We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, terrific location, helpful staff...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of le 55 montparnasse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added le 55 montparnasse Hotel to your Saves list
le 55 montparnasse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 rue de Plaisance, 75014 Paris, France (Formerly Kyriad) (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #853 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great value, terrific location, helpful staff...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

It was my second time at this hotel. I felt like a Parisian with all the great shops: bakery... wine store... cheese store... Well, that's everything that you need, no? :)

The Metro station Pernety is at the door, nice and safe location, even at night. No a/c, but nice big TV, decent mattress, a great value for the money if you upgrade to a "superior room". Get a room with a "view" on the rear street, quieter and yes, you can bring your earplugs for total confort. I would certainly recommend this hotel for the traveller on a budget. Florent and the boys at the desk are "super polite", it is good to deal with them. I had room #304, I would recommend this one for sure. Nice and clean. A tip? Go the the "Porte de Vanves" flea market on Sunday, a 15-20 mins walk from the hotel. You will find some cool antiques and souvenirs. Brasserie du Metro is a few minutes away, they have a decent menu. There is also a "Franprix" grocery store a few blocks.

Really, thank you for an other pleasant stay, I enjoy your hotel and I will be back again next year...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    182
    91
    18
    14
See reviews for
33
207
16
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

My Husband and I have just returned from a very pleasant 2 night stay at le 55 Montparnasse Hotel. The hotel is quite basic but has everything you need. It is very clean and nicely decorated, the staff are very helpful. We made use of the hotel parking which was very secure and safe. If you are visiting Paris to see the sights (Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triompe etc) this hotel is a great base.

The Hotel is situated just opposite Pernety Metro Station, so it is easy to get to anywhere around Paris in just a few minutes. The location is also great because it is typically French and not at all a tourist area. Nice cafe's and pastry shops and pretty surroundings. It is also a lot cheaper to eat and drink in this area than in central Paris. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

The positives:
The hotel is about 30 metres from the train station. Takes about 10 to get to main attractions.
Hotel room is decent size, clean and modern.
Bathroom is also a decent size and clean. It had a bath too!
Reception staff were great. Cleaning staff were very polite and friendly.

Negatives:
No air conditioning (had a floor fan though). It was manageable but we had to leave the window open at night so the room could fill with cool, fresh air...
Noisey sometimes (with window open or not). There is a bar up the road and locals (?)love to hang out there into the early morning. Garbage trucks also come early each morning (twice).

I would have rated the property a five if it had air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here for an week for a convention in Paris. We had a room where our window opens to the street. We had to keep the window open every night because there is no AC in our room. Even though our room had a fan, which I found it amusing, it was too warm to sleep comfortably at night. Street level noise wasn't too bad on most nights but there were a couple of days where I was disturbed due to trash collection.

The room is clean and the hotel offered free WIFI. We did not try the hotel breakfast as there are many places to eat near the hotel. Train station is only 10 minutes walk and there is a metro station across from the hotel.

If I am to return next time, I will ask for a room facing the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had booked this hotel 5 nights and we really enjoyed our stay.T he metro station pernity was just next to the hotel . so easily accessible , you have all restaurants laundry, super bazar .. everything is walking distance. The rooms are just not spacious , but i am sure you know what you can get in paris. Its worth the money . The breakfast place is a small little joint but a good spread.
Though rooms are little smaller , it was a good place to stay .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le55montparnasse, Directeur général at le 55 montparnasse Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comment that encourages us.
To all, we advise you to book the superior rooms are more spacious and very pleasant for long stays.
We hope you had a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in June 11 and would like to put down the good and bad points as
1) clean, tidy rooms,comfortable bed with a 32'LCD Tv .
2) great staff!
3) surrounding area is great as it has a lot of bars and cafes.everything close by grocery, food etc.
Not so great
1) very cramped lobby and corridors..other than that it was a great place to stay
If booked ahead of time cheap rates available!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel is located 1 min walk from Pernety tube station which is very convenient and not too far from any central destination in Paris. The street is charming with many deli shops luring you with pastries, quality ripe fruits, cut meats and cheeses. Within walking distance there is an open market and also many restaurants to choose from; French cafés, Korean, Indian, Arabic, etc
The rooms are surprisingly spacious with good quality modern furniture and staff is very nice. You will not find this comfort in any of the similarly priced hotels close to the center.
I will definitely stay again there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to le 55 montparnasse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about le 55 montparnasse Hotel

Address: 55 rue de Plaisance, 75014 Paris, France (Formerly Kyriad)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#115 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — le 55 montparnasse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Priceline so you can book your le 55 montparnasse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 55 Montparnasse Paris
Hotel Kyriad Montparnasse
Hotel Le 55 Montparnasse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage le 55 montparnasse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.