We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Varenne to your Saves list
Hotel de Varenne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #77 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Eastwood, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We chose Hotel Varenne because of the reviews and we were not dissapointed. Our room was the usual Paris room, adequate but not huge. The location is very central and it is easy to reach Musee D'Orsay, the Tower and the Champs Elysee is a good stroll. Varenne metro is a block away and locally there is a great supermarket across the road, a great bakery two doors down and plenty of great restaurants in the area. The staff at the hotel are great, always helpful and the breakfast is excellent. Wine in the courtyard is a great way to finish the day. Will stay here again.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    235
    54
    8
    5
See reviews for
108
580
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We prefer a small boutique hotel in a quiet but convenient location which has well appointed rooms and excellent personal service. This describes Hotel de Varenne perfectly. It is near the embassy area of Paris and is a ten- to fifteen-minute walk from the Musee d'Orsay. Entrance to the hotel is through an iron gate and a lovely courtyard which is set back from the street. The front desk receptionists are warm, gracious, and eager to assist guests with directions, restaurant recommendations, etc. We splurged a bit and reserved an Executive Double Room and were very pleased with it. It was tastefully decorated, quiet, and cozy. We will return to this hotel on our next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

During our holidays in Paris we spent 4 nights at le Varenne.
We chose a superior room with bathroom. Large enough and perfectly quiet. With nice furniture, new tv, and super comfortable bed.
The manager seems to be on duty every morning at the reception and he's a perfect host as well as the rest of the staff.
The location with the invalides nearby is first class.
We'll return without hesitating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I would like to congratulate the entire staff for his excellent service during our stay in Paris.
They did the best job ever. Taking care of us for each detail and always smiling.
We enjoyed every minute of our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a delight to walk into, lovely little terrace garden with tables and chairs - all lovingly looked after. Great 24hr reception with English speaking personnel (always helpful for an English-speaker). Very central - you can walk to all the main attractions from here - which we did. Good value, reasonable choice and spotless.

Room Tip: Just be aware that some 'doubles' have 4 foot wide beds (I think that might be common in Par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here four nights. Room size and quality was superb! Would suggest a room not facing Rue be Bourgogne. Trucks were noisy in the morning.

Beatrix was extremely helpful before we arrived via email and while we were on site.

Easy 5 minute walk to metro stop. Bakery and small grocery on the same block.

We felt safe late at night walking back to the hotel. Would highly recommend..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights there and we enjoyed it very much.
The location, the fantastic staff, the cosy room and the delicious breakfast made our stay memorable.
We had a terrible weather and could take advantage of the nice little garden.
Maybe next time.
We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Address: 44 Rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#45 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#52 Business Hotel in Paris
#145 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Varenne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.