We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good stay. Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du College de France

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel du College de France to your Saves list
Hotel du College de France
7 rue thenard, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #327 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty good stay. Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

For the price, I found this a good find. It's situated in a great location but quiet enough for a good sleep. The room was simple and had all the things you need. The only thing i would complain is that the bed was a bit squeaky and old. Overall, I had a good stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    287
    50
    16
    8
See reviews for
92
354
62
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Yes, this is the tenth time we have stayed at this hotel. We love the friendly staff and the great location. Mr. Marc, the owner, Mr. Sadr, and Mr. Santa Ana try to make sure all of your needs are met. We obviously wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

While we didn't think the price was too bad on this hotel room, it was a bit cramped with very dated accessories and decor. The hair dryer looked like it was from the 1950s and was taped together. The bathroom was cramped and moldy. When we called to reserve we were told there was "parking available" - it is located in a park garage a few blocks away that will cost you an additional 28,50 Euro each day you are parked there. My email confirmation of the booking said "all drinks complimentary 24h a day". When we checked out they tried to charge us for two breakfasts that we didn't have and then told us that the coffee we had in the morning was not free, and we ended up having to pay for it. The staff (other than the owner) was very friendly and helpful, but that did not make us feel any better about our stay.

Room Tip: Just don't do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is really a steal for a hotel in this location. The staff were very welcoming on arrival and throughout our stay. We had a standard room on the second floor facing the light well. The room was a fair size for Paris and although the decor as a bit dated, the room was clean, warm and the bed comfortable. There was a safe located in the wardrobe and a small wall mounted flat screen TV. The bathroom had a bath with overhead shower and again was perfectly clean. A hair dryer was provided. In fact only problems really were noise related. Minor renovation work in the light well generated some noise during the day, but to be honest we were very rarely in the room during working hours. More annoying was the fact that the hotel seemed to amplify the sounds of doors closing, footsteps on the stairs, toilets flushing baths running etc. As most reviewers seemed to have opted for the upper outside rooms with balconies and not mentioned the noise, these would appear to be worth the extra money or alternatively, a pair of earplugs would be a sound investment. However, one advantage of the second floor was that the the WiFi reception was fine. I cannot comment on the breakfast as we ate out because the location, in the heart of the the Latin Quarter, means cafes and bakers are plentiful. The advantage that the location provides, in terms of getting about on foot and proximity to the Metro and RER, combined with all the many good things about this hotel means that I would strongly recommend it ,especially in winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Everything I’ve read positive about this hotel was far exceeded on my recent visit. This was my first visit to Paris and I stayed at the Hotel du College de France for 8 nights. The room was clean and for Paris a nice size. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of heat and hot water. As for location, this was fantastic. The hotel was located 2 blocks from the RER B line which made for a very reasonable 9,65 Euro train ride from CDG. The staff was very friendly, nice and helpful. I did take advantage of the breakfast for about ½ my stay and it was nice with fresh bread, pastries, cheese, yogurt, etc. (oh and great coffee) On a personal note, my flight was very early when I arrived in Paris and I was at the hotel very early. While my room was not ready, they stored my luggage for me and made it a priority to have my room available as soon as possible. This is the great service you can expect from small establishment that takes pride in what they do and strives to take care of their customers. I will definitely be staying here again and will recommend the Hotel du College de France to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Paris! So with that I just want to say thank you to all the staff for making my first trip a great one!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The most important for me in a hotel is the bathroom and this hotel (or at least the room we got) have a clean and spacious bathroom. Location-wise, it is convenient. It was just one direct train ride from the airport to the hotel and a short walk from the station (with my short feet and heavy bag, slightly over 5 minutes walk). The area is not noisy, yet it is centrally located. The only not-so -positive thing I could write about is the wifi situation. We could only get connection in the lobby. Other than that, this is a good find and I would stay and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This little hotel is located right next to Sorbonne university. When coming from the CDG Airport, you can get there with one train. Personnel was very nice and when we came, the first thing was that they told us where to go in Paris. Room was small but very nice. Breakfast was good, choose it.

The hotel is not luxury, but the atmosphere really makes it up. I would go again.

Room Tip: Recommend on asking for a room on top floor, windows facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
BEST WESTERN Le Jardin de Cluny
Quartier Latin
Hotel Le Home Latin
Hotel Le Home Latin
#927 of 1,791 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design de la Sorbonne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Suez
Hotel de Suez
#578 of 1,791 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#308 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#301 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du College de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du College de France

Address: 7 rue thenard, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#349 Family Hotel in Paris
#352 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#416 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel, run by Monsieur MARC , and Monsieur SADR, Chef Concierge here for 33 years, we will always be handsome with you and happy to provide the best service ! In a very quiet street, in the heart of the Quartier Latin, discover a charming hotel ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du College de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du College De France Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du College de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.