We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good functional hotel in convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse

Save Saved
You added Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 rue de la Gaite, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #492 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good functional hotel in convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed for eight days in September, traveling solo for pleasure. The room was of decent size and the bed quite comfortable. It was also serviced well. The hotel is close to 4 metro lines making access to key tourist areas quite convenient. I booked the breafast which had a good selection including a machine that