We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Louvre Richelieu

Save Saved
You added Hotel Louvre Richelieu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Louvre Richelieu
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Rue de Richelieu, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1,046 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Central, secure, clean, soundproof, good heating/cooling. Perfect central base to explore the sights and sounds of Paris. Staff friendly and helpful. Built in the 1500s, so be prepared for stairs (no lifts), but staff happy to help you with your bags if you ask. Staff speak English to varying degrees, but all have enough to get by (as we had hardly any French)! Late night convenience stores a few steps away, including fantastic fruit and beautiful flowers. A few minutes walk to the Louvre and Palais Royal. Our only complaint was the rules: no laundry or eating/drinking in the room. This should be stated up front on the website. Great place for a short stay, but not so great if you're hoping to wash your socks in your room or save money by buying some takeaway breakfast. But hey- this is Paris, and who wants to eat in when you can buy croissants and coffee and go sit in the Palais Royal gardens instead!

Room Tip: The renovated rooms are worth the extra money & have better door locks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
22
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Door is not secure with only a push button lock. Comes equip with faulty lights and dripping shower. Room condition is not even worthy of a single star. Main corridor light can be off by anybody while you are climbing the narrow and steep stairs.

Room Tip: Best to not book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hotel started out promising, but went downhill over our 5 day stay. There are very narrow winding stairs to get up to the rooms. The room itself seemed good but the showers were really awkward and splashed water into the bathroom.

I think security wise at night it could also feel safer. After midnight there is no one in the front desk and the access into the hotel is just swiping your room key.

Service overall was quite poor. The people working at the front desk were not very friendly at all. They did not change our sheets during our stay, which is okay for being sustainable, however when we asked for it to be changed after the third night they seemed very begrudging. There was also some days where we came back and there was no toilet paper in the bathroom or soap.

Also, note that the hotel runs out of hot water if you shower too late or have roommates/other people staying with you.

Even though this is a convenient area, I would look elsewhere for better value next time. Overall it was a very mediocre stay and I think there is better around the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I was in Paris for one night only and this hotel really could not have been better. I came across it purely by chance whilst browsing hotels and I will definitely be back.The location is fantastic as a base and an ideal starting point for this beautiful city, particularly if you enjoy walking as much I do!

My room on the top floor was one of the newly renovated ones and stylish, well appointed and I think extremely good value. Spotlessly clean, crisp linen and comfy bed and pillows. The shower was amazingly good & the toiletries provided were glorious!

The gentleman on the front desk was wonderfully helpful and friendly and very patient with my bad French and I very much appreciated the chat and the ice for my sprained ankle! Don't let the stairs put you off, it's all part of the charm of Paris.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

As the hotel we normally stay in has had an upgrade I decided to find somewhere less expensive in the same area, after a lot of reseach I found Louvre Richelieu, although we could have booked a 4 star for the same price through Eurostar I just really liked the look of it and the location. We were not disappointed, the room as others have said was small but had everything you needed, the bed was very comfortable with lovely pillows and the bathroom with rain shower was fabulous. We overlooked the street which although quite narrow is fairly busy with cars but being on the 4th floor it was not a problem. I had read there was no lift so we travelled fairly light. The Receptionists were very friendly and helpful, there was a lovely bakery a couple of doors along and two general stores just across the road. Although we did not eat in the immediate vicinity the restaurants all looked lovely, with many people queuing on Friday night to gets tables, the area had a really nice buzz to it and it is so close to everywhere, the Palais Royal is literally two minutes away, a real little gem, I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Comfort Room was a good choice, there are only two standard rooms and I think I read they will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We booked this room because it was recently remodeled, only allowed non-smokers and because of it's location. We were not disappointed. The staff was great (spoke very good English-my French is not so great). The family room was perfect for 2 adults and 1 child (3 beds). The room was small (not tiny) but we did not go to Paris to spend a lot of time in the room. The Wifi worked great in the room. The only thing that was not perfect about the room was that water from the shower made a small puddle on the bathroom floor (the drain in the floor was not quite right). The only other issue with the hotel was that there were many narrow stairs to climb (no lift). All in all it was a great value and very comfortable. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: The remodeled family room with 2 beds was wonderful. Request a room on a lower floor so you will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful (we spoke in French, but I think they speak English as well). The place was CLEAN. The only two things that make this mixed are

1. I had a non-renovated room - I was going for something cheap because I was in Paris for training, paying for it all myself and knew I wouldn't be there much. And wow - it's been a while since I've stayed in a place this shabby. Clean! But shabby. But clean!

2. Hair dryer. If a hairdryer is essential to you, consider bringing your own. They have one at the desk that you must fetch, use and return. I'm not sure what i would have done if it had been "in use" by someone else when I needed to get showered and out the door for my training.

However, location is unbelievable and the people are very nice. So, maybe spend a bit more for the renovated room and enjoy the location!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Louvre Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louvre Richelieu

Address: 51 Rue de Richelieu, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,046 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Louvre Richelieu 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at less than 500 meters from the Louvre, near the Paris Opera and the shopping district (Galeries Lafayette,..), Hotel Louvre Richelieu is certainly one of the best values in this prestigious area. Whether in Paris for business or for leisure, you will be in the heart of the City of Lights: the main tourist attractions are reachable within a short walking distance and we are surrounded by numerous restaurants with the most varied cuisines and for all budgets. It has 13 rooms. The majority of them was renovated in 2012 and combine both comfort and modernity. The staff at the front desk is at your disposal and willing to help you enjoy your stay in Paris (visits, tours, restaurants,). All team members speak English and French and some speak other languages.A free Wi-Fi network is available throughout the hotel.All rooms are strictly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Louvre Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louvre Richelieu Hotel
Louvre Richelieu Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Louvre Richelieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.