We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Varenne to your Saves list
Hotel de Varenne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #78 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Shoreham-By-Sea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Lovely looking hotel with pretty courtyard. Very clean and on a quiet street about 20mins walk from Eiffel Tower. Staff on front desk ok but could have done with cracking a smile a bit more! Only a couple of gripes- there is no kettle in the room which I found odd and also any taxi you asked the hotel to call started at 7 or 8 euros when you got in! Overall very nice hotel and I would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    236
    54
    8
    5
See reviews for
108
583
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

After reviews on TA, I was looking forward to this stay. The room was fine, but there wasn't a place for two to sit without being on the bed. TV didn't work well (I know, who cares right? But after all that walking, anybody would want some down time.), and when we asked for ice we were greeted with "cool" agreement. There is a small Italian restaurant a couple of doors down that me and my husband ate at twice! While this hotel is located close to Nap. Tomb, Rodin Museum, and not too far from the Eiffel Tower, I would have rather been on the right bank. Much more that I wanted to do there. There are several local subway accesses, and they are worth using.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located in a quiet street and there is a divine Italian restaurant close by. Rooms are not huge but this is what to expect in Paris particularly in a stylish old building. There is a metro station around the corner and you can even walk to the Eiffel tower. I don't share at all the remarks I read in some of the reviews : breakfast is great : warm fresh bread, croissant and jam and you can order eggs, ham and cheese if you wish. If customers wish to have hash browns and thick pancakes with maple syrup they should not come to Paris ; part of the pleasure of traveling is tasting the local cuisine , and by the way this is not too hard to do in Paris :-) !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I enjoyed my week-long stay at Hotel de Varenne. The staff is multilingual and friendly. That's right, I said friendly, in Paris!

They have good, free wi-fi, a nice little breakfast, umbrellas for those who need them, and the rooms are extremely clean. For Paris, this is the perfect hotel.

The walk to the nearest metro station (Varenne) takes only 5 minutes. There are several churches nearby. There are good restaurants in the street and in the surrounding area, walking distance. There are two grocers in the block in case one needs anything. There is even a great little neighborhood bar at the end of the street with friendly people, beer and wine. Not fancy, just right.

Invalides and Napoleon's Tomb are a 5 minute walk. The Eiffel Tower is a 20 minute walk. The Pont Alexander III is a 10 minute walk. The Grand Palace is a 15 minute walk.

If there is anything about Hotel de Varenne that was not great, it is this: the walls are far from soundproof, and all the rooms face a courtyard. Most people had their windows open because neither the heat nor the air conditioning were turned on in October. One could easily hear every conversation and activity going on in the hotel at once, through the open window. With the window closed, it was much quieter. Late at night, it is very quiet because it is a small street with little traffic.

The mattress on my bed was great. I slept better at this hotel than when I stay at Hilton or Marriot properties. I think this is important to note because, in a city like Paris, one will only be in the room for sleeping.

At checkout, the desk clerk tried to refuse my American Express card and request a Visa. I explained that they had assured me months in advance that they routinely accept American Express, and offered to show her the confirming e-mail from the hotel on my Blackberry. She politely explained that they are instructed to discourage AMEX to save the innkeeper money on fees, but that they can accept it if the customer insists. I politely iinsisted, and the transaction commenced. She was very nice, and I think she was embarrassed by the whole episode.

I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel de Varenne is just down the street from the Rodin Museum and the Metro, within easy walking distance of the Musee D'Orsay, and right next door to an excellent boulangerie. We had a comfortable room facing the street and didn't find it noisy. The neighborhood is fairly quiet, composed of small businesses and residences, and, though there is a fair amount of street traffic, it tapers off greatly outside of normal business hours. There's also the advantage that a number of these businesses are good, neighborhood restaurants.

The staff were accommodating; they got us into our room quickly despite our arriving ahead of the normal check-in time. The room was quite a good size and nicely appointed, and everything worked well, including wi-fi.

Hotel de Varenne is one of the best places we've stayed in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Hotel de Varenne is tucked away in a courtyard off Rue de Bourgogne, near Les Invalides in Paris. It is in a central location, only a few hundred yards (sorry, metres) from a Metro station, and 15 minutes' walk from a number of tourist sites, the Seine, and shops and restaurants. It has a surprisingly large number of rooms bearing in mind its appearance from outside. Our room was an adequate size, although not huge, with effectively a double aspect as the bedroom overlooked the courtyard (where they serve breakfast if it's fine) and the bathroom faced the street.

On the subject of the bathroom, the shower was over the bath, and the bath was very narrow, making standing without falling over quite difficult. Add to this the total absence of a shower curtain, and the floods on the floor were not unexpected.

We felt a bit let down by the breakfast. We expected only the usual "continental" croissant-and-coffee, but as they offered extras we took some. The cheese turned out to be a couple of tiny packets of supermarket quality, while an omelette came up cold and very tasteless. On our third day we actually gave the meal a miss, as the waitress was taking orders only one person at a time, and there were over a dozen guests sitting there.

But overall it was very pleasant, very comfortable, very quiet, very French, and pretty good value when you realise the exorbitant prices of everything in Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large modern bathroom. No room will suffer from traffic or other outside nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel is on a quiet sidestreet one block over from Les Invilades. Metro and bus lines are easily accessible from this location. A number of little cafes located on the same street. Hotel was very clean and well maintained, but the rooms are small. No amenities and no washcloths so you need to bring your own. You need to request that they turn on the air conditioner which has a limited low setting of 17 degrees C. Lower rooms are subject to noise and smokers sitting at tables in the courtyard. Bathrooms are spacious and modern but there are no outlets. Staff is reserved. I would recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: With the windows open and people in the coutlyard, it is best to get a room on the 3rd floor or high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Address: 44 Rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#46 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#53 Business Hotel in Paris
#148 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Varenne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.