We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, really good prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magenta 38 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Magenta 38 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magenta 38 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 blvd de Magenta, 75010 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Magenta Paris)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€64 (EUR)
Ranked #810 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, really good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We've stayed there (together with my wife) for 3 nights over an extended week-end, the hotel is great - clean, good location, close to all means of transport (although not really required as it's quite a pleasant walk to the centre), helpful staff, really good prices.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a small balcony, quite noisy due to activity in the street (but we've en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebastienS133, General Manager at Magenta 38 Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Marius O,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. your comment on the team is very much appreciated.

As for the location, as you mentioned, it is indeed very convenient when it comes to plan your visits to the center.

We hope to welcome you back soon at the Magenta.

Best regards,

Sébastien Samséou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    327
    148
    31
    25
See reviews for
94
267
48
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here overnight between trains. Good location near Gare du Nord (10 mins walk) and with excellent Metro links via Jacques Bonsergent or Republique stations on the M5 line. Rooms we had were a bit cramped, but clean and functional with a useful but small balcony overlooking the Boulevard de Magenta. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Good substantial breakfast buffet (extra cost) though served in a small, windowless basement. Secure luggage storage for the whole day after we booked out wasn't a problem.

Beware though: there is another "Hotel Magenta" just up the road on the Boulevard. The nice ladies in there pointed us in the right direction. Ignore the address (38 B de Magenta). You need the nice looking hotel opposite Rue de Nancy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebastienS133, General Manager at Magenta 38 Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Paul B,

We have just received your review on our hotel and I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and the friendliness of the staff.

As for the room, we are soon going to refurbish the entire hotel so hopefully next time you travel to Paris we will have the pleasure to welcome you in a brand new hotel.

With kind regards,

Sébastien Samséou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuwait
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We tried this hotel based on recommendations of other visitors. There is only one room to accommodate our family with 2 kids. Hotel location is great near to metro station and bus. It is airconditioned which you might need in hot summer night. Best breakfast you can get in Europe and the most perfect thing is the friendly staff. we really loved the staff they made us feel home, speak fluent english and answered all types of questions including directions and recommended areas of attraction.

In brief, the best for a family and couples.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebastienS133, General Manager at Magenta 38 Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Bolbol1970,

I just received your review on your recent stay with us and I wanted to take a few minutes to thank you for your kind comments.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the room was up to your expectations. The air conditioning was quite usefull these past week in Paris and we are lucky to have one the works so well.

As for your feedback on the team, I will be happy to share it with the staff.

We look forward to welcome you back soon in Paris!

Kind regards,

Sébastien Samséou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is ideal to stay near Gare du Nord station. Very nearby to metro rail network to reach the key spots like Louvre museum, Eiffel tower. The staff was very friendly, Mr. Bruno the hotel manager was very helpful and very patiently gave us tips to go around Paris. Very ideal for short stay. Variety of food for morning breakfast but seem to be pricey if not included within the hotel rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebastienS133, General Manager at Magenta 38 Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear EarthLover19,

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

As you mentionned the location is very convenient and makes your visit of Paris very easy with the 5 metro lines of Place de la République.

Thank you very much for your kind comment on Bruno it will definitely be shared with him and it is well appreciated.

As for breakfast, we pay a close attention to this first meal of the day and I am glad to read that you enjoyed it.

We hope to welcome you back soon at the Hotel Magenta!

Best regards,

Sébastien samséou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Booked this hotel on a whim when I realized it was the same price as a hostel in Paris for my friend and I who are backpacking through Europe. For the low price we paid, I wasn't expecting anything great. Paris was our first stop, and staying at Hotel Magenta really set the bar for every other place on our trip.

We had a huge room with two bathrooms, and from one, you can see the Eiffel Tower! Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable. The staff was always kind and helpful and breakfast was good. There was a nice tv and my favorite, an amazing air conditioning unit. It was extremely hot during our trip, and we definitely ended our exploring to come back and enjoy the cold room. Location was great, near two metro stops!

Will definitely book here when I return to Paris!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebastienS133, General Manager at Magenta 38 Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Sadie F,

Thank you for your comments.

We are very pleased to read that the Magenta Hotel overpassed your expectations.

Customer service is very important to us and I am glad that the staff made your stay confortable.

Your feedback is actualy exactly the kind of experience we want our customer to have here at the hotel Magenta: a clean and confortable room, a good breakfast and a friendly team so it is very nice to read that this is what you found in our hotel.

