We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luxembourg Parc

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luxembourg Parc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
42, rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A splendid spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Like a previous reviewer, we chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor recommendations and we were not disappointed. The hotel's location is great and within easy walking distance of the Odeon Metro station. The staff were incredibly helpful and tolerated our poor/inadequate French pronunciation. We stayed for five nights and we had room 14 on the first floor which was comfortable and well appointed. This was a very different experience from our first two nights in Paris - this was just a delightful boutique hotel.

The bathroom was a good size and well equipped with one minor exception - there was no hair conditioner - an incredibly picky point I know but when you are paying a reasonable rate in a four star hotel and you forget to pack your own, it's not unreasonable to expect it. We had just left a bathroom full of the stuff when we had been at the Paris Pullman Hotel in Bercy which was also good but on a very different scale. It is the only criticism we had because the rest of our stay was excellent.

The bar service was great and the staff are multi tasked and serve with a smile but they also make some great cocktails. We indulged in pre prandial or two before going out to one of the excellent local restaurants - one of which was just five metres from the side door of the hotel - a great little bistro "Cusine de Phillipe" which we had been told have on occasion provided room service to the hotel!

The breakfast room and breakfast was just what we wanted to start the day - typical delicious French fare although a cooked breakfast was a available.

There is small but well equipped gym which we used and the kit looks new.

We liked this hotel and would go back go again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    689
    155
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
128
575
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We enjoyed staying here. The people at the reception desk were very friendly, and our courtyard room was big and quiet (although my husband could hear the soft hum of the elevator at night). I appreciated being able to use their computer for free and getting to read The International Herald Tribune every day, and the breakfast was very good (really delicious fresh-squeezed orange juice). It's on a street corner right across the street from the Luxembourg Gardens. You actually look at a building in the gardens (maybe some of the upper rooms have a view of the garden itself), and it was very nice to walk in the gardens and get away from the busy city. It was only about 10-15 minutes to the Pantheon, about the same time to the Louvre (not busy at all when we were there, except the usual big crowd around the Mona Lisa), and about 20-25 minutes to the Musee d'Orsay (terribly crowded on the Tuesday-the day that the Louvre is closed- that we went at 3 in the afternoon; I suggest avoiding Tuesday and weekend days while the popular Impressionism and Fashion exhibition is on). There are ATM's nearby and a couple of small grocery stores. Most of the nearby cafes seemed to serve typical French cuisine. I'm glad that we split our stay in Paris between this hotel and Le Relais Montmartre, a good opportunity to explore 2 very different neighborhoods. We liked the food in Montmartre much better (French, Italian, Vietnamese, African cuisine, among others), but it was farther away from the main attractions and maybe not as attractive as the Luxembourg Parc neighborhood. I wish this hotel didn't have loud jazz playing in the bar in the evening. We were very pleasantly surprised to find our room already ready at 9:30 in the morning after a long flight. We would come here again.

Room Tip: Our courtyard room was very quiet. Maybe rooms facing the main street may have been noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Recently completed a three-night stay in a superior double room. And I realize this is Paris, where one's euros don't go as far as in other cities. I would say this hotel is perfectly adequate, but I'm a bit perplexed about the rave reviews on Tripadvisor. 

The location is very good, and the hotel's exterior is lovely. The lobby area was nice enough, if a little tired compared with some of the other hotels (some of them 3 stars) we peeked in on our strolls around town. 

The room itself was quite spacious for Paris and quiet. It was mostly clean, save for a few hairs oddly stuck to the bathroom ceiling. The bed was comfortable, though the chairs were not. Wifi was OK.

Offerings at the 15 euro breakfast were better than expected, but nothing to write home about. Staff were friendly in our limited interactions. 

My quibbles are mostly to do with its billing as a "4 star" hotel, and the prices that go along with it. Basically, it felt like a 3-star with slightly bigger rooms. 

The lobby bar is technically open till midnight, but cappuchinos were no longer available at 9pm, apparently because the only person who knew how to make them had left. 

So we had regular coffees in the library, which is cozy. Yet there was a radio blaring pop music in the adjacent lobby, killing the atmosphere. We could have asked to have it turned down, but in a 4-star establishment, should you have to?

At breakfast, a staff member spilled orange juice on our table while we were up getting our food. No big deal, it happens -- but there was no apology or even acknowledgement. 

All of this sounds snobby and nitpicky. And if you book this hotel, you will most likely have a decent stay. But if you're willing to make a few minor sacrifices (room size, location), you can find something close to it in quality for less money. 

We thought we'd splash out to have an extra nice place in Paris, but I just wasn't wowed like everyone else seems to be. Won't bother again. 

