We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good room-but kinda small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Bresil

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Bresil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Bresil
10 rue le Goff, 75005 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #927 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, good room-but kinda small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at Hotel Du Bresil in July of 2013.

Pros:
-Fantastic location (walking distance to Notre Dame and the Lourve
-Clean room with a beautiful window looking out onto the streets
-Friendly and helpful reception workers (however we had some language barriers)

Cons:
-Small rooms (we couldn't really find a space big enough to put both of our bags on the floor)
-Very small bathroom- but fine
-Broken shower head

Overall a very a wonderful stay in Paris and very good value for money. I would recommend a room on the first floor- its much more convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    59
    27
    17
    6
See reviews for
18
43
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Travelled with friends. We had 4 rooms and all had seen better days. The carpet smelt terrible and none of the rooms had space to swing a cat. Room security was key locks. Rooms did not have a safe. Reception staff totally inattentive as too busy watching Jurassic Park. Continental breakfast was pathetic. It consisted of a baguette, a croissant and a yoghourt. The staircase was awkward and curved, the lift outdated and could only carry two persons. Renovation works were being carried out through the night. The shower was smaller than than a coffin. Avoid like the plague!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great location: Latin quarter is perfect, clean streets, cultural people, a lot of different cafe and restaurants around. Hotel is enough close to the main Paris sights. Nice staff, which always was ready to help us. Rooms were small, but very clean and rather comfortable. Is is not the cheapest hotel in paris, but it worth the cost. I'll stay here if I'll visit Paris again.

Excuse me for my English)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed for three nights the rooms are small but very clean and the staff is wonderful. You could not get a better location in Paris, walking distance to all of the major attractions. Great location for restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was my second time in this hotel and I visited with my family. Our stay was perfect, the hotel is very well located, people from the hotel is very friendly and warm. I strong recommend this hotel to visit paris, of course is not a Hilton but for a good price it is ok.!!! This will be my permanent hotel to visit Paris

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is a very centrally situated 2** within a stone's throw of the Luxembourg, The Pantheon and the University of Paris IV- Sorbonne. The service is pleasant and a single room with shower and lavatory costs about 90 euros. Not rock-bottom. When I stayed there there was no wi-fi, the telephone in my room could not get an outside line, there was no heating (in January) and no hot water. When I complained , the person on the desk was sympathetic but nothing was done.

Room Tip: the hotel is very quiet but it helps to for a room on one of the higher flloors not overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Well, this is 2 stars hotel so one should not expect much. The value/price ratio is very good.
Be prepared that the room is very small - especially if you are not alone. The location is outstanding - right in between the Luxembourg garden and Latin Quarter. Breakfast is included in the price and this is a typical continental breakfast - not a buffe. I would like especially emphasize the service. We were leaving the hotel when the kind of 'pride demonstration' went loose, so taxi could not get through. The receptionist went with our suitcases for two blocks and helped us to catch a taxi - without him we would miss our flight. Thank you very much again for that, that was really appreciated.

This is a perfect hotel if you do not want to spend much on a hotel yet get very reasonable place to stay. I will stay there again if I travel alone and probably look for a more spacious room if I travel with a company.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Bresil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Bresil

Address: 10 rue le Goff, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#93 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Bresil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Bresil Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Bresil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.