We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed n priced gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Darcet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Darcet to your Saves list
Hotel Darcet
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue Darcet | 17 Arr., 75017 Paris, France (Batignolles-Monceau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well placed n priced gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located gem with plenty of necessities nearby (supermarket, pastry shops, cafes). Very clean and peaceful surroundings. Gem of a stay. Desk staff were attentive to details and most helpful with suggestions for dining and transportation, in lieu of the train strikes. Couldnt have asked for more. Highly recommended for a centralized pitstop.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    77
    14
    0
    3
See reviews for
45
98
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belo horizonte
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Hotel very well located, close to the metro. Multiple options of restaurants and supermarkets. The rooms are small but very comfortable and clean. Did not have breakfast, but the hotel offered espresso coffe and tea cups. So we bought bread at the corner and ate at the hotel. Cost benefit excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is located in a quite street near the place de Clichy metro station. In the neighborhood there are a number of restaurants, bakeries, and supermarkets. We had a three-bed room and got a good night's sleep. We did not mind that the room was not large and the elevator was small. We liked the hotel very much because that we checked in at noon, the room was very clean, the wireless internet was fast and stable, the air conditioning was good, and the managers were polite, friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located in the Montmartre area and is only a few minutes walk to the metro at Place de Clichy and to numerous bus stops and bus destinations. (You can use your metro tickets on the buses). There are numerous cafes and restaurants in the locality and a mini supermarket and a couple of boulangeries close by.

The hotel itself has been refurbished and is spotlessly clean, There was a TV in the room and good wifi connectivity. The room we had was smallish but not too bad by Paris standards, we found the decor and lighting rather clinical. There was a small desk area in the room and a wardrobe for hanging clothes. The wardrobe had a very high shelf, too high to be much use and inconveniently there no drawers of any description to store clothes in.

The hotel does not provide breakfasts but has a breakfast room and good free coffee and tea. What most folk seem to do is to walk over to one of the nearby boulangeries to buy croissants etc for breakfast and take them back to the hotel to eat in the breakfast room. This worked really well for us.

The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. On the day that we left we had a late departure and they were only too happy to store our suitcases for us until we collected them in the afternoon.

I do like sink plugs. The sink in our bathroom did not appear to be designed to take one. Doing everything under running water does seem a waste and it makes shaving fiddly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My trip is still ongoing here at the Hotel Darcet, but I wanted to write a review before I leave as I have been so pleased with my stay here. I will admit from the outset that I almost cancelled my booking a few times - not because I didn't feel that the hotel was going to be bad, but because I am travelling with my almost-70 year old mum and I thought it wouldn't be to her taste, but I couldn't have been more wrong. I requested an early check-in and whilst we had to wait for about 20 minutes for our room to be ready, in that time Ziane, the guy in reception, made us very welcome by making us a cup of tea, chatting about our journey to Paris and spending time with us and helping to circle the map to show us where all the attractions were. Nothing has been too much trouble for him since we arrived. The room was extremely clean, with the service staff being polite and helpful. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, especially for the price we paid for the room - it is also close to the metro and not too far from the Gare du Nord, should you be coming from the train station. If I come to Paris again, I would not hesitate to stay here (Room 10). There are also lots of amenities nearby, including the Restaurant Melrose (a recommendation from Ziane - but that is for another review).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

From the moment of room booking, this hotel and it's personnel made a very good impression. The hotel can be reached easily using the metro lines and heading to the Place de Clichy.

Our room was located at the second floor and was very clean and cosy. Sheets and towels was changed every day.

We highly recommend this hotel! Very friendly and helpful personnel, free wifi and good location makes it worth to stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel is located about a 5-10-minute walk from Moulin Rouge. There is a metro line about 3-4 minutes away. There is a supermarket with great selection just 2 minutes from the hotel. There are 2 bakeries within VERY close proximity. There are a number of cafes (there is also a Starbucks if you are an addict :)), etc. nearby. During the day the area is typical Parisian, however, in the evening you may want to note that all the sex shops are open and the area becomes a bit of a red-light disctrict. We didn't mind this at all, but if you are with children you may not find it ideal.
We came to Paris to go to the French Open (tennis) and were looking for a hotel that is not expensive but one that is clean and comfortable. This is exactly what we got.
When we arrived, seeing the reception I was a bit concerned- the reception area looks old and shabby. The staff are very casual, very friendly and helpful.
As I walked up the stairs (there is an elevator as well, I just like walking up staris), I got a bit more cencerned, as the straircase was a bit wonky (to be honest it's an old building, so I shouldn't expect anything else).
However, when I enetered our room, I was extremely presently surprised. The room is new, clean and fresh. It has a bed, two bedside shelves, a desk, a chair, a full-length mirror, a wardrobe and a TV; the floor is wooden- all matching in style and very pleasant. The bathroom has a shower, a toilet and a sink. Simple and this is all we needed. Everything was cleaned every day to the best standards, the bedsheets, towels, everything immaculate.
The room in true Parisian way is not big at all, but we found it comfortable, the bed was good to sleep in (it's a double bed, nit a queen, not a king, etc., just a plain double). Our room was non-smoking, so it didn't stink (like many other hotels). There is air conditioning in the room and a tiny safe (you cannot fit even a small laptop in it, but it's good for keys, passports, etc.)- the safe is free to use.
Our room looked over a a courtyard- not great views, but didn't bother us one bit. The room was bright with sunshine all day.
Although breakfast is not served in the hotel, there is free coffee (Nespresso) and tea in the breakfast area. There is a little kitchen in the hotel where there is a fridge that you can store your food in. We left our milk, etc. in there, and it was safe- nobody took it. There may be other things in the kitchen as well (I think there is a stove), but not sure.
You can borrow plug adaptors from the reception as well as iron (no ironing board!). The reception sells drinks.
Overall, our experience has been very good, cannot fault the hotel for anything- we would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Darcet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darcet

Address: 4 rue Darcet | 17 Arr., 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Paris
#93 Family Hotel in Paris
#166 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Darcet 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, modern, convenient, efficient and charming (air conditioning, parquet floor in all rooms, free internet connection throughout the hotel WIFI, double glazed windows with shutters etc ...)We are located in one of the most attractive and picturesque area of the capital, near the Place de Clichy in the Batignolles district at the foot of Montmartre.Darcet hotel is within walking distance of the Champs Elysees and the Louvre.We are close to the Saint Lazare train station and close enough to transit the Gare du Nord, de L'est, Montparnasse, Austerlitz, Bercy etc ...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Darcet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darcet Hotel Paris
Hotel Darcet Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Darcet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.