We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Varenne to your Saves list
Hotel de Varenne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #78 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the hotel de varenne for the occasion of my wife's 40th birthday. We chose this hotel on the recommendation of trip advisor and was not let down.
The hotel had everything we could of wanted and was in a perfect location and only 5 mins from the metro.
Rue de Bourgogne also has some fantastic restaurants and a couple of really good patisseries, so there is no need to travel far for an evening meal.
All in all the perfect hotel and location for a weekend in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    236
    54
    8
    5
See reviews for
108
583
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent a long weekend there and were very happy with our choice based on tripadvisor reviews.
Our room was freshly renovated and very comfortable with a fanstastic bed. We were on the garden side, very quiet and convenient.
We can say that the real value of this hotel is the kindness of the staff.
We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I booked this hotel based on other Tripadvisor reviews - laughably I can say this...
For staying seven nights and as single woman traveling alone, I received probably the worst room in the hotel. Seriously, paint peeling from the bathroom ceiling, wall paper peeling from one of the walls and the little refrigerator in the closet appearing to be on it's death bed. Amusing too, that only one set of towels was given until magically on hmmm, was it day 3, someone clued into the fact that I was actually staying for a week and several sets of towels appeared! Otherwise the room was clean and fine for one person. Unfortunately, my command of the French language was not up to the task of politely asking for a room change and I didn't feel like being an annoying American. When I come back to Paris, I can say I won't be staying here again. However, I will be visiting the little Italian restaurant a few doors down, as well as the lovely boulangerie that is also steps away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varenne75, Propriétaire at Hotel de Varenne, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Madam,

I would like to thank you for your review and to apologize for the bad experience you had with us.
In fact we didn't notice your room had a problem, this was a problem with the roof of the building.
And with the terrible rain we had these past weeks the rain whent through the ceiling of your room. This rooms is now closed until the complete repair and renovation.
I am sincerely sorry about that. It's a pity you didn't tell us while your were here, we would have changed your room of course. No problem if you didn't speak french fluently, you probably noticed that everybody speaks english at the reception desk. We never consider our guests like "annoying", we are pleased to listen to everybody specially when they have such a problem in the room.
If you decide to give us a second chance when you come back to Paris I will be happy to give you an upgraded room for the price of the single one and to show you how we like to treat our guests.
Kind regards.

Jean-Marc POMMIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A lovely hotel in a great left bank position, the staff could not be more helpful. The difference between the stuffy five star establishments where you are only recognised if you are a superstar and this hotel is that you receive a friendly welcome and are remembered as a friend on a daily basis and you are made to feel special, as if you are part of the family. Our stay in a cold January was warm and genuine. The room was spacious enough and very quiet, well appointed and spotlessly clean. Renovations were being carried out, but we heard no banging of hammering which I'm sure went on in the middle of the day when guests were out.

All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others, the only down side of doing that is that we mightn't be able to get in next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a real pleasant stay. Unfortunately too short to enjoy the area.
It has all needed facilities : location, comfort, kindness, and value.
We had a wonderful breakfast in our room for a very cheap11 euro.
We'll be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for four days on a short visit to Paris, having previously lived in the area. The hotel is small but pleasantly decorated in classic Parisian style. Our quiet room was reasonably spacious, given the normally constrained spaces in most Parisian hotels (the lift takes a maximum of two people!), and there is a desk and several chairs for working. The wifi was a small problem on arrival but was not the fault of the hotel, France Telecom having caused a breakdown of supply. The heating was more than adequate considering the chilly weather outside. Beds and bedding were comfortable and the room was clean. There is a small fridge and bottled water Is provided. There are plenty of restaurants, coffee bars and little grocery stores in the vicinity and the Metro Varenne is about 5 or 6 minutes walk.
Rue du Bac and the Bon Marche/Grande Epicerie are nearby and the Musee D'Orsay and the Seine are within walking distance. The 7th arrondissement is an elegant area, home to many government buildings and the chic boutiques of rue du Bac and the boulevard Saint-Germain.
*The only minor downside in this little hotel is the bathroom: our room had a very narrow bath with a central hanging shower but no shower curtain - a peculiarly French occurrence.... It was impossible not to soak the floor and the toilet while showering. The only other annoyance was the lack of a kettle - something that this visitor believes should always be provided, particularly in hotels with no room service. We would be happy to stay here again - preferably with a shower curtain and kettle!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We are all busy so lets be succinct:
Clean: yes
location: great
staff: very friendly and human
breakfast: French
rooms: very nice
bathrooms: elegant
beds: comfortable
Value: Its Paris. Competitive
Comments: great area for running / walking
area: residential

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Address: 44 Rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#46 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#53 Business Hotel in Paris
#148 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Varenne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.