We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le A

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le A to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Le A
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, rue d'Artois | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #414 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a fantastic location but that's pretty much all I liked about it. Some of the staff were welcoming but can't say I felt the same for all. As some of the reviewers have also noted, a small flood was created everytime I showered so it was very uncomfortable. I thought a 4* hotel would vacuum the carpets daily but this wasn't the case...and my room was barely cleaned on the last day of my stay. Definitely will not stay in this hotel again.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    100
    24
    15
    17
See reviews for
28
113
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Two nights in Paris and an extremely convenient location. Very friendly front desk welcome and a helpful concierge. The standard room was small but very modern and functional. The lounge area in the foyer has an extensive collection of art books and it was a serene place to relax after a busy day in Paris. We had breakfast (included) in the small dining area and the selection was adequate. This hotel is a great choice when looking for a convenient location in Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Directeur général at Hotel Le A, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Traveler,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Le A for your recent visit to Paris.
We highly appreciated your kind comments about our property and feel very happy that you really enjoyed your time with us.
Looking forward to your next visit,
Best regards,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel Le A is a beautiful boutique hotel minutes from the Champs Elysees, and the rooms themselves are great value (we had a large room at around £220 a night through Mr & Mrs Smith, compared to a "rack rate" of €525 displayed in the hotel). We absolutely loved the room, which was calming and comfortable, and we had a fantastic night's sleep - the street was relatively quiet (except for a couple of car horns at night) and the bed was perfect. Staff are welcoming and friendly, and were consistently helpful, booking us restaurants and remembering that we were staying for our anniversary.

The one negative is the prices of any additional extras. We would have drunk more than our free Mr & Mrs Smith cocktail if they hadn't been €16-€18 apiece, and we didn't eat breakfast in the hotel either night as €24 seemed extremely steep for what was a fairly basic menu. However, there are plenty of better value options nearby, including a French breakfast for €11 and cocktails for €8-9 literally just across the road!

Room Tip: Don't go for the smallest possible room! It's worth paying the extra for a bigger one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Directeur général at Hotel Le A, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Traveler,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Le A for your recent visit to Paris.
We highly appreciated your kind comments about our property and feel very happy that you really enjoyed your time with us.
We also keep in mind your comment regarding our breakfast menu, and we will work on it.
Looking forward to your next visit,
Best regards,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and I always like it.
Pros:
-Location: 2 minutes walk to Champs Elisees
- rooms are clean and hotel is modern and well maintained.
- price: I usually get €130 when booking on booking.com (always make reservation even if it is a same day one. If you get there with no reservation, you will pay twice the price.
- grocery store/convenient store a block away.
Cons:
- standard rooms are tiny. So, bring as little luggage as possible or get a bigger room if you plan to stay for a few days.
- hopefully you won't be received by some of the front desk ladies that sometimes are rude:(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Directeur général at Hotel Le A, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Traveler,
We would like to thank you for always choosing Hotel Le A for your visits to Paris.
We highly appreciated your kind comments about our property and feel very happy that you really enjoyed your time with us.
However your comment regarding our rate is surprising as our offers are always the same for direct or internet booking.
Looking forward to your next visit,
Best regards,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Everything about this little boutique hotel is fantastic: from location to funky lighting system. It is just great! Me and my partner booked it for 3 nights during Tour de France and we could not find a better place to stay at to enjoy the event.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Directeur général at Hotel Le A, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Traveler,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Le A for your recent visit to Paris.
We highly appreciated your kind comments about our property and feel very happy that you really enjoyed your time with us.
We will be pleased to welcome you again next year for the Tour de France.
Best regards,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Le A for a couple of nights on the 18th and 19th of July and was thoroughly impressed in every way. In particular, the personalized service at the front desk was nothing short of outstanding. I asked for and was given a deluxe room on the first floor given my intense dislike for elevators and when i arrived, I noticed the front desk had already pointed this out to the staff and instructed them accordingly. But what really impressed me was the plate of fresh madeleines delivered to my room with a lovely hand-written note welcoming me to Paris after my rather unpleasant experience arriving at the Gare du Nord the same morning...recounted to reception in great detail by me! Word of that obviously got around and it was a wonderful gesture that made me feel instantly welcome in this magnificent city! This is the sort of top-notch personalized care and service that separates mediocre hotels from the really good ones! My de luxe room was 'designer cool' and quite spacious by Parisian standards and my bed remarkably comfortable. Everything including the double-glazed soundproof windows and air-conditioning worked just fine. The hotel itself has a retro-chic feel to it with Warhol-inspired artwork and makes excellent use of limited space. It feels and looks brand new though! Perfect for a seasoned solo traveller like me. I would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend it highly. ND

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Directeur général at Hotel Le A, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Traveler,
It was our pleasure to make you feel welcome after your unpleasant arrival at the train station.
We highly appreciated your kind comments about our property and feel very happy that you really enjoyed your time with us.
Looking forward to your next visit,
Best regards,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Was looking for a hotel near Champ Elysees and found this on trip advisor. Had many good reviews so we thought we'd try it out.

We had a really good experience here. Being a boutique hotel, the service was alot more personal. Every time we went in and out of the hotel, the front desk personal always bid us a very friendly Good Morning/Evening and made the effort to ask how our day was and if we required any assistance. Our taxi reservation to the airport was also handled with ease and everything was perfect.

We booked the basic room and it did feel a little small. But it was cosy and clean and comfortable. Nicely decorated too. The internet connection was very good too ( and being a traveller having a good internet connection really helps! ).

The hotel's location is fantastic. Just 7 mins walk to Champ Elysee and a few subway stations are close by too so it makes transferring to any subway line very convenient. Some people might want to save money by staying in a suburb further away from Champ Elysee, but I find its money well spent to stay here because you can just go shopping/sightseeing, and then walk back to the hotel to rest a while, put down your shopping and then head out again! Its just so convenient.

There's a good bakery Julian nearby for your delicious morning croissants and a huge supermarket just 5 mins away.

I would certainly stay here again because of the good service, good location and many amenities nearby. Thumbs up to this hotel and its staff!! :)

Room Tip: Get a bigger room if you can afford it. The cheapest room is kinda small by American Standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Directeur général at Hotel Le A, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Traveler,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Le A for your recent visit to Paris.
We highly appreciated your kind comments about our property and feel very happy that you really enjoyed your time with us.
Looking forward to your next visit,
Best regards,
Emma Charles
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le A

Address: 4, rue d'Artois | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#253 Family Hotel in Paris
#323 Business Hotel in Paris
#514 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le A 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the 8th arrondissement, interior designer Fédéric Mechiche master hands has created a “lieu de vie” in a 4 stars with subtle mix of sophistication and elegance. In the lobby, where a bookcase harbours many artistic books, you can admire a large wall tapestry by Fabrice Hyber. In all 26 rooms you will find a discreet luxury where the artist’s paintings will evoke singular and enigmatic symbols. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tablet Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le A reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le a Hotel
Le a Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le A, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.