We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Paris experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Louvre Richelieu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Louvre Richelieu to your Saves list
Hotel Louvre Richelieu
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Rue de Richelieu, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1,071 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Paris experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Firstly, it's always a gamble to check into a hotel that is totally new to you. The decision for me to choose this hotel is mainly due to it's location. Well, it turned out to be a very good decision and Paris visit is even sweeter for first timer like me and family,
The hotel is newly renovated, the guy at the reception is excellent, speak English and very helpful. He placed us on the 4th floor and as we all know, there is no elevator. Looking at the staircase which is narrow and I'm horrified by looking at our luggages. We made our way up by negotiating 73 steps! To our surprise, the gentleman at the reception actually helped us with one big bag and clearly out of his breath. It was a great gesture and very helpful of him.
The location is superb, near the subway and the La Fayette shopping mall. Making our way to most of the main tourist spots are easy as subway system are the same in most of major cities. Restaurants and convenient stores are at the door stop and most importantly the quality of the food is surprisingly good.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel and price wise ... It's so so only.

Room Tip: Double check the room provided as there renovations going on
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
22
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

A work colleague and I stayed in two rooms for one night, having selected the hotel because of its proximity to our business meeting. Location, on a quiet street with easy access to the Rue de Rivoli one way and the Opera area the other, is excellent. Entrance to the hotel up steep stairs and the reception area caused us some dismay but the reception staff were friendly and our rooms, once we clambered up to the fourth floor, were very pleasant with decent beds and better shower facilities than I've found in three star hotels in Paris. We did not take breakfast but saw the croissants being brought in from the local boulangerie so I'm sure it would have been fine but 'no frills'. Overall, a good solution for a short trip providing you don't mind the stairs (no lift).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

3 adults stayed in one of the standard triple rooms for 3 nights stay in Paris. Room was clean and not too small. Sheets and towels all fresh and nice to use. Staff all spoke English and were pleasant to deal with. Hotel is in a good location for sightseeing and we all felt safe. Would stay again if visiting Paris.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Ok, where should i start....
Overall i'd say the hotel is very ok to stay for a weekend or a short trip in this great city. The position of this hotel is actually perfect as you are very close to al the hot spots and also some metro stations.
The staff is friendly and helpful. They will answer every question relating your stay in Paris.
But the appearance of the hotel and the (older) rooms leaves to be desired.... We've booked our stay via a famous booking page here on the internet. And now comes the confusing part; we didn't have the option to choose between different room types, at least i can't remember or rather it was not clear or obvious. The pictures on the booking site as well as on the official homepage of the hotel look very great and modern. But as we arrived in the hotel and got our room, we were kind of shocked. Because the room was definitely not a quarter as good as on the pics. It was old and a bit in a bad state. There were only two plug sockets in the whole room, the tap in the bathroom didn't work properly. At least, the room was tidy! So i'd say that is the most important point.

One day we came to the breakfast and got a flaky milk which is a sign to be already old or bad. But ok, this can happen and the staff apologized for that.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Very decent and clean place near to Louvre . Staff are friendly and helpful. Great place for family stay and convenient place to explore Paris . Many restaurants near the hotel . I would love to stay again in this hotel and recommended to friends .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Central, secure, clean, soundproof, good heating/cooling. Perfect central base to explore the sights and sounds of Paris. Staff friendly and helpful. Built in the 1500s, so be prepared for stairs (no lifts), but staff happy to help you with your bags if you ask. Staff speak English to varying degrees, but all have enough to get by (as we had hardly any French)! Late night convenience stores a few steps away, including fantastic fruit and beautiful flowers. A few minutes walk to the Louvre and Palais Royal. Our only complaint was the rules: no laundry or eating/drinking in the room. This should be stated up front on the website. Great place for a short stay, but not so great if you're hoping to wash your socks in your room or save money by buying some takeaway breakfast. But hey- this is Paris, and who wants to eat in when you can buy croissants and coffee and go sit in the Palais Royal gardens instead!

Room Tip: The renovated rooms are worth the extra money & have better door locks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Door is not secure with only a push button lock. Comes equip with faulty lights and dripping shower. Room condition is not even worthy of a single star. Main corridor light can be off by anybody while you are climbing the narrow and steep stairs.

Room Tip: Best to not book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel_manager, Gérant at Hotel Louvre Richelieu, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Most dishonest guest we ever had.
It is so easy to make critics and to post biased pictures, like the one of the 'faulty light' for instance: the ecological bulbs that we had in this room need a few seconds to turn on and give their full light. The picture of the 'faulty light' was certainly taken 1 second after switching on the light, and 1 bulb was still dull and the other one just beginning to deliver light. The same picture taken 3 seconds later would have shown 2 lit bulbs !
On another hand we never had security problem with the 'old button lock', and nobody could ever switch off the lights of the staircase as there is no switch-off button.
I do not see the point to fiddle around and tell tales. The aim of this site is to help trip advisor users to make an opinion on the hotels they may want to stay in, based on objective comments, not on fantasy.

Anyhow, all rooms have now been renovated since your stay. They offer a nice design and well equipped rooms, as you can check on the pics on our web site. Concerning the 2 points you mentioned in your comment, he rooms locks are now state-of-the-art Vingcard and major part of the lights are LED.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Louvre Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louvre Richelieu

Address: 51 Rue de Richelieu, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,071 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Louvre Richelieu 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at less than 500 meters from the Louvre, near the Paris Opera and the shopping district (Galeries Lafayette,..), Hotel Louvre Richelieu is certainly one of the best values in this prestigious area. Whether in Paris for business or for leisure, you will be in the heart of the City of Lights: the main tourist attractions are reachable within a short walking distance and we are surrounded by numerous restaurants with the most varied cuisines and for all budgets. It has 13 rooms. The majority of them was renovated in 2012 and combine both comfort and modernity. The staff at the front desk is at your disposal and willing to help you enjoy your stay in Paris (visits, tours, restaurants,). All team members speak English and French and some speak other languages.A free Wi-Fi network is available throughout the hotel.All rooms are strictly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Louvre Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louvre Richelieu Hotel
Louvre Richelieu Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Louvre Richelieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.