We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Boutique Hotel in a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Varenne to your Saves list
Hotel de Varenne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France (Tour Eiffel / Invalides)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #76 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Quiet Boutique Hotel in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel de Varenne for 7 nights while we were in Paris. The hotel is very charming.
Location: The location is excellent - we liked that is was close to all the main sites, but tucked away from the touristy Eiffel Tower area. It is located on a quiet street in the 7th arrondissement. The Varenne metro stop is a 5 minute walk. Museum Rodin is down the street - only a few minute walk. Invalides is also very close - 5 minute walk. Main sites sites such as the Eiffel Tower, Seine River, Musee D'Orsay are all within a 15 minute walk. Two great bakeries right down the street, a supermarket across the street and a great Italian restaurant (Giallo Oro) is also down the street.
Rooms: small rooms, but this is common. The room was clean and comfortable. Shower was very small (we only had a stall, no bathtub). Our room was facing the courtyard - very quiet a night.
Staff: friendly, but nothing spectacular.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel and would recommend it based on it's excellent location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Logan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were lucky to read the good reviews on this site.
They were all true. We had a great time there.
We stayed 4 nights have enjoyed out holidays very much.
Our room was on the front side, but not noisy at all and very spacious, equipped with a nice led television and an iphone dock. Beds are very comfortable and the all room is spotlessly clean.
Location is second to none in a very select area and central location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyler b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Bit off the beaten track but very very quiet , nice rooms and very friendly staff and mid range comfort.
Would go back for an easy stay for the night if in Paris and if you don't want to pay the sky high room rates. Its clean and comfortable, classic shower in ice bathroom, looks good but not much hot water. Otherwise very good, walking distance of Eiffel Tower and river boats, nice local shops and bakeries and restaurants

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamV54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a quick 2 night stay in Paris & so glad we picked Hotel Varenne, absolutely charming and if you are looking for a boutique, Parisian experience look no further. The hotel was exceptionally clean & of high standard, room size typical for Paris but you had everything you needed except maybe tea & coffee facilities in your room. There is a small lift just big enough to fit 1 person + luggage & a continental breakfast available if you wish to purchase at extra cost. The hotel is a quick 5 minute walk to the station and a 20 min walk to the Eiffel Tower. There is an ATM & a small grocery shop in the same street plus restaurants, coffee shops within walking distance.
Staff were very helpful, spoke good English and more than helpful with booking taxi's and offering assistance, bonus in the warmer weather would be the courtyard at the front of the hotel, apparently they will serve breakfast outside which given a warm morning would be charming, highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a great time in Paris while staying at le Varenne.
Friendly staff, perfect location and very comfortable room.
Nice area with embassies and nice little restaurants, close to Rodin museum.
Look no further, this is the place to stay in Paris.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julius p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have just returned from 4 weeks in Europe and stayed at many hotels, however all of the other hotels we stayed at didn't even come close to our last week in Paris at the Hotel Varenne. Great service, a friendly team all perfectly fluent in english, quiet location, but in easy walking distance of museums, galleries etc. We enjoyed the restaurant recommendations of the owner Mr Pommier and will be telling all of our friends about this great like gem. We found a great little bistro style restaurant just a few blocks from the hotel "l'Affable" with friendly young staff and excellent food, this young chef will really go places. On return to the hotel we told the staff about it, but of course they already knew. If your travelling to Paris you should you look seripusly at this hotel.

If your going to visit Paris and want a

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A short break in Paris in this perfect boutique hotel. We had a fine superior room on the garden side, very quiet and charming. The all staff assisted us from the very first minute of our arrival. Not pretentious and really helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianstone56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Hotel Ares Paris
#20 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 2,095 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Paris
Hotel d'Orsay - Paris
#74 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Bourgogne et Montana Hotel
Bourgogne et Montana Hotel
#90 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Derby Alma
Le Derby Alma
#64 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Address: 44 Rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#54 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#112 Family Hotel in Paris
#121 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing