We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peace and Love Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Peace and Love Hostel to your Saves list
Peace and Love Hostel
245 Rue La Fayette, 75010 Paris, France (Entrepôt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Paris
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

When I arrived my booking was cancelled but they gave me another room, paying the difference.

The room was very clean, the beds well made, and there were new blankets (at least very clean); the shower was clean and also the sink.

I stayed in the 3 person room. Using the lockers is very appropiate to keep your stuff safe, and its free so you don't have to worry about extra fees.

The bed was comfortable, not the best one but wasn't the worst one.

The staff was nice, and also they gaved us free shots.

Room Tip: Asking for the 3 persons room just adds you 2 euros and you'll feel safer and much more comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    38
    44
    48
See reviews for
Families
0
23
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Like most people who book here you hear some good reviews about the bar and atmosphere, how wrong was I. The reception doubles as the bar and dj booth which may sound cool but the room is that small I could pee from one side to the other which is what it smells like, the location is easy to find but way out of centre of Paris and even as quite a big guy doesn't feel like the safest area. I'm not usually to phased with beds or noise because hey it's a hostel. But the beds are a bit small and its right next to an ambulance centre and there seemed to be some gang throwing bottles all night, found the manager friendly and helpful enough but the other staff were very rude, and if my suitcase didn't stink there's nothing stopping people from street walking in and going thru it. Stay at st christophers instead!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hostel seemed to be a breathe of fresh air when we were researching; young and trendy, accommodations like wifi and small rooms (3 bed instead of 14). However, when we rolled in, it was in a slummy part of town, and our room #7 was on the SIXTH FLOOR. The room was purple and the windows opened, which was nice, but the shower was so tiny you could hardly turn, and made very loud shrieking noises when you used it, which wakes everyone in the room. The toilets are down the hall and *nasty*, reeking of pee and sprayed all over, resembling the metro. The bar is overpriced, and they didn't know basic drinks like a cosmo, margarita, or anything with more than 2 ingredients (although their pumps look fancy). Their "huge" beer selection is 4 on tap, a straight out lie. Some of the staff is nice, but one gent knows your tourists and messes with you just because he can, giving false directions and bad advice under the guise of sarcasm, but will let you walk off thinking he's serious. The first morning we had food stolen from the communal kitchen even though we'd had it tucked back in a far corner of the pantry and refrigerator, and later were told (when we came home late and wanted to make dinner) that we couldn't because someone had broken the stove and ruined it for everyone. Supposedly they have cameras, but they don't record so they're useless unless someone is actually monitoring them. They sort of let us grab something quickly to eat (after we were told everything was 24/7) but wouldn't let us up to the bar area, which is where they told us we HAD TO eat. So we ate in the stairwell like gypsies. The "free" Wifi is only 7-7, when everyone is out, and only works in the bar. The location is right across the street from the emergency station, so there are ambulances and firetrucks leaving, with sirens BLARING, right near your room at all hours of the day and night. Apparently there are a LOT of emergencies in this part of Paris. Really, we would have paid more for anything better. It seems good online, and when you get there you get questionable service, little sleep, and a shady existence.

Room Tip: Don't, go anywhere else. They all face the same direction and are waaaay high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hostel is directly across the street from the train station and not to far from gare du nord which is a plus. We stayed in a 3 bed mixed and thought the room was on the small side considering there was 3 of us. The shower head was full of limescale an the toilets did smell quite bad later in the day but were still usable. The beds however were nice and clean. The bar downstairs was a little pricey but it was nice all the same. The staff are friendly. Great if your staying a short while b

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itajai, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good hostel for singles.. Small rooms, good location, excellent vibe! No breakfest, but very cheap diaries. There's also a walking tour from the hostel to the main locations of paris.
The bathroom is very small and there's no recreation areas, but the bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hostel itself was safe and the manager was very kind but in hindsight I would have stayed elsewhere. Incredibly small rooms. We had to climb on top of someone's bed to get to the bathroom. You had to know yoga to fit in the shower, which also didn't drain correctly so you had to shut the water off every three minutes to avoid flooding the bathroom. None of our outlets worked, not even the ones directly outside our room in the hall. I mentioned this problem twice and it never got fixed. They advertise "free wifi" as an amenity yet its actually only free from 7am to 7pm in their lobby/bar and nowhere else. Convenient for them since that is when the guests are out and about experiencing the city.

All of that was manageable, I think. Not ideal, but manageable for a hostel. The only reason I would not return was because the neighborhood Peace and Love is located is very unsafe. I felt uncomfortable walking to and from the (very close) metro stations by myself at night. They're safety precautions were absolutely necessary. Horrible area of Paris.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Brilliant little hostel smack back inbetween the metro Stalingrad and Jaures. Extra friendly staff, trendy bar and clean beds. The batbroom facilities are a bit manky- but what gives!
Definately stay here- best and cheapest in Paris

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peace and Love Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace and Love Hostel

Address: 245 Rue La Fayette, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peace and Love Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace And Love Hotel Paris
Love Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peace and Love Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.