We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location - No storage space” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du College de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel du College de France to your Saves list
Hotel du College de France
7 rue thenard, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #322 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Location - No storage space”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012. The staff is very friendly, and never made fun of my beginner french! It is in a wonderful location in the 5th Arrondisement, steps away from a Metro, and a 10 minute walk to the Luxembourg Gardens, where we ran every morning. The big drawback is there is very little storage space -- a closet with a shelf. Although the room was small -- very French -- that wasn't really a problem - we had a lovely balcony. But lack of storage was problematic. Be sure to try the restaurant across the street - Le Pre Verre -- make a reservation -- it's wonderful!

Room Tip: If you decide to splurge and get a room on the top floor --which is very roomy. The elevator doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    283
    48
    16
    8
See reviews for
90
347
61
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

as it not easy to find a good price in the area the choice was good. 5 minutes from Rer and subway . 10 from notredame. if location is important for u . u can consider this hotel. small breakfast . silent room atmleast on 4th floor

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were delayed due to weather conditions on the Eurostar line. My friend who booked the room e-mailed the hotel to let them know we were still arriving, just that we would be significantly later than planned. The gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and very available to help with any questions you might have. The rooms were small but I never felt crowded. The bathroom was very spacious considering the room size and there were two windows that opened up to give you fresh air if you needed. The heat worked very well in the room. The room we booked had two small twin beds that were next to each other. The beds were comfortable. The rooms contain a safe, desk and a television as well. A heads up should you decide to stay, the hotel does indeed have a lift but if you have bags it is a one at a time sized lift. All in all I'd definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you like quiet neighborhood during sleep than College de France is what you need. It's located near College de France and Sorbonne, the teaching facilities of Rive Gauche, left bank of river Seine, however, you can reach Notre Dame in maximum 10 minutes walk. The hotel is well maintained, kept extremely clean. The room is reasonable in size, you'll get much smaller room in London for the price. The internet worked fine at my room. There is a pedestrian street nearby that is full (!) of different restaurants, I don't remeber the name, seems like it's rue de la Harpe ['arp] (you can ask the personnel).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

For the price, I found this a good find. It's situated in a great location but quiet enough for a good sleep. The room was simple and had all the things you need. The only thing i would complain is that the bed was a bit squeaky and old. Overall, I had a good stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Yes, this is the tenth time we have stayed at this hotel. We love the friendly staff and the great location. Mr. Marc, the owner, Mr. Sadr, and Mr. Santa Ana try to make sure all of your needs are met. We obviously wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

While we didn't think the price was too bad on this hotel room, it was a bit cramped with very dated accessories and decor. The hair dryer looked like it was from the 1950s and was taped together. The bathroom was cramped and moldy. When we called to reserve we were told there was "parking available" - it is located in a park garage a few blocks away that will cost you an additional 28,50 Euro each day you are parked there. My email confirmation of the booking said "all drinks complimentary 24h a day". When we checked out they tried to charge us for two breakfasts that we didn't have and then told us that the coffee we had in the morning was not free, and we ended up having to pay for it. The staff (other than the owner) was very friendly and helpful, but that did not make us feel any better about our stay.

Room Tip: Just don't do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel du College de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du College de France

Address: 7 rue thenard, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#53 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#325 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#447 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel, run by Monsieur MARC , and Monsieur SADR, Chef Concierge here for 33 years, we will always be handsome with you and happy to provide the best service ! In a very quiet street, in the heart of the Quartier Latin, discover a charming hotel ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du College de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du College De France Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du College de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.