We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bed to have in Paris...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Louvre Richelieu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Louvre Richelieu to your Saves list
Hotel Louvre Richelieu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Rue de Richelieu, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Palais-Royal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,075 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A bed to have in Paris...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is currently undergoing renovations and that was apparent by all the white sheets draped over the corridors as they painted. When we first entered we got a bit concerned. We had read some of the reviews so we had lowered our expectations to not be disappointed. This helped a bit. The hotel grounds were musty and old looking, but I'm sure that'll change once they're done fixing the place. We ended up staying in one of the older rooms so the bathroom was pretty bad. In terms of cleanliness it was ok, but no shower curtain or glass door to keep water in, the handle was all rusty which was gross since you have to hold it up to shower (no hooks to hold up the shower handle). I understand it's being upgraded but how much can a shower curtain or a hook cost? The locks weren't too reassuring since they're the simple push doorknobs you get in your average house bedroom door except locks automatically from the outside (easily broken into). Also, the walls are paper thin so we got woken up at 4am as the guests from the room next to us came in after a night of partying and then were woken up at 7am by other guests' laughter and music. We didn't mind it terribly but some others might. On the last day the fire alarm went off and we had to rush out not knowing what was going on. We had to go probe and find out if it was a false alarm (which it was) but it would have been nice if one of the staff would have been outside to inform us. I did like the fact that they had free wifi and it worked marvelously in the rooms. Their location is certainly excellent as well. All in all, it's a clean bed in Paris...Would I stay here again? Only if the price is right...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel_manager, Gérant at Hotel Louvre Richelieu, responded to this review, January 29, 2015
Since your stay all rooms have been renovated ! You can see pictures on our official website, where you will also find the best rates for your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
14
27
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms which was very quiet, clean and modern with a beautiful rainwater shower. We really felt that we had stumbled across a bit of a gem in the middle of Paris! Rooms are quite compact, but other than that we couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel_manager, Gérant at Hotel Louvre Richelieu, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks for your enthousiastic comments,
we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our renovated rooms.
See you for your next stay in Paris !
Joël
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agrigento, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Everything was perfect. The location of the hotel is awesome. Cleanliness, location and friendliness of the staff is awesome and nothing to complain. If I should go to Paris again, I will definitely stay again in this hotel. I can only recommend it.
Thanks again to the entire staff of the hotel for everything.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel_manager, Gérant at Hotel Louvre Richelieu, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for your warm compliment.
We are sincerely glad and proud we could help you to have a nice stay in our city.
Kindest regards from Paris¨.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Opera Maintenon
Hotel Opera Maintenon
#778 of 1,792 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Saint Roch
Hotel Saint Roch
#1,322 of 1,792 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Lion d'Or Louvre
Hotel du Lion d'Or Louvre
#771 of 1,792 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
#699 of 1,792 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
#1,172 of 1,792 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
BEST WESTERN Louvre Piemont
BEST WESTERN Louvre Piemont
#1,092 of 1,792 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Louvre Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louvre Richelieu

Address: 51 Rue de Richelieu, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,075 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Louvre Richelieu 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at less than 500 meters from the Louvre, near the Paris Opera and the shopping district (Galeries Lafayette,..), Hotel Louvre Richelieu is certainly one of the best values in this prestigious area. Whether in Paris for business or for leisure, you will be in the heart of the City of Lights: the main tourist attractions are reachable within a short walking distance and we are surrounded by numerous restaurants with the most varied cuisines and for all budgets. It has 13 rooms. The majority of them was renovated in 2012 and combine both comfort and modernity. The staff at the front desk is at your disposal and willing to help you enjoy your stay in Paris (visits, tours, restaurants,). All team members speak English and French and some speak other languages.A free Wi-Fi network is available throughout the hotel.All rooms are strictly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Louvre Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louvre Richelieu Hotel
Louvre Richelieu Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Louvre Richelieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.