We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place to stay in Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Europe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Europe to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Europe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Blvd de Magenta | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France (Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #719 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly place to stay in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

really great to get there and find that the staff spoke some English, which was great as my French is not very good. A very quaint lift with room for really only 2 people, if you had more than one bag, then you would have to make two trips, but at least they had a lift. It was easy to find and very close to Gare de Nord. The staff were extremely helpful with helping us to get local buses to the Eiffel Tower rather than paying expensive taxis. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    161
    75
    27
    17
See reviews for
70
148
69
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

3 nights, 1 double and 1 single
It is what it is, relatively cheap accommodation in not the nicest area of Paris.
Price is appropriate for what you get.

Positives: Clean, well maintained, friendly staff who all spoke ok English, very convenient for Gare du Nord (trains to CDG airport), free wifi
Negatives: Very noisy street (ridiculously so if you need windows open in summer), tiny rooms (make it hard to negotiate suitcases!), tiny bathrooms, wonky stairs

We did not take the option of breakfast as their is no shortage of coffee and pastries/crepes wherever you go in Paris :)
We did not use the elevator because it is tiny and we were only a couple of floors up, but they do have one if you need it. However - please note the stairs are crazily wonky! If you have serious balance issues beware.
There are many take outs and restaurants and bars close by including a fantastic friendly bar with great food that I unfortunately can't remember the name of!

Overall - lives up to advertised 2 stars, perfectly reasonable if all you want is a bed near the station.

Room Tip: My brother in law had a room facing the courtyard which was nice and quiet - if you are a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for one night before taking a plane back to new Zealand. Perfect location to get on the train to the airport. The staff was welcoming and helpful, always happy.
The room was nice and clean, we had a room looking over a courtyard so very quiet. It was nicety leave the window open at night in summer.
Breakfast was simple but tasty, overall a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

room was small and I could hardly walk arroud the bed. I had a choice of fully open window or watching tv... I had to close the window to walk arround the bed.
beds well maid every morning, and nice clean bathroom (very small). through all stay I was suffering from back pain. And double bed is not really double so if you not going solo, you will need to cuddle up at all the times. Staff speak good english and they are very helpfull

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Jazz on Sunday morning before a walk through Paris to further my trip. Perfect stop adjacent Gare du Nord. Correct for the price

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed here for a single night in June 2012. It was exactly what I needed - A clean room, a good location near the metro/RER, walkable bistros and restaurants, and a friendly staff. I paid < 100EUR and had a wonderful stay. The rooms are small, but if you just need a place to sleep / rest after walking around Paris this is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is very well located for anyone arriving into Paris by train into the Gare de Nord. It is only some 250m away. We had a triple room with ensuite for us and our teenage son. We found the price reasonable.

Although the room was basic it more than satisfied our needs. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms. The window facing the road was double glazed and as a result the room was quiet at night.

The reception staff were very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome.

A breakfast is available for 7 euro each, we did not use this service, preferring to buy a pastry and coffee from a bakery just down the road on the right out the hotel door. We also reccommend the Kebab restaurant just on the corner only 1 mins walk away also on the right out the door, we ended up going there 3 nights running, as it was well priced and very nice food with friendly staff. We did also try a rugby themed restaurant a bit further down the road and although more expensive it also offered a nice atmosphere and lovely food.

There is a nice supermarket within 3 mins walk on the left as you leave the hotel offering a good range of food and wine etc.



There is a pick up point for the Open Top Bus tour which is a hop on hop off trip, very close by and it is an amazing way to see Paris. We highly recommend it and if your in Paris for more than a day it is well worth while buying 2 day pass as it is only 3 euro more each for the 2nd day. You get to see all of the sights of Paris without the stress of walking or trying to use the metro, It is down towards the Gare de Nord opposite the Subway restaurant.

A nice easy walk up into Montemarte.

we have friends stay at this hotel and they recomended it to us as a well located and reasonably priced place to stay, we agree and would not hesitate to recommend it as a nice place to stay while in Paris.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Europe

Address: 98 Blvd de Magenta | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #719 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de l'Europe 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, well-located and with very reasonable ratesConveniently located between the Gare du Nord and the Gare de l'Est, the Hotel de l’Europe is a comfortable, quiet place to stay just a few minutes walk from the Butte Montmartre. The building is typically Parisian in style and offers a pleasant, friendly atmosphere in the heart of a lively neighbourhood, near to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de l'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Europe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Europe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.