We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Boutique Hotel in a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Varenne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Varenne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #71 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Quiet Boutique Hotel in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel de Varenne for 7 nights while we were in Paris. The hotel is very charming.
Location: The location is excellent - we liked that is was close to all the main sites, but tucked away from the touristy Eiffel Tower area. It is located on a quiet street in the 7th arrondissement. The Varenne metro stop is a 5 minute walk. Museum Rodin is down the street - only a few minute walk. Invalides is also very close - 5 minute walk. Main sites sites such as the Eiffel Tower, Seine River, Musee D'Orsay are all within a 15 minute walk. Two great bakeries right down the street, a supermarket across the street and a great Italian restaurant (Giallo Oro) is also down the street.
Rooms: small rooms, but this is common. The room was clean and comfortable. Shower was very small (we only had a stall, no bathtub). Our room was facing the courtyard - very quiet a night.
Staff: friendly, but nothing spectacular.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel and would recommend it based on it's excellent location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    228
    53
    8
    4
See reviews for
106
548
38
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were lucky to read the good reviews on this site.
They were all true. We had a great time there.
We stayed 4 nights have enjoyed out holidays very much.
Our room was on the front side, but not noisy at all and very spacious, equipped with a nice led television and an iphone dock. Beds are very comfortable and the all room is spotlessly clean.
Location is second to none in a very select area and central location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Bit off the beaten track but very very quiet , nice rooms and very friendly staff and mid range comfort.
Would go back for an easy stay for the night if in Paris and if you don't want to pay the sky high room rates. Its clean and comfortable, classic shower in ice bathroom, looks good but not much hot water. Otherwise very good, walking distance of Eiffel Tower and river boats, nice local shops and bakeries and restaurants

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a quick 2 night stay in Paris & so glad we picked Hotel Varenne, absolutely charming and if you are looking for a boutique, Parisian experience look no further. The hotel was exceptionally clean & of high standard, room size typical for Paris but you had everything you needed except maybe tea & coffee facilities in your room. There is a small lift just big enough to fit 1 person + luggage & a continental breakfast available if you wish to purchase at extra cost. The hotel is a quick 5 minute walk to the station and a 20 min walk to the Eiffel Tower. There is an ATM & a small grocery shop in the same street plus restaurants, coffee shops within walking distance.
Staff were very helpful, spoke good English and more than helpful with booking taxi's and offering assistance, bonus in the warmer weather would be the courtyard at the front of the hotel, apparently they will serve breakfast outside which given a warm morning would be charming, highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a great time in Paris while staying at le Varenne.
Friendly staff, perfect location and very comfortable room.
Nice area with embassies and nice little restaurants, close to Rodin museum.
Look no further, this is the place to stay in Paris.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have just returned from 4 weeks in Europe and stayed at many hotels, however all of the other hotels we stayed at didn't even come close to our last week in Paris at the Hotel Varenne. Great service, a friendly team all perfectly fluent in english, quiet location, but in easy walking distance of museums, galleries etc. We enjoyed the restaurant recommendations of the owner Mr Pommier and will be telling all of our friends about this great like gem. We found a great little bistro style restaurant just a few blocks from the hotel "l'Affable" with friendly young staff and excellent food, this young chef will really go places. On return to the hotel we told the staff about it, but of course they already knew. If your travelling to Paris you should you look seripusly at this hotel.

If your going to visit Paris and want a

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

A short break in Paris in this perfect boutique hotel. We had a fine superior room on the garden side, very quiet and charming. The all staff assisted us from the very first minute of our arrival. Not pretentious and really helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Address: 44 Rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#29 Business Hotel in Paris
#43 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#150 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hôtel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Varenne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.