We look forward to see you back soon in Paris!

best regards,

Sébastien Samséou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

For our stay in Paris, we decided to book a hotel rather than a hostel because we’d found this one, which had a surprisingly similar cost. Because of that we were excited but also a little nervous - I was expecting a dirty, Motel 6-esq location. I was wrong!

The hotel is located just down the street from Republique Square, and we had a double bed room on the 7th floor. There are only a few rooms on this floor, so you take the elevator up to six and walk up a winding staircase to seven, but it was really charming.

Our room was cold - perfect temperature after walking in the Paris heat - and really clean. A huge, comfortable bed and best of all: two bathrooms. We joked that it was the honeymoon suite - it might have been!

We stayed here for three nights and it was a little over 200 euros .. incredibly reasonable for how nice it was, the fact that it was in Paris and it included breakfast.

Nearly right outside is a metro for line 5 - we would just get on/ off this one and transfer at Republique (one station stop over) to make all big metro transfers.

I didn’t notice anything bad about the location - yeah, there were a lot of homeless people down the street, but I saw them everywhere in Paris.

The one thing I’d say is I wish they sent out emails beforehand with some directions from airports/ train stations so we weren’t completely at a loss - a few hotels have done that. We were at the ORLY airport and didn’t know how to get there, so we got a private car for 50 euros to get there.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebastienS133, General Manager at Magenta 38 Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Stephanie G,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay with us.

We really appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion with other travellers.

The location as you mentioned is one of the best asset of our Hotel; it allows you to visit Paris while staying close to the train station.

As for the room, we are happy to read that you enjoyed the 7th floor rooms, most of our guest really liked them. We are about to refurbish the entire hotel so hopefully next time you come to Paris you will be able to stay in a brand new hotel.

Thank you again for your time and comments and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

With best regards,

Sébastien Samséou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hotel Magenta is about 10 minutes from one of the major train stations, we arrived from London on a Eurostar train and were at the hotel quite fast. Most of the front desk staff speak other languages, so chances are that if you also speak another language you'll probably be able to get by fine. If not, download Google Translate onto your mobile device and download the French dictionary. The front desk staff are extremely friendly, my favorite is Sebastien, he's a true gem to the hotel.

The cleaning staff are also extremely friendly and attentive, unfortunately, we didn't want our room made one of the days we were there, but they cleaned up anyways and didn't mess anything up. As for the rooms themselves, they are quite spacious compared to London rooms, and are quite well-equipped with a fridge and a safe. We didn't notice any major problems with ours, there are ample outlets for charging electronics and the bathroom has a hair dryer with a 110V outlet on it in case you forgot your converter for US appliances.

Breakfast is a bit light and mediocre, but that's because we were a bit spoiled in London. You probably shouldn't be eating much for breakfast anyways because Paris has some great lunch and dinner spots. The one last thing I have to comment on is the internet, this was the only hotel we stayed at that we felt like didn't cheap out on the internet. In London our internet at the hotel was slow, and in Rome the internet barely worked, but here it was fast and always functioning.

Highly recommended to anyone looking for a good hotel on a budget. Republique is the closest metro stop, and if you go there at certain times you will find it is flowing with Parisian hipsters either dancing or skateboarding around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebastienS133, General Manager at Magenta 38 Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear M. Imran G,

I just read your comments on your recent stay with us and I wanted to take a few minutes to thank you for this kind review.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at the Magenta and that you found the location convenient.

Indeed we are quite lucky to be just minutes away of 5 metro lines that take you to all the major parisian sightseeing.

As for the room and the Air conditioning, knowing how hot the weather was when you were in Paris I can understand you were glad to to have it working well.

We hope to see you back soon in Paris!

With best regards,

Sébastien Samséou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magenta 38 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magenta 38 Hotel

Address: 38 blvd de Magenta, 75010 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Magenta Paris)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #810 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magenta 38 Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated at the end of 2008, 100% non smoking, the HotelMagentaParis.com, housed in an elegant 19th century building, offers 65 rooms decorated in a stylish modern design, with adjoining private bathrooms, hair-dryer, magnifying mirror and WC. Dedicated to the clients’ well being, all the rooms are equipped with air conditioning, double-glazed windows, mini-bar, cable TV offering over 28 channels and 6 languages, laptop safe, free wifi, direct telephone line for incoming & outgoing calls and complimentary tea & coffee amenity tray. The buffet-breakfast is served from 7am to 10am in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Fastbooking, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Magenta 38 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magenta 38 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.