We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only average - would not return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel to your Saves list
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9-11 rue Saint Jacques | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #459 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Only average - would not return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The location of this hotel is superb. Extremely close to Notre Dame and the Seine, it makes a good base for exploring the left bank. The room we had was perfectly adequate and clean, however the service was poor (even by Parisian standards). Wouldn't return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    145
    31
    8
    8
See reviews for
80
168
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Still, not a bad choice if you want to stay somewhere central in the St Germain des Pres area. Located just off the Blvd St Germain, it's not as noisy in the evenings as most of the other hotels area. Close to the river (Quai de la Tournelle), La Cite and the Blvd St Michel, le Henri IV is a good, clean, reasonably priced option. It's small though. Much smaller than those pics suggest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful Hotel. It had a private homely feel, our room was quiet and the staff were pleasant, especially the gentleman who seemed amused with my French! The location in Paris is excellent and is close to the Notre Dame (5mins walk!), the university, Luxembourg Gardens, Shakespeare and Co etc. Casual and fine dining restaurants, cafes and sandwich bars. The tourist buses stop is across the street next to a beautiful old church building.
The metro stations are 5 mins walk and if you are travelling from Charles de G airport it is the same rer/metro line to St Michel Notre Dame station - much cheaper and faster than a taxi or bus!
I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Paris.

Room Tip: Request a room with two single beds on a high floor, I think they may be slightly bigger and you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel has top location in 5th arrondisment, just steps from Notre-Dame, Latin Quarter, Saint-Sulpice, Jardin de Luxembourg anв Sorbonne. It is also close to metro and RER which is very convenient for the airport. It is quite small, but has a nice personal touch. Rooms are big by Paris standards (means that after you close the door you still can move around and have enough space for suitcases!). Good bed, adequately sized. Windows are double-glazed, which is very important, because the traffic is quite active in the area. Air-conditioning worked ok, which was a blessing, because we were lucky to get to Paris at +36 C heat. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing Saint-Severin church, so the view was perfect! Cannot really think of any negatives. The only thing I could mention is the fact that the breakfast is very basic, but there is a dozen а places around where you can get something else if needed. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for the one facing the church! Great view guaranteed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is our 5th visit to this hotel and it never lets us down.

Good room with view over Paris, good ambience in the reception areas and easy to get to anywhere in Paris. Extremely good breakfasts and never overcrowded.

Suggest a visit to to rue la Mouflette on a Sunday morning for small lively shops and restaurents as well as the famous 'live' singing and accordion playing entertainers and you even get songsheets in french to sing along to - very Parisien.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Took a girls trip to Paris and needed a hotel that can accommodate 3 people in one room comfortably and Hotel Henry IV was the perfect place! We had a room with three separate beds. It was unbelievably clean, and quiet and the most perfect location!! We were close enough to all the hot spots in the city. I absolutely loved this hotel, and I am from NYC and have seen luxury hotels and this one is a cute, cozy, lovely hotel at a great price!!! :) I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Great location, quiet rooms, outdated but functional, horrible service which based on my recent Paris experience is only getting worse...Bad breakfast and slow Internet. Next time I shall pay an extra 100 for service where people can be bothered helping their guests. What a shame. P.S the beds are supremely uncomfortable...

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel

Address: 9-11 rue Saint Jacques | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#259 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Henri Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.