We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best boulangerie I could find!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Du Pain et des Idees

Du Pain et des Idees
34 rue Yves Toudic, 75010 Paris, France (Canal Saint-Martin)
01 42 40 44 52
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 196 Bakeries in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries
Neighborhood: Canal Saint-Martin
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Canal Saint-Martin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The best boulangerie I could find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This place has amazing breads. The owner is a little eccentric, but that just adds to the charm. I don't think you could go wrong here, but definitely try the "escargot" rolled pastries. I took a trip to this neighborhood just to visit this place, and it was well worth it. Simple, elegant, and perfect baked goods.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    40
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This boulangerie was less than 10 minutes walk from my vacation rental and i love all the things i bought there. The croissant was among the best in Paris, imho. I also tried the savory Mini Pave which were absolutely yummy! The chausson aux pommes and the escargots were delicious also. A must-go if you love bread/pastries.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was truly a delight. It's located in the 10th and I recommend taking the metro because there isn't too much else around. The woman was working the counter was very sweet and friendly. My husband and I had to try a few items as everything looked like a dream! The "Tarte Fine Aux Pommes Caramelitsees Au Beurre Demi Sel" was unreal. We also tried the Pain Des Amis, L’escargot chocolat pistache and a L'escargot praline (the praline was my favorite). We were able to take our items and eat them on the wooden table outside. I recommend going early in the morning, bringing over some coffee and enjoy the flaky goodness ;) To me this is certainly worth the hype!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Croissants are incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

During our stay in Paris the humble croissant has been ignored by us due to the incredible range of viennoiserie and patisseries on offer at most bakeries. This place changed all of that! Given a recommendation by a fellow coffee lover at the nearby Ten Belles cafe, we were inspired to try what she described as the best croissants she had ever eaten. I had to agree. Crisp, flaky, and none of the dense, undercooked centre experienced in many croissants. They even had a creamy butter flavour without losing the lightness of texture.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food Writer approves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I went here to review the most well loved products of Du Pain et des Idees which included the Mini Paves, the Mouna bread, Pain des Amis, and Pain aux chocolat with banane. Everything was delicious! To read a complete review and recommendations of the bakery go to http://gypsygrub.com/

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Du Pain et des Idees also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Du Pain et des Idees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Du Pain et des Idees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.