We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Grande Ourse

La Grande Ourse
9, rue Georges Sache, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)
01 40 44 67 85
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Grande Ourse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 13,200 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Montparnasse
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The food was OK, but somewhat disappointing compared to reviews. The waitress was rather unprofessional and worked-up, and did not make you feel at home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    23
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So good ,we returned the next night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Restaurant is lovely,nice atmosphere,staff were very friendly and food was excellent.very good value for money,both nights we visited were excellent .definitely worth a visit and we will return when next visiting Paris.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We loved this place after some difficulty finding it, the street wasn't shown on our paper guide maps. A friendly local showed us the way.

We googled and discovered this place before we left London. The food and service was to a high standard and the lady and gentleman, I presume the owners, were very welcoming and helpful explaining the French menu in English. I had the steak with shallots and red wine well done which was very tasty. We'd definitely go there again. We arrived early at 19:30 when it was quiet and would recommend that too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We feel lucky to have found this restaurant amongst the many not so good in Paris!
Located in a quiet narrow street on the 14th arrondissement, the restaurant has a welcoming, relaxing atmosphere. It is very small (as are many restaurants in Paris) and we made sure to book a table for dinner. (you can do that through the website: lafourchette.fr)
The service was impeccable. The food was original sophisticated and delicious from start to finish and the presentation and portions were perfect. The 3 course dinner was 37 euros and it was well it.
We will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Thank you trip advisor....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

If it had not been for the reviews in trip advisor, I might never have tried this restaurant. You see in this part of Paris there are dozens of restaurants all to a very high standard, and you will understand that when you find a good one then it is easy to just keep on returning, well not any more, the Big Dipper, or USA major or the plough as that is the translation of the restaurants name is just superb, the owner come chef prepares the food able lay assisted by a French but English speaking waitress, front of house, serving home made fresh dishes beatifully prepared, presented and enjoyed, what better way than to go with what the chef recommends you just know that it will be good not only is it well prepared but they also beget you involved explaining how each dish is prepared, where it comes from and what you can expect from it, all clever stuff, knowledge is power and it appeals to ones senses a great place to eat...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grande Ourse also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Grande Ourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grande Ourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.