We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well kept secret” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bonne Excuse

La Bonne Excuse
48 Rue de Verneuil, 75007 Paris, France
01 42 61 50 21
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 13,460 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A well kept secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Received a warm welcome here on a snowy Thursday evening. We'd pre-booked and advised them of food allergies for one member of our party, and we were looked after really well. The service was attentive and they took plenty of time to explain the menu to us.
Skipped the entrees to make sure we left room for pudding, and the house speciality "tarte aux pommes" with hot caramel sauce was delicious. 2 courses with a bottle of house wine, coffee and champagne aperitif came to €60 per person.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    44
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely intimate French dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spontaneuosly booked at La Bonne Excuse after liking the look of it as we were wandering down some quieter Paris streets. The setting is intimate and we sat at a little two seater against the window. The staff were warm and friendly and despite our limited French we definitely did not experience any French stuffiness. We enjoyed our dinner which was pricier than we would normally have but it was a treat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We ate here as a party of ten on a Friday night,we had pre booked as we thought we might have trouble getting a table as it happened it was not busy,we were the only customers for quite a while. When we left at about 10 o'clock there were only 2 other people in there.

The menu was not very extensive but what we had was cooked very well and the service was very friendly and welcoming.

I think this is a fairly new restaurant that has not been open long and I'm sure it will grow in popularity, it is quite expensive but well worth a try.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium, Europe
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“good service, good location, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked this restaurant based on the high Tripadvisor ranking. It was only open for 10 months at the time of our visit. The service is very friendly, and very helpful.
The menu is limited, which is understandable, as there is only one person in the kitchen + 1 dishwasher. The Oyster entrée was good and tasty but in general, the quality (and temperature) of the food was the kind I have when I go for a dinner at a friend, not a restaurant, and certainly not for a restaurant that is ranked #104 of 8,772 (jan ’13).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Small and Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had selected this based on Trip Advisor reviews. I ordered the sea bass and was disappointed. The server was the owner's wife so I did not want to make negative comments. It was a small restaurant with no ambiance. I understand it is rather new...and the place did have a lot of diners. From all the experience in Paris this trip, I would say this was not my best.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bonne Excuse also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Bonne Excuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bonne Excuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.