We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel? Biggest joke of the decade!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Saphir Grenelle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Saphir Grenelle Hotel to your Saves list
Saphir Grenelle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Rue du Commerce, 75015 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,085 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Hotel? Biggest joke of the decade!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel? This place wouldn't even pass as a homeless shelter where I come from. This location will give you as much comfort as a box you'd find on the street: bathroom is OPEN to public.. nobody gave enough damn to even put up curtains, this is in addition to the pluming and flooding issues the bathroom has. The room has NO A/C, no ventilation, and it's dreary.. the humidity from the old walls and beds will ensure nightmares and restlessness. The small room is very similar to what you'd find in prisons. If you hate someone so much, buy them two nights at this "hotel", it'll drive them mad.

Room Tip: Avoid this place. If you must stay, bring a sleeping bag with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    78
    33
    18
    11
See reviews for
24
78
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Positives: working wifi included. Nice and quite new decor.
Location very close to metro station, restaurants, Starbucks. Walking distance to Eiffel Tower. Clean room and bathroom.

Room was quite hot which was a bit uncomfortable. Wouldn't stay here in mid summer. The room was small but ok, it had one window to small outdoor space. Unfortunately another guest smoked out of his window, which led to the smoke going into my room.

Left luggage after check out is placed in the public hallway, so not very secure.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Young couple staying for one night in Paris. We were looking for somewhere in Paris that made seeing the main sights as easy as possible. We booked this hotel on a previous recommendation and weren't disappointed. After arriving in Paris via the Eurostar we took le metro for around 15 minutes to the stop near the hotel. It was only about 100m to the hotel so we could walk quite easily. Check in was smooth and we got a room on the second floor with a nice view overlooking the street. The area around the hotel is good, fairly quiet with a Zara, H&M, Monoprix and a nice little bakery close by.

The room itself was good, modern and clean. The bathroom was a bit small but the shower was good! We were able to leave our bags there on our second day no problem as our train back to London wasn't until 7pm. Renee on reception was very helpful and spoke good English.

The Eiffel Tower is around 20 mins walk and from there you can easily walk up to Arc D'Triomphe, down the champs élysées , do the louvre and on to Norte Dame. For dinner I highly recommend the Cafe Du Commerce, about 5 mins further down the road. Great food and service.

That's about it. Hope you find this useful!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Rooms were very small but clean and comfortable. Also, the hotel is just a 10 minute walk from the Eiffel Tower and close to Metro stations. Rooms in the courtyard are quieter as they are not facing the street and there is a mcdonalds conviniently located 1 min from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Saphir Hotel, Grenelle, Paris is a typical Paris Hotel. You pay for a stay in Paris. The hotel is very basic, but the breakfast is fine. The staff is very friendly and service oriented. The rooms are small and very basic. Most stunning feature was that I had to climb over the toilet to get into the shower. The hotel is situated near a subway station (Grenelle) and on walking distance from the UNESCO headquarters. Nice restaurants in the neighborhood. A good place to stay on a business trip to Paris.

Room Tip: When booking ask for the bathroom lay-out and size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is lovely and clean, quiet and the location is fantastic - 10 minutes to the Eifel tower. The staff were welcoming and spoke English. There is a metro station nearby. I would stay there again.
There is a perfect coffee place next door for breakfast. I didn't order breakfast in the hotel and I am not sorry. Two of us had a coffee and a couple of croissants every morning in the cafe for the price of one breakfast in the hotel.
I did however find my room with door not fully closed, therefore accesible to anyone, one time I got back. I guess the cleaning lady left it like that. As well as my luggare on the bed instead of the table (the closet was too small for two carry on size bags).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saphir Grenelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saphir Grenelle Hotel

Address: 10 Rue du Commerce, 75015 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,085 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saphir Grenelle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Saphir Grenelle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saphir Grenelle
Saphir Grenelle Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saphir Grenelle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.