We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect if you need to stay close to the Gare du Nord” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Art Hotel to your Saves list
Art Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 rue d'Hauteville | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #783 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Davis, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect if you need to stay close to the Gare du Nord”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a fairly modest hotel but is very clean and updated (including a lovely bathroom) and is perfectly comfortable and offers a good value in Paris. We chose it since it was a 5-10 minute walk from the Gare du Nord and we were just passing through Paris for a night, but the location is so much more pleasant than staying closer to the Gare. The young woman at the desk was charming and helpful and her English was perfect. There is a Velib (bike) rental station one block away and two metro stops within close walking distance. We paid 9 euros extra for breakfast that included coffee or tea, cheese, meats, breads, cereals, yogurts and canned fruit (the only negative). Given that it's pretty typical to pay 3-4 euros for one coffee in Paris, this was not a bad deal. If I needed to be in this part of Paris I would stay again. Bonus - we had a great view of Montmartre from our window! Note: the building is no longer red (as shown in the photo) but a grey color. We were standing right in front of it looking at our map before the helpful front desk staff came out to invite us in. Also, it's worthwhile going to the St. Vincent de Paul Church across the little plaza, if only to wonder at the very tall doors.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms on the street side have a view of Montmartre from the windows but also have a slante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannaAmar, Responsable réception at Art Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your positive feedback about your stay. I would like
to sincerely thank you for your very kind words regarding our services.

Your comment had been shared with our team, be sure it will cheer them up to
continue their efforts in providing our valuable customers with quality
products and services.

We put all our efforts in making each of our guests feels at home and not just “looked after”.
Therefore I am happy to see that you totally felt the sense of hospitality that makes our reputation and for which most of our guests choose to return.

We all look forward to welcome you back in Art Hotel Lafayette.

Yours Sincerely,

Ada
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    86
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
65
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

When we arrived the neighborhood looked shady- not the nicest area but we later realized it also wasn't the worse. Hole staff was friendly- breakfast was ok- 10euro per person seemed like a lot until we went out for coffee and a crossiant on our own. 2 cafes right next door, especially the one directly next door were fantastic- and packed with locals each night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannaAmar, Responsable réception at Art Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing. We really appreciate.

The neighborhood is the avarage one in Paris. I understand it could look shady but au contraire it's very animated and quite safe.

Come back to see us very soon.

Best Regards

Elodie
Reception MAnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June 2012 ... It is a lovely very clean hotel .... 5minute walk from the gard du nord and a two minute walk from the metro links mainline which takes about 7 minutes to get in to parts of Paris with all the attractions ... We didnt wait more then three minutes for a train .. The underground is amazing and perfect to get around paris cheaply...The room is perfectly adequate and clean for a short stay ... Not too big not too small either...with a stylish clean bathroom ...we had a room overlooking the florist across the road ... The staff were friendly ... It was lovely and would definitely use the hotel again ...

Room Tip: If you are going to use the metro get a two or three day pass which is cost £18-25... And u wont spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannaAmar, Responsable réception at Art Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your feelings with the members of Tripadvisor.
It was really heartwarming to read your comments about the location of our Hotel, the comfort and equipment of our rooms and the high level of service our staff provides.

We look forward to welcome you back again during your next trip to the City of Light.

Yours Sincerely,

Ada
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a short city break. The hotel is really conveniently located 5 mins walk from Gare du Nord, where we arrived and departed on the Eurostar. There are numerous restaurants, metro stations and things to see in the nearish area, and though I wasn't sure it was the best location, it exceeded my expectations. The concierge was friendly and helpful, the rooms small but modern, clean and comfortable with air con. Bathrooms, well, you possibly swing a kitten in one but even that would be a stretch. Overall, a very good 3 star hotel, a little expensive for what and where it is (Eur 150 /night) but I would recommend it for those who want to be near Gare du Nord

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannaAmar, Responsable réception at Art Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest, +

I am delighted to read your positive feedback about your stay. I would like
to sincerely thank you for your very kind words regarding our services.

Your comment had been shared with our team, be sure it will cheer them up to
continue their efforts in providing our valuable customers with quality
products and services.
On the size of the room it is certain that Paris are not very large, it is unfortunately a fact that buildings do not allow us necessarily.

We put all our efforts in making each of our guests feels at home and not just “looked after”.
Therefore I am happy to see that you totally felt the sense of hospitality that makes our reputation and for which most of our guests choose to return.

We all look forward to welcome you back in Art Hotel Lafayette.
Yours Sincerely,

Ada
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

First things first, the hotel is no longer red, it has a mushroom brown colour frontage, so dont tell the taxi driver to look for the red building! Hotel is a nice 3 star. Small lift, relatively small rooms, but a comfy bed and a nicely renovated bathroom made for a nice stay. Add to this a great location and friendly helpful staff and this one is good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannaAmar, Responsable réception at Art Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and your very kind comments.

We very much appreciate that you can recommend highly our hotel.

We are delighted to receive your posting regarding your stay in Hôtel Art hotel lafayette

Yours sincerely,

Ada
Réception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed in a double room in this quiet hotel for three nights, and we were very happy with it. The room wasn't huge, but it had everything we needed—plenty of storage, space to get suitcases out of the way, a safe, free wifi, a non-leaky and very large shower and a comfortable bed. The small balcony offered a terrific view in both directions. Best of all, and a rarity in Europe, our room had a well-functioning *air conditioner*! Oh, the joy of sleeping well in a room that's not hot. Hooray!

The staff was very helpful and unfailingly friendly. Breakfast (10€ each) included a selection of pastry, cheese, yogurt, cereal, juices and coffee. Though we didn't order room service, we noticed that the menu is very extensive and not insanely priced; I suspect the food comes from a nearby restaurant.

The location is super convenient, and though the building is situated just off a major intersection, the interior is very quiet. Though the public areas of the hotel aren't the most well-kept I've ever seen, the rooms are tidy and tastefully decorated.

Overall, this is a great choice for the price, and did I mention air conditioning? That's a huge bonus. I recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannaAmar, Responsable réception at Art Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your positive feedback about your stay. I would like
to sincerely thank you for your very kind words regarding our services.

Your comment had been shared with our team, be sure it will cheer them up to
continue their efforts in providing our valuable customers with quality
products and services.

We put all our efforts in making each of our guests feels at home and not just “looked after”.
Therefore I am happy to see that you totally felt the sense of hospitality that makes our reputation and for which most of our guests choose to return.

We all look forward to welcome you back in Art Hotel Lafayette.

Yours Sincerely,

Ada
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel a few months ago and it was very nice. The room was small but the bathroom was nice, with both a shower and bath. Free Wifi and TV in room with English speaking channels. Central location so can easily access the underground stations and taxis to go to famous attractions.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannaAmar, Responsable réception at Art Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to learn your positive feedback about your stay. I would like
to sincerely thank you for your very kind words regarding our services.

Your comments have been shared with our team which will motivate them to
continue their efforts in providing our valuable customers with quality
products and services.

We all look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Paris.

Yours sincerly,

Ada
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Address: 98 rue d'Hauteville | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #783 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Art Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.