We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cluny Sorbonne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cluny Sorbonne to your Saves list
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8, rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #898 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Crete, Greece
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This small hotel is ideally situated for exploring the important sites in Paris. The rooms are small but comfortable; facilities OK; breakfast is a bit sparse with cornflakes, orange juice, tea, coffee, croissant (1 each) and some bread. But, it is in a great location and modestly priced. We would go back there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    165
    72
    15
    8
See reviews for
40
169
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Todmorden, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This a very well priced hotel for the Latin Quarter, you get to be neighbours with the Sorbonne university. The young lady who greeted us on arrival was very courteous and friendly, however none of the others seemed to care that much and said very little. Our room had a very comfortable bed and a great power shower but the hotel let itself down by assuming torn wallpaper and grimy paintwork was acceptable, along with electric points hanging off of the wall...room 34. It would take very little to paint the room and make it much brighter and aesthetically pleasing. Altogether it was just a crash pad so lets not pretend we sat in our room all day looking at the walls. I have noticed that management never acknowledge or respond to any comments made on Tripadvisor (whether good or bad) so not sure how they make any amends. If you want something a little plusher go next door to the Design Sorbonne or further down on the corner of the square to the Select Rive Gauche.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel Cluny Sorbonne, Paris
Our criteria for accommodation in a big city is a nice, affordable low key hotel that is close to a transport hub and within walking distance of the main icons. The Hotel Cluny Sorbonne is perfectly located in the Latin Quarter, a 15 min walk to the Notre Dame and the old bridges over the Seine. The hotel is very easy to find. It is just across the road from the Sorbonne Uni on Victor Cousin Street, which is one street over and runs parallel to St Michel Street. To get there, it's an easy 10 min walk from the Luxembourg RER train stop (at the beautiful Luxembourg Gardens). This place deserves a high rating. It is close to lots of cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. The rooms are clean and well-appointed and a reasonable size by Paris standards. Staff are friendly, efficient and always available at the desk to let you in when you ring the buzzer. The The hotel is just around the corner from the Pantheon and 5 mins walk in the direction of the historic centre of Paris is the Medieval Museum de Cluny which is well worth a visit. We were in Paris for five days then spent a number of days in regional areas before returning, so we stayed at the Cluny Sorbonne for a total of seven days. We really got to appreciate our luck in finding this place. If we come back to Paris, I would definitely stay here.

Stewart and Debbie from Australia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

You couldn´t find a hotel in a better position! The staff was very helpful in all matters. The best you can get for this price I think. I would recommend this to everyone who wants a nice price-worthy hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just checked in and am pretty dissatisfied with this place, I don't understand all the positive reviews from here which is why I booked a room. It's shabby, my room is on the top floor and at both windows all of the wallpaper is peeling off like there is a leak. Even though it's "one of the bigger rooms" it's small and very outdated.

After checking in and calling the front desk for their internet password I was informed that the internet barely works on the top floor as the signal does not reach that far. To bad I booked here for the area and the free internet access to be able to get some work done at the end of my vacation before flying home in a couple of days. The front desk was very apologetic about it and promised that I would be switched to a first floor room tomorrow afternoon so we'll see how that goes.

So I am sitting in their lobby where I can connect to the internet but it smells as the manager or whoever is cooking fish stinking up the whole area, the gentleman at the front desk is listening to dance music at a low volume however still distracting, a lot of people talking, etc. Not a quiet pleasant environment to work in or a great first impression of this place. I am only booked here for two nights hopefully the rest of the experience is better.

Room Tip: Hope to not get a room past the second floor if you need access to wifi, it's unavailable you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Right across the street from the Sorbonne and just steps to bars, restaurants, shopping and metro. Doesn't get much better than this in Paris for the price. Comfortable, clean, friendly staff. Small rooms, Super small elevator. If you get a room at the front of the building, noise from the street can be a little loud at night if you sleep with the windows open (no A/C, so might be an issue in summer). Overall though, a great hotel, and we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a three week stay at the Cluny Sorbonne in Paris. We loved this little hotel. It was a great location. The room was super clean, and the bed was very comfortable. We stayed in the back of the hotel, and it was very quiet. Special thanks to Wesley, the multi-lingual and helpful front desk guy. Would recommend "Colombus" in the rue Soufflot for coffee in the morning, they do takeout. "Tugalik" in the rue Touiller (right around the corner) does a beautiful salad for lunch (takeout or eat in). "La Méthode"(rue Descartes) and "Les Pipos" (rue de l'École Polytechnique), both right around the corner, for good, fun and inexpensive meals.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cluny Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cluny Sorbonne

Address: 8, rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #898 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cluny Sorbonne 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cluny Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluny Sorbonne Hotel
Cluny Sorbonne Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cluny Sorbonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.