We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room shakes with vibration of the metro!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Aurore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Aurore to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Aurore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Rue Traversiere, 75012 Paris, France (Reuilly)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,173 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Birmingham - England
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Room shakes with vibration of the metro!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Oh dear, where do i start? we decided to stay here as it was near to the station as we was getting on a train to Nice the following morning. As we entered the hotel - the staff member explained that we had been specially selected to have a large family room - 'great' we thought! So, the entrace to the room was down a tiny corridor that was pitch black - the room was also dark red and blue with a distinct musty smell! The room was on the ground floor so we had all the passerby's looking into the window. Then, guess what? The room vibrated every minuite as we was ontop of a metro station!!!! We asked to see another room and the worker quite rudely said we could see another one - this one was certainly a single room pretending to be a double room - so had a double bed - i'd say the size of the room was probably no bigger than 9ft by 6ft! We prompty explained that we could not stay here and went onto find somewhere else - i've never ever done that - but what choice did we have? Best Western....you should be ashamed!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    52
    53
    20
    15
See reviews for
13
62
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ferney-Voltaire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

I paid 125 euros for a small single room. For Paris that is a fair price. The room was perfectly comfortable, well soundproofed, and had the usual ammenities. Breakfast was excellent, with a wide selection of hot and cold foods including home-made French toast. The location was perfect for my needs, just across the street from the Gare de Lyon on a quiet side street. The staff were serviable.

  • Liked — location, good breakfast
  • Disliked — small room (but that's Paris for you)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

We spent there 6 nights for our summer holidays..we were two couples...the hotel is well connected to the centre thank to the great public transportationin Paris..the room was basic and the reception was there just to give the keys...nothing more...but it was a good starting point to visit the city and we paid a very low price (60€ per night)...no breakfast during our stay...(12 € each person each day) there's a very nice boulangerie just in front (closed on saturday and sundaY)
Don't konw if I will return there...

  • Liked — The metro station was few steps away
  • Disliked — They didn't clean our room for 4 night (we stay 6)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

Myself and my husband and another couple stayed at this hotel last weekend. After reading the reviews I was worried to say the least! Thankfully our experience was excellent. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the rooms spotless and due to the hotel's location on a side street very quiet at night. It is a three minute walk to the Gare de Lyon so you can really get around very easily ,so for a short city break it is perfect. There are lots of bars and restaurants in the immediate area also if you dont want to venture out. The rooms are small but then all Parisian hotels are. The decor is a bit strange but other than that we had a great time and at a very reasonable cost.

  • Liked — friendly staff, great location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

Because of the TGV strike going on in France I had to arrive in Paris a day early and booked the Aurora at the last minute because of its location across from the Gare de Lyon.

The evening staff was fairly friendly, but when I got up to the room I found it dirty and worn and the floorboards were sagging so badly I was afraid I would fall into the room below. The picture attached is actually flattering because in reality the dusty rose fabrics, green walls, blue carpet, and red curtains were a real assault on the eyes!

On checkout the staff was extremely rude to me and even told me not to "try to speak French if I didn't know how." (I'd been living in Europe for 3 months and my French isn't THAT bad!)

I stayed here out of necessity and even if I was in the same situation
again I would NOT choose this hotel. I'm sure there are far worse hotels in Paris, but unless you're desperate for a room and are only staying a night or two I would stay way from this location - You could
do much much better for the price.

  • Liked — location near Gare de Lyon
  • Disliked — Rooms, Staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

Not impressed with the hotel. The staff was very unhelpful, sometimes rude, the room and bathroom were small, no hot water sometimes and the hotel has strange rules; not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall, west midlands,
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

This is an average Paris 3* hotel. in every way. The room was average(not too big, not too small); the bed was comfortable; the bathroom was small.
The breakfast was a typical continental example.
it was very handy for the gare de Lyon and there was a wide range of restaurants nearby.
I would say that it was fine for a one-night stopover.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — size
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Aurore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Aurore

Address: 13 Rue Traversiere, 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,173 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Aurore 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Fastbooking so you can book your BEST WESTERN Aurore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aurore Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Best Western Hotel Aurore
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Aurore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.