We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Iliade Montmartre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Iliade Montmartre to your Saves list
Iliade Montmartre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 rue Letort | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,629 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Budget hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you are staying in Paris on a very small budget I guess this is what you get. The room had a great view but that's where the positives end. Mould, curtains hanging off rails, bedding could do with a hot wash and the bathroom I couldn't use however did look clean (discarding the mould). The neighbourhood seemed ok we didn't feel threatened etc. it's in a good location again if you are staying on a budget. I don't know why I didn't see the reviewer's photos on trip advisor as they are true to what you get. I must have had a weak moment.
The young lady on reception was very nice too.
All I can say is this is a budget hotel in an expensive city. If you want a room you can do more than sleep in, I suggest spending more money.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    109
    73
    42
    49
See reviews for
22
181
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you are in Paris on budget and want comfortable place on location with great connection for every spot, I recommend this hotel. Staff is extremely friendly and professional. Breakfast is typical continental and it’s better to go earlier, because dinning room is small and can be very crowded. Rooms are ok, clean and this time we took room with the view. It’s bigger then standard double room and additional fee was 10 Euros per night for the room. On the other side of hotel is supermarket (works every day and on Sunday till 13.00) and the next street is full of bakeries and shops with fresh fruit. Mc Donald’s is on the first corner.
This was our second stay and we will be back, I hope, soon.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my Girlfriend traveled here for 3 nights to experience valentines day in Paris. The hotel is close to the Charles De Gaulle airport which is handy only a 20-30 minute drive. BE WARNED, do not use the rank taxi service to the hotel as we got charged 80 euros and it should of been 45 at the most!!! The hotel in itself is very clean and the staff are very polite. There was a computer with Internet access located in the reception area which was free to use which was useful to search for restaurants or attractions. You get free wifi in rooms which was a massive bonus for us. The only slight downfall was the location on the hotel. The area seemed rough and intimidating especially in the evenings. I do no advise staying here if you are travelling alone. There are a few places to eat and a McDonald's and KFC on your doorstep for food on the go. The metro is a 2 minute walk and is very easy to follow for all languages. And only 20-25 minutes away from main attractions. Eg Eiffel Tower, Charles de Gaulle. There was also a cheap supermarket opposite the hotel which was very handy for amenities for the rooms. Eg drink, snacks. Overall it was a very pleasant stay in one of the best cities I have ever visited. Although would try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Gérant at Iliade Montmartre, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for the advice you wrote on our page with all the good points.
However, arround our hotel there is so many tipical french restaurants and not only KFC or MacDonald's.
We are very astonished that the taxi charged you 80 Euros to go to the airport that cost a maximum 70 euros in case of strong traffic jam, we will make an investigation to find out out what happened !

We hope to welcome you another time in our hotel

Kind regards
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've stayed at the Iliade hotel twice. The first time was at the end of November 2009 and most recently in April 2012.

The rooms now have flat screen tv's mounted on the wall and a few channels are in English.

Reception staff are warm, friendly, and helpful. You can book events at reception if you haven't pre-booked them already before leaving.

Breakfast gets a little "tight" in the small room they have on the ground floor, but they have space for about 12 or 16 people on different size tables. It's continental breakfast but there's plenty to go round.

You can choose from tea, coffee, hot chocolate, warm milk, juice, cereal, different jams, bread rolls, crossaints and other types of food. It's buffet aswell and costs 7 euros per person per day.

When you leave the hotel, turn left and walk to the end of the street and there's a train station where you can get to the many different sights in Paris along with bus stops dotted around. There's also a mc d's at the end of the street and other places where you can eat, drink and hang out.

It's a decent clean place to stay and if you want to have more money to spend then stay at this hotel. I didn't care if my bed wasn't made everyday because I'm more than capable of making my own bed. I also didn't care if my sheets weren't changed everyday. As if any of us literally change our bed sheets at home daily. Ok, so at home we're not on holiday, but see past the moaning reviews and it isn't such a bad place. I'd happily stay here again. My room was clean, warm, there's a tv in my room with a few English channels and it's really close to Gard da nord station so if you want to jump in a taxi, you can do so without it costing a lot (or you can get the train a few stops).

I don't remember there being tea/coffee making facility in my room. I did bring my own travel kettle just incase as I'm funny with hotel kettles which haven't been descaled.

Room Tip: I requested a room at the front of the hotel as high up as possible. I love opening the french door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I have travelled throughout Europe and this is without doubt the worst hotel we have ever stayed. Bad location, through the night noise, disgustingly dirty, small beyond belief - you have been warned. No stars is the appropriaterating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

First night was a pretty horrible experience. My brother and I arrived at 2230, sketched out by the violent fighting in the street and the sirens filling the air. When we got to the front desk, he was confused about our reservation and gave us a double bed room, not what we asked for obviously. We complained and got another room key which led to an already occupied room with another double bed and it's occupants were half naked. Third times a charm and we finally got a room with 2 single beds. The walls are not sound proof by any means, our bathroom floor was sticky and had brown spots, as well as the light fixtures did not work. We only had to stay two nights and were extremely thankful it was not for more. A plus side to this place is how close it is to the metro, 2 min walk max.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We booked this hotel for 4 nights in Paris in April 2010. We selected it based on its location close to the metro (Portes de Clignancourt). The neighborhood is a bit dodgy, but as the walk to the metro was short it did not bother us. A few nice cafes nearby and grocery store just across the street. I was not expecting the Ritz, so the size and quality of the furniture and amenities were ok, however the maintenance of everything was inadequate. Sheets, bedspreads and towels were worn which is not too much a problem in iteself, but also not particularly clean. Same goes for the bathroom. There was mold in the shower and paint / wallpaper was peeling off in spots. The carpet looked like it had not been vacuumed in a while. We are not particularly picky so we go with basic choices most times, especially as we spend most of our time outside the hotel, but this one was particularly bad. I don't believe that I have ever stayed in a hotel this bad. I recommend selecting something else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iliade Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iliade Montmartre

Address: 51 rue Letort | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,629 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Iliade Montmartre 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet street in the 18th district of Paris, Hotel Iliade Montmartre is ideally placed between the Paris Flea Market and the Butte de Montmartre.Many of our 49 rooms have a view over the beautiful Sacred Heart Basilica of Montmartre. They are non-smoking rooms, bright and equipped with modern amenities such as: free Wi-Fi access and cable on flat screen Philips Led Ambilight TV, Landline phone with free calls to landlines in France, and fitted bathrooms. For your comfort we provide you with 24h/24h reception and consierge services.Surrounded in the vicinity by many shops (restaurant, supermarket, pharmacy, bakery, etc.) that give you close to a real neighborhood life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Iliade Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iliade Montmartre Hotel Paris
Iliade Hotel Paris
Iliade Paris 18
Hotel Iliade Paris Xviii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iliade Montmartre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.