakfast was a fair value at 7 Euros. My room was clean and the sheets always looked ironed! The hall carpets are terrible and need to be relpaced though. The de Senlis is a nice enough budget hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: There are some rooms in the back overlooking a courtyard. I didn't get to see one as they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is located near the Pantheon, the Luxembourg park, various bus stops and the Luxembourg metro station. There are many restaurants and pubs nearby.
We stayed in a twin room, which had lots of space under the roof, large windows and a nice bathroom. The room and hotel was overall clean.
WiFi was free, but you need to go down to the reception to get a ticket with log on info.
The service was all right.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Although the staff were a bit surly, more or less everything about this hotel was great! The room was perfect, very comfy bed and VERY nice bathroom, and brilliant location, near the pantheon, a 5 minute walk from Notre Dame and lots of bars/restaurants around! The internet worked well (once you finally got a login ticket that worked...) and we found it to be clean and well-maintained. If you're just looking for a base to explore the city, look no further.

Room Tip: A room not facing the street might be a bit quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Senlis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Senlis

Address: 7 - 9 rue Malebranche, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,346 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Senlis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Senlis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Senlis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.