We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du College de France

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel du College de France
7 rue thenard, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€30 off room rate
Ranked #236 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Absolutely great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

This was our seventh time staying at this wonderful truly French hotel. The owner and staff are responsive to your every need. The rooms are a great value as is the all you can eat breakfast. The street is quiet. Metro lines are close ,as is the Nortre Dame and other attractions. We stayed nine nights and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    261
    42
    13
    8
See reviews for
84
316
52
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

This is a great hotel in the Latin Quarter. It is as they say in a quiet side street off the main road of Saint Germaine and easy walking distance to everything.

The hotel reception staff are very helpful and friendly - particularly when I had to translate the news as the French decided to have a transport strike on the day we were leaving - very French!

You can have breakfast in the hotel but it is just as easy to walk outside and around the corner to a plethora of cafes. The open fresh market is also just around the block that trades at the end of the week. SO fresh, so much choice and great quality.

We were walking distance to main RER and Metro lines - so easy to get around. And if you are up for a walk to Notre Dame and surrounds this is all very doable.

Our room whilst a little small but typical of French hotels, had a great balcony and view, modern linen and finishings and very clean. The hotel is very well priced and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

Very happy about our 3 nights at this hotel. Excellent location and yet very quiet. Not the most trendy place in the world, but a very charming and pleseant place.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

The hotel is in a great position, clean and quiet and the staff are friendly and helpful. Basically, you would struggle to find a better place to stay for these rates and the breakfast was very good value as well. Very impressed.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

I read several good reviews on trip advisor and I certainly I confirm the rating. Without being enthusiastic because the rooms are small and the beds even smaller. 10 € for the breakfast are inappropriate given that you can have good breakfast at 7 € just outside the hotel. No coffee maker machine in the room. Nevertheless, the position is absolutely fine, the hotel is clean, people are friendly and the price is competitive.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

My husband and I had a very successful stay at this hotel. The room, while small by American standards, was big enough to accomodate us and our large suitcases, and still have room to move around. The location was quite good - easy walk to the Pantheon and Notre Dame, as well as the metro. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke English. Free wifi was a nice bonus, as was the elevator.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

This hotel was great. Staff were very helpful and very willing to help us get to know the area. The location was great, very central and great restaurants and nightlife near by. Although restaurants and clubs were close by the hotel is situated out of the busy area and thus quiet at night time. I would definitely recommend this hotel to stay at while in Paris. If anyone is thinking of staying Montmarte, don't. We stayed in Montmarte as well and it was very noisy and the area was a bit ruff although it did have the best bakeries.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du College de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du College de France

Address: 7 rue thenard, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#183 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#264 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiete , cheap and confortable rooms, in the oldest part of Paris . Welcome in a family business in the Quartier Latin !Enjoy Paris ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Du College De France Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du College de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel du College de France to your Saves list