We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Welcoming.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du College de France

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel du College de France
7 rue thenard, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€30 off room rate
Ranked #233 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Tuscaloosa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quaint and Welcoming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you want perfectly located and quaint, this is perfect for you. Located only a few minutes walk from Notre Dame, the Pantheon, Brasserie Balzar, Cluny Museum, Shakespeare & Co Bookstore, the Latin Quarters and several bus and subway stops, this place is a gem of a find. It's perfect for a long weekend or weeklong stay. Jesus Santa Ana is a great help and had become a friend. The cafe au lait and croissants at breakfast are fantastic. The place is what you would expect for a building that is decades older than the US. It adds to the while Paris experience. It's a great place and a great value. I highly recommend it any time you want to get away in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    261
    42
    13
    8
See reviews for
84
316
52
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had one of the top floor rooms. We had to climb a flight of stairs after the (tiny) lift, but the view was worth it! We could even see the Eiffel Tower over the rooftops. I chose it because we wanted to stay in Paris, and feel like we were staying in Paris! The room was small, but with the lovely view and charming sloped roof with exposed beams, it really did feel like we were somewhere different.
They claim 2 stars but it felt better quality and value than other 3-star hotels we've stayed in in Europe. The front desk is 24/7 and the staff were all very friendly and helpful to us. They have free wifi and we had a good signal all the way up on the sixth floor! We didn't have the breakfast (10 Euro pp) as we could eat for way cheaper from the many patisseries nearby.
Location is great- easy walk across to Notre Dame- and the area has a variety of cafes, restaurants and bakeries. We walked everywhere on the first day but there are two metro stops nearby and a bus stop just around the corner.
We had a nice stay in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012. The staff is very friendly, and never made fun of my beginner french! It is in a wonderful location in the 5th Arrondisement, steps away from a Metro, and a 10 minute walk to the Luxembourg Gardens, where we ran every morning. The big drawback is there is very little storage space -- a closet with a shelf. Although the room was small -- very French -- that wasn't really a problem - we had a lovely balcony. But lack of storage was problematic. Be sure to try the restaurant across the street - Le Pre Verre -- make a reservation -- it's wonderful!

Room Tip: If you decide to splurge and get a room on the top floor --which is very roomy. The elevator doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

as it not easy to find a good price in the area the choice was good. 5 minutes from Rer and subway . 10 from notredame. if location is important for u . u can consider this hotel. small breakfast . silent room atmleast on 4th floor

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were delayed due to weather conditions on the Eurostar line. My friend who booked the room e-mailed the hotel to let them know we were still arriving, just that we would be significantly later than planned. The gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and very available to help with any questions you might have. The rooms were small but I never felt crowded. The bathroom was very spacious considering the room size and there were two windows that opened up to give you fresh air if you needed. The heat worked very well in the room. The room we booked had two small twin beds that were next to each other. The beds were comfortable. The rooms contain a safe, desk and a television as well. A heads up should you decide to stay, the hotel does indeed have a lift but if you have bags it is a one at a time sized lift. All in all I'd definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you like quiet neighborhood during sleep than College de France is what you need. It's located near College de France and Sorbonne, the teaching facilities of Rive Gauche, left bank of river Seine, however, you can reach Notre Dame in maximum 10 minutes walk. The hotel is well maintained, kept extremely clean. The room is reasonable in size, you'll get much smaller room in London for the price. The internet worked fine at my room. There is a pedestrian street nearby that is full (!) of different restaurants, I don't remeber the name, seems like it's rue de la Harpe ['arp] (you can ask the personnel).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

For the price, I found this a good find. It's situated in a great location but quiet enough for a good sleep. The room was simple and had all the things you need. The only thing i would complain is that the bed was a bit squeaky and old. Overall, I had a good stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du College de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du College de France

Address: 7 rue thenard, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#184 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#261 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiete , cheap and confortable rooms, in the oldest part of Paris . Welcome in a family business in the Quartier Latin !Enjoy Paris ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Du College De France Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du College de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel du College de France to your Saves list