We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not recommend this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Sulpice Residence Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Saint Sulpice Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Saint Sulpice Residence Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Rue Guisarde, 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,391 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not recommend this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a bit of an odd setup. No reception which wasn't a big deal, check-in was straight forward enough but that's where the positives end. Elevator only holds 1 person,the stairs are steep and narrow, the walls are paper thin. Cost wasn't bad and location was good but you are better off paying more for another place in the same area.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    24
    5
    20
See reviews for
17
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed here recently and my biggest complaint was that someone unlocked our room door with a key around 3am or 4am when we were sleeping!!!!! This completely woke both of us up and also could have been extremely dangerous. The man noticed we were in the room and closed the door. What if he had decided to rob us or hurt us? This could have turned into a very bad situation. We called Reception and it turns out that a guest accidentally was given a master key and they said he was probably drunk. I wonder if we had not been in the room if we would have come back and found a drunk guy in our bed!! Anyways, I must note that you do not get fresh towels/soap on weekends as Housekeeping does not work on weekends so be prepared if you are staying then. It is also a little strange not having a front desk or knowing that someone is there at all times. It was very noisy at night! Also the winding stairs can be a pain if you are on the 4th floor. Overall, I would avoid this Hotel even if you end up paying more money it will probably be worth it.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Location is great, within walking distance of many attractions. Beds are comfortable and the kitchenette and free wifi was handy. The street noise is extremely loud. The only way to lock/unlock the room door is with a regular key. If you were trying to get out of the room in a hurry (fire) you could run into trouble. The phone in the room was not set up to make local calls. Apparently you have to ask for the phone to be turned on when you check in? There is no reception area; should you happen to lose your key, you will not be able to get into the building at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Simple condo, but with the basic stuff you need to explore Paris. It's in the very charming 6th arr. and only a couple minutes from Metro Mabillon. There are numerous good restaurants just outside. Everything could have been to top score - also considering the very fair price we paid - except for the fat brown hairy mouse, that seemed to be a permanent resident. When we called the lady for some kind of assistance to get rid of the little creature, we were just told that this was to be expected, when we stay on top of a restaurant ( we were on 5th floor!). Still it didn't spoil the holiday. Paris and the Latin Quarter is great - and we weren't physically attacked by the mouse!! But even though - a bit more attention from the owners would be appreciated...

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This place is wonderfully situated; you can walk most anywhere and you'll not be without options for food...Plus if you've read DaVinci Code you'll appreciate being around the corner from Saint Sulpice church (though they aren't big DaVinci code fans there, so be mindful) ...That said, I can honestly say I have never stayed in a noisier hotel in my life. Definitely wanna pack those Bose headsets for this one. There's a party down below most every night. (Felt like the Cancun of Paris...Lots of college kids and drinking (and singing) crowds!) Ok if prepared for it, as the price is fair. But do not go without earplugs or headset if you wish to sleep~ Only other downside is this: They give you one key per room; it has an electronic fob to get you INTO the building at night AND locks your room door (with regular key) both from inside and out. (I.e. no other option to lock yourself IN, but with the key....which means, if one person leaves to go out for a bit, the other has the option of a) going out at the same time and staying out the exact same time; b) staying IN in an unlocked room; or c) being locked IN the room until the other returns with the key. Not only could this be a fire hazard, it was just hard to plan around, as the key is on a rather large fob and not easily hidden if that's your plan for sharing it. Hope this helps. Otherwise, enjoyed the stay. (After all, you're in Paris, right?) The mini fridge and kitchenette came in very handy!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights last year in July. We didnt want to stay anywhere too pricy and not too far out of town. Wa s a bit concerened about this one because of the reviews on here but found it to be better than expected.

There is no reception and all communication was done over the phone, but found Lara to be quite nice and helpful.

The room was quite small but it was fine for us becuase we were only there to sleep. It was quite, comfortable and clean which is alll that we were after. One thing that would have been nice a kettle and plates and cups to be provided, but other than that it was fine.

We walked from there to all main attrations, the furthest away was the Eiffel tower, which took about 45 minutes.

This hotel did the job for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Great location in St Germain. Very close to metro station. It's clean, and the bathroom was really renovated. It's a no-frills hotel, so don't expect any concierge service. It doesn't even have a lobby or a breakfast area. But if you're like me and are just looking for a reasonably priced hotel that is convenient and clean, this hotel is perfect.

Some other reviewers complained about the noise on the streets. I faced the interior, so I didn't have any problems at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint Sulpice Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Sulpice Residence Hotel

Address: 23 Rue Guisarde, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,391 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saint Sulpice Residence Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RESIDENCE HOTELIERE SAINT SULPICE The Saint Sulpice Residence welcomes you in its hotel apartments for your business or pleasure trips. Located in the legendary and animated Latin Quarter district near shops, cafes, restaurants and the historical sites of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, ideal for tourist walks. Just a few steps away from the metro stations and bus stops and in a couple of minutes you can reach the main Parisian axes. APARTMENTS Our hotel apartments are fully equipped with kitchenettes (No kitchenette in the single apartment), dishes, utensils, cabled television, and direct telephone with answering machine. Private bathrooms with bath tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Saint Sulpice Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Sulpice Residence Paris
Hotel Saint Sulpice Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Sulpice Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.