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our third time to the this hotel. We have stayed in 2009 (3 nights), 2010 (5 nights), and in October 2012 for 5 nights. The first two stays were magical. Its such a lovely hotel with the best location, close to the best park in Paris, nice little shops, great restaurants and metro. It really is perfect. The rooms are small but very comfortable with great beds, bathrooms- everything you need.

If I had reviewed the hotel on trip advisor the first two times I would have scored it as excellent but this time it seems a bit different. I can't put my finger on it, but it seems like they have had a change over on staff. They were friendly but very inexperienced compared to the staff they had before. Our favourite place the first times was to sit in the little bar, but this time it lacked ambiance, loud pop music playing (vs jazz), no candles were lit, and the bartender was inexperienced, but he was nice and tried very hard- I guess I miss the fellow who was there before- hopefully is away on holidays himself.

The same could be said for the breakfast- there used to be this lovely woman who took such good care of us who was no longer there. Now the poor fellow who did the breakfast also cleaned all the rooms! He was so hurried and crashing around the dishes- it was not very relaxing. One thing too, that maybe is really really picky of me, but this is our third time to the hotel- they didn't even say anything to us, like welcome back or nothing... Except Cecilia at the front desk who is very nice and helpful...I feel like something has been lost.

I know what you are thinking- wow is she picky. Well I guess I am, but I had such high expectations from the first two times we stayed here, I was so looking forward to it- so I am a bit disappointed. Its still very good- but not excellent. Sorry.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneteil, Directeur général at Hotel Luxembourg Parc, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your last stay as much as the previous. It happens indeed that some members of our team decide to leave us but we choose the substitute using the same criteria of kindness, professionalism and service.
The key word of all the staff is the well being of our customers and be sure that the frequent guests like you are our greatest satisfaction.
We hope that you will give us a chance again to show you that we are always up to your requirements.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here 1st week in Nov. Selected hotel based on trip advisor reviews and it was pretty much as reported- a very nice boutique hotel, great location great value. Did not eat breakfast in hotel but service at bar was excellent. Had room 14, nice for a couple, updated bathroom. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in November and had a fantastic stay (bar the weather). The hotel is small and cosy, when we arrived the lady at the front desk was extremely helpful and spoke excellent English. The lobby is small and quaint, but the bar serves an excellent cocktail and you can enjoy it in the peaceful surroundings of the library if you choose to do so.

Our room was fantastic. Chic and luxurious and we also had a lovely balcony to enjoy the small amount of sunshine we had and a glass of wine in the evening. The room was not massive, but perfect for a short stay and exploring the city.

There are some great places to eat nearby and the Luxembourg gardens in such close proximity is a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of central Paris.

Well worth a stay. My sister is staying there in a few weeks and I'll be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a cute, charming hotel in a great location, rooms are quiet, nice linens, comfortable beds, and the staff could not be more helpful, especially Cecelia.
In our previous visits to Paris we have stayed at the Four Seasons and the Ritz but were tired of paying such exorbitant amounts so chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor recommendations and we were not disappointed. I would have ordinarily booked a higher room category as we do not like small rooms but they were already booked for higher room categories, so we stayed in an superior room one night and the terrace room the other three. I am a light sleeper and the rooms were amazingly quiet, as someone who sleeps 5-6 hours per night, we slept 10 hours each night. The rooms are small, especially the classic room, we had the terrace room and it was nice as in the evenings we would sit out and have a glass of wine, but there is not a view so I do not think it is worth the extra money. We would not have been able to stay there an entire week, as the classic room and the superior rooms were just too small for us, especially if you have luggage. I would return but stay in a junior quite or executive. I agree with the other post, the rooms did get a bit stuffy and warm. We loved the location, right across from the Luxembourg gardens and true they are not close to a metro line, but the 84 bus picks up in front of the hotel, we always get the weekly metro passes so we just hopped the bus to the nearest metro station, also with the metro pass we were able to hop the Luxembourg RER and quickly get to other places.

We have to commend Cecelia at the front desk she was amazing in her recommendations; she is on par with a concierge at a 5 star hotel and so warm and friendly. She went out of her way to help us and her recommendations for all kinds of things were right on.

We booked our own car service from the airport 76euros, as we felt the car service through the hotel was overpriced and went around the corner every morning for coffee and a croissant at Café Tournon rather than pay 15 euros per person for breakfast at the hotel. We will definitely return, but again would get a larger room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Luxembourg Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxembourg Parc

Address: 42, rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Paris
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#17 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AvailPro, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Luxembourg Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxembourg Parc Hotel
Luxembourg Parc Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luxembourg Parc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.