We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Touring Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Touring Hotel to your Saves list
Touring Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 rue Buffault, 75009 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€30 off room rate
Ranked #752 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

If you're familiar with 3 star hotels in France then this is a perfect example. The place is not large, the rooms are comfortable, the bathroom is clean, everything works and you get a pretty good nights sleep at a reasonable price for a major city.

The hotel is on a quiet street just off the Rue Lafeyette and an easy walk from the Gare du Nord (and Eurostar). Rooms are not available on the day you check in until 15:00 but they will store your luggage for you. The lift is serviceable, it held the four of us and our luggage with room to spare. There is a nice staircase for when you don't have luggage, it's only dark if you don't switch the light on! We were on the 3rd floor at the front of the building; there was a bit of street noise but this was eliminated by shutting the window properly.

Breakfast is in a basement room, accessible from the lift. The food is standard; rolls, croissant, scrambled egg; pastries, fruit, tea/coffee/chocolate, cereal and crêpe - although they are not cooked fresh. For us this was inclusive in the room price.

We were here for 3 nights with friends and we all felt it was ideally suited to visiting many of the sites of Paris over a long weekend - we walked everywhere, from Sacre Coeur to the Musee D'Orsay. The room was big enough for us all to meet up and share a bottle of bubbly in comfort, although there is no fridge the hotel will let you use theirs. There is a safe in the room but this requires an additional - charged for - key; we didn't bother and didn't have any security issues.

OK so they don't have free WiFi! Many much bigger and more expensive hotels don't either. Personally we can do with out it; there are enough locations with free access for the price of a coffee nearby.

We'd use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    173
    71
    13
    12
See reviews for
67
133
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The structure is quite ordinary and in line with medium/low class hotels in Paris. Anywhere else the hotel wouldn't get any certificate of viability for low security reasons. No smoke detectors, no sprinklers, no emergency exits!
The hotel is quiet. The rooms too narrow. The breakfast is expensive and horrible. No temp control possible. To pay 4 €/hour for wi fi connection is absurd!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Small, traditional French hotel. Small room, but enough space for two, nice and clean, spacious bathroom.
Breakfast with hot and cold choices, pancakes, baguette, toast, croissant, fruit, cereal, juice, the and coffee, enough choices for a good start of the day. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Outside hotel looked good, but inside, was the tiniest elevator Ive ever use. very dark corridor, and less lighting in the room. Internet is not free, even when we paid like 4 euros for an hour, it is very very slow, sometimes server is down... bathroom was very excellent they gave us plenty of white clean towels. TV was kaput, less channels and broken on several channels. beside the hotel is Ibis hotel, well nexttime we definitely stay at Ibis hotel..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I booked a single but appear to have been given a double (this seems quite common in Paris). As such the room was a good size, extremely clean and relatively quiet.The only irritant was the key to the room. This was of the old fashioned variety and extremely difficult to use.
The staff were extremely helpful. There is a buffet breakfast but I never gave it a try. Two metro stations are within close proximity. All in all extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: Although situated in a quiet side street, in summer with windows open it could be beneficial to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel is 3 star so no fridge and no safe, no coffee pot in the room. When you are in Paris in the fall this is a great place to stay. Hotel is 3 star so no fridge and no safe, no coffee pot in the room. No air conditioning so could be iffy in summer. These are things we didnt need. Room 53 is a very large room with balcony on top floor. For 110 euros a night it was well worth it. We are seasoned travellers and have stayed in boutique hotels in Paris before for twice the price. This place is a classic french hotel with very friendly staff, the room very clean, nice bathroom with bathtub. Great location. Cadet station 5 minutes away. Close to Gare du Nord if you're coming from Amsterdam. Laundry mat 2 blocks away . We left our laundry and picked up next day for 20 euro. Plenty of self service laundromats also close by. Bakery on the corner of Lamartine for a pain au chocolate. Theree are plenty of places around where you can get breakfast for 8.50 euros which includes café, bread, oj , and eggs so breakfast in the Orel not necessary. Great bar around the corner (Le Mignon) on Lamartine close to Les Plumes where are parents were staying. Cafè for 1 euro in the morning. Beer for 2.50 euro. Delicious homemade onion soup for 5.30 euro. We will book here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room in with balcony facing courtyard. Nice breeze in the evening. We could also pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Touring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touring Hotel

Address: 21 rue Buffault, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre , Opéra
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Touring Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Touring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touring Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.