We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Bis Cite Bergere, 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,377 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

average hotel but good location. staff especially fred were welcoming except for the "gentleman" on the night shift. fred was really helpful with showing what was available re sightseeing and where to eat. room was tiny and the bathroom even smaller. our window opened onto the fire escape which was good as you could sit on the stairs for room. breakfast was in a dark pokey room with shabby tables, and choice was bagels and croissants or croissants and bagels! ( the norm in paris i'm told)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    86
    170
    107
    101
See reviews for
76
228
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went to the victoria hotel for my daughter and her friends 18th birthday.We booked a transfer from charles de gaulle airport with odyssee transfer got number off internet they were very good and waiting for us at airport.On arrival at hotel we were too early to check in so had a look around.We went back to check in and another receptoinist said the rooms we were given are noisy so he moved us to the fourth floor.the rooms are small but clean enough no tea or coffee facilities or hairdryer and in august the rooms are very stuffy and hot.Some of the staff are rude but Freddie was very helpful and gave us some great advice on places to eat and visit he booked our return transfer back from hotel with shuttle bus.the hotel is only a two star and is in need of reviewing afew secutity procedures as number of your room is on the key just behind desk so if your key is taken they know exactily were to go..The area around the hotel is cheaper to eat and drink than the other parts and every meal we had was excellent with friendily staff.the icecream shop right by the hotel was wicked and they make the icecream like a flower the staff in there were great too.We got a two day bus pass there is alot off choice it had four routes and you could go on all of them to change you had to wait for route to overlap,it took us to the effiel tower which was brilliant we walked to levels then paid for lift to top as this que was the shortest you need moderate fitness to do this!.We also went on the river on a boat at dusk which we booked at hotel they go every 20mins We also travelled on the metro which is close to the hotel and fairly reasonable you can buy 10 tickets for about thirteen euros and the system is quite easy to work out even for me! We got back to the hotel around midnight during our stay,we had noticed alot of young men hang around by the arches we had to go under to reach the hotel their seemed alot on our last night and on goind to bed we could here alot of noise glad we had beem moved from ground floor.I was woken about 1am by them they were fighting and hitting a man by the hotel opposite they had metal poles battering him, the police came and they threw tear gas at them the smoke went into the lower rooms and the guests demanded to be moved i know the hotel cannot be responsible for this but it was very frightening some guests had to run through it coughing and crying to get to their hotel so be careful. my daughter slept through it we saw nothing else or had any trouble.

Room Tip: just avoid the lower floor very noisy if the youths are hanging around they play their music to
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the outside this hotel doens't look too bad. When you enter the lobby, you think 'oh my god' but the man at the reception is a nice man.

We had two rooms, number 142 ( 4th floor ) and 155 ( 5th floor ). There was no elevator, so it was a pretty climb upstairs ( after a whole day of shopping and walking in Paris this could be very annoying ). Our rooms were okay. Room 155 was actually pretty good, with a small kind of balcony, so you can sit outside. The bathroom looked okay, but was very small. The bed was okay.

The location of the hotel is good, about 300 meters from the metro station ( Jules Joffrin ). You can park your car in one of the streets nearby. ( worked for us ) We only stayed for one night ( it was a weekend trip )

If you are with children, this hotel is not an option. For having a shopping or maybe a party weekend, this is a good choice . If you need luxury, you need another hotel.

Our rooms were on the streetsside and it was quite noisy outside ( cars, police etc. )

All and all we were satisfied, although my first thoughts not that good.

Room Tip: Room 155 has a small balcony which is quite a nice option ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I booked this hotel for me and my partner for his Birthday. Neither of us had ever been to Paris before and this hotel was in a great location. Very central, close to metro with lots of bars and restaurants on the door step. The bathroom was tiny, but in general the room was okay.

Day staff were okay and spoke English, but did often seem pre occupied with talking to friends rather than sorting out customers. The night staff was very rude, on the first night when we went to retire our room key he was sat peeling an apple and then began to eat it before even acknowledging we were stood right in front of him. On the second night we had been to the Moulin Rouge and when we got back to the hotel the door was locked, we rang the bell 2-3 times with no answer and was stood outside for a good 15mins if not more. It was only when I decided to keep my finger on the buzzer did he appear to unlock the door. We did not have breakfast as it was 18euro per person per night, on the main road there are numerous places to eat from that is much cheaper.

Overall the hotel is okay and the price is good for central Paris. If you want a hotel just to rest your head then this place would do just fine!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were a little dissapointed with this hotel. The rooms were very small to the point where you couldn't go to the toilet without your knees touching the wall and I am not an extremely tall person. It was also frustrating having a shower when everytime you turned you knocked the taps. When we arrived I also found the staff at reception to be quite abrupt. While I understand I do not speak French, it appeared our needs were considered less important and the staff showed some frustration. The hotel was also located in a dirty alley way and I felt unsafe at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our room was very very small and we did feel a little suffocated as the window was also tiny, however it was clean and the location was great!

The metro is a 2 minute walk and you can get to most of the main attractions in around 10 minutes using it. We also got a cab home from the Moulin Rouge as it was late at night and it only cost 12 euros so it's really not far!

The breakfast isn't up to much but if u just want a quick tea/coffee and croissant to set u up in the morning then it's fine.

If i went back to Paris I probably wouldn't mind staying here again as we were rarely in the room anyway and the price was very reasonable considering the location!

Hard Rock Cafe is a 2 minute walk as is a lively pub called O'Corcorans (or something like that)! Both are great for a quick drink or a lively night out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

OK, the room is small... YES!, the shower is tiny... YES!! but you are in Paris and chances are you are just going to be in your room to sleep, you will not be there during the day, so all you need is a good bed to crash, clean sheets and a clean bathroom, and this Hotel has all these!! Plus, the Metro station is like 75 meters away, so this is a keeper! We will definitely stay here next time! Breakfast is good if you ask!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 2 Bis Cite Bergere, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,377 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Paris
Hotel Victoria Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.