We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Booked” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Victoria Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Bis Cite Bergere, 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,365 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Double Booked”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife finds it hard to walk and climb stairs. I booked into Victoria Hotel because it had a lift. On arrival we were told we had been moved to Ronceray Opera Hotel, a walk away. This hotel was unaware we were coming until told on our arrival. Their lift went to the 4th floor. Our room was on the 5th floor. When we reached the room we found our card keys had not been activated. This was a shambles. I will never book into Victoria Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    70
    150
    90
    93
See reviews for
69
194
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here with friends in October 2012 and had an amazing stay. The hotel is in a great location. The atmosphere of the hotel is beautiful, very French, very chic. We enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms are all spacious, clean and well appointed. The barman was most entertaining when we had our afternoon cocktails. Loved it!

Room Tip: All seemed great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

average hotel but good location. staff especially fred were welcoming except for the "gentleman" on the night shift. fred was really helpful with showing what was available re sightseeing and where to eat. room was tiny and the bathroom even smaller. our window opened onto the fire escape which was good as you could sit on the stairs for room. breakfast was in a dark pokey room with shabby tables, and choice was bagels and croissants or croissants and bagels! ( the norm in paris i'm told)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went to the victoria hotel for my daughter and her friends 18th birthday.We booked a transfer from charles de gaulle airport with odyssee transfer got number off internet they were very good and waiting for us at airport.On arrival at hotel we were too early to check in so had a look around.We went back to check in and another receptoinist said the rooms we were given are noisy so he moved us to the fourth floor.the rooms are small but clean enough no tea or coffee facilities or hairdryer and in august the rooms are very stuffy and hot.Some of the staff are rude but Freddie was very helpful and gave us some great advice on places to eat and visit he booked our return transfer back from hotel with shuttle bus.the hotel is only a two star and is in need of reviewing afew secutity procedures as number of your room is on the key just behind desk so if your key is taken they know exactily were to go..The area around the hotel is cheaper to eat and drink than the other parts and every meal we had was excellent with friendily staff.the icecream shop right by the hotel was wicked and they make the icecream like a flower the staff in there were great too.We got a two day bus pass there is alot off choice it had four routes and you could go on all of them to change you had to wait for route to overlap,it took us to the effiel tower which was brilliant we walked to levels then paid for lift to top as this que was the shortest you need moderate fitness to do this!.We also went on the river on a boat at dusk which we booked at hotel they go every 20mins We also travelled on the metro which is close to the hotel and fairly reasonable you can buy 10 tickets for about thirteen euros and the system is quite easy to work out even for me! We got back to the hotel around midnight during our stay,we had noticed alot of young men hang around by the arches we had to go under to reach the hotel their seemed alot on our last night and on goind to bed we could here alot of noise glad we had beem moved from ground floor.I was woken about 1am by them they were fighting and hitting a man by the hotel opposite they had metal poles battering him, the police came and they threw tear gas at them the smoke went into the lower rooms and the guests demanded to be moved i know the hotel cannot be responsible for this but it was very frightening some guests had to run through it coughing and crying to get to their hotel so be careful. my daughter slept through it we saw nothing else or had any trouble.

Room Tip: just avoid the lower floor very noisy if the youths are hanging around they play their music to
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the outside this hotel doens't look too bad. When you enter the lobby, you think 'oh my god' but the man at the reception is a nice man.

We had two rooms, number 142 ( 4th floor ) and 155 ( 5th floor ). There was no elevator, so it was a pretty climb upstairs ( after a whole day of shopping and walking in Paris this could be very annoying ). Our rooms were okay. Room 155 was actually pretty good, with a small kind of balcony, so you can sit outside. The bathroom looked okay, but was very small. The bed was okay.

The location of the hotel is good, about 300 meters from the metro station ( Jules Joffrin ). You can park your car in one of the streets nearby. ( worked for us ) We only stayed for one night ( it was a weekend trip )

If you are with children, this hotel is not an option. For having a shopping or maybe a party weekend, this is a good choice . If you need luxury, you need another hotel.

Our rooms were on the streetsside and it was quite noisy outside ( cars, police etc. )

All and all we were satisfied, although my first thoughts not that good.

Room Tip: Room 155 has a small balcony which is quite a nice option ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I booked this hotel for me and my partner for his Birthday. Neither of us had ever been to Paris before and this hotel was in a great location. Very central, close to metro with lots of bars and restaurants on the door step. The bathroom was tiny, but in general the room was okay.

Day staff were okay and spoke English, but did often seem pre occupied with talking to friends rather than sorting out customers. The night staff was very rude, on the first night when we went to retire our room key he was sat peeling an apple and then began to eat it before even acknowledging we were stood right in front of him. On the second night we had been to the Moulin Rouge and when we got back to the hotel the door was locked, we rang the bell 2-3 times with no answer and was stood outside for a good 15mins if not more. It was only when I decided to keep my finger on the buzzer did he appear to unlock the door. We did not have breakfast as it was 18euro per person per night, on the main road there are numerous places to eat from that is much cheaper.

Overall the hotel is okay and the price is good for central Paris. If you want a hotel just to rest your head then this place would do just fine!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were a little dissapointed with this hotel. The rooms were very small to the point where you couldn't go to the toilet without your knees touching the wall and I am not an extremely tall person. It was also frustrating having a shower when everytime you turned you knocked the taps. When we arrived I also found the staff at reception to be quite abrupt. While I understand I do not speak French, it appeared our needs were considered less important and the staff showed some frustration. The hotel was also located in a dirty alley way and I felt unsafe at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Paris
Hotel Victoria Paris
Address: 2 Bis Cite Bergere, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,365 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.