We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the award of excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Varenne to your Saves list
Hotel de Varenne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France (Tour Eiffel / Invalides)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #73 of 1,773 Hotels in Paris
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Worth the award of excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A lovely hotel in a great left bank position, the staff could not be more helpful. The difference between the stuffy five star establishments where you are only recognised if you are a superstar and this hotel is that you receive a friendly welcome and are remembered as a friend on a daily basis and you are made to feel special, as if you are part of the family. Our stay in a cold January was warm and genuine. The room was spacious enough and very quiet, well appointed and spotlessly clean. Renovations were being carried out, but we heard no banging of hammering which I'm sure went on in the middle of the day when guests were out.

All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others, the only down side of doing that is that we mightn't be able to get in next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    246
    55
    9
    5
See reviews for
120
628
37
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a real pleasant stay. Unfortunately too short to enjoy the area.
It has all needed facilities : location, comfort, kindness, and value.
We had a wonderful breakfast in our room for a very cheap11 euro.
We'll be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for four days on a short visit to Paris, having previously lived in the area. The hotel is small but pleasantly decorated in classic Parisian style. Our quiet room was reasonably spacious, given the normally constrained spaces in most Parisian hotels (the lift takes a maximum of two people!), and there is a desk and several chairs for working. The wifi was a small problem on arrival but was not the fault of the hotel, France Telecom having caused a breakdown of supply. The heating was more than adequate considering the chilly weather outside. Beds and bedding were comfortable and the room was clean. There is a small fridge and bottled water Is provided. There are plenty of restaurants, coffee bars and little grocery stores in the vicinity and the Metro Varenne is about 5 or 6 minutes walk.
Rue du Bac and the Bon Marche/Grande Epicerie are nearby and the Musee D'Orsay and the Seine are within walking distance. The 7th arrondissement is an elegant area, home to many government buildings and the chic boutiques of rue du Bac and the boulevard Saint-Germain.
*The only minor downside in this little hotel is the bathroom: our room had a very narrow bath with a central hanging shower but no shower curtain - a peculiarly French occurrence.... It was impossible not to soak the floor and the toilet while showering. The only other annoyance was the lack of a kettle - something that this visitor believes should always be provided, particularly in hotels with no room service. We would be happy to stay here again - preferably with a shower curtain and kettle!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We are all busy so lets be succinct:
Clean: yes
location: great
staff: very friendly and human
breakfast: French
rooms: very nice
bathrooms: elegant
beds: comfortable
Value: Its Paris. Competitive
Comments: great area for running / walking
area: residential

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights over the new year period 2012/2013. We stayed in the "Executive Twin" room which was on the top, 5th, floor. The hotel is small, as are the rooms, however we expected this in Paris and so close to the Eiffel Tower. Although the room was small, it had everything we needed including a bar fridge and separate bathroom. The hotel was located about a 10-15min walk to the Tower, the Champs Elysees and the Lourve. The street the hotel is on had at least 2 bakeries, a supermarket and a pharmacy. The supermarket was excellent as we just stored stuff in the bar fridge. All the staff were really friendly and spoke multiple languages, watch out for the tiny elevator and enjoy the free Wi-Fi!!!

Room Tip: Book a room on the upper floors as the street can be a bit noisy and make sure you ask for a Queen b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a quiet neighborhood with a nice, comfortable hotel, this is a good choice. While I wouldn't classify the hotel as upscale, it's updated, nicely decorated and very clean. Plus, the staff was wonderful. There's a sweet fruit/vegetable market just steps away and a small convenience store across the street, both of which we used daily. Overall, a nice setting and experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokenchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Perfect for a short break in Paris. Small, clean hotel in a quiet street but not far from all the action. Really nice staff who wanted to help in whatever way they could. Gave us some great restaurant reccommendations and also booked our taxi for us. Our room was not a bad size for Paris and was bright and clean, and to be honest we've stayed in worse 4 star hotels in London. The price is very reasonable and we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Address: 44 Rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#47 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#99 Business Hotel in Paris
#144 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Varenne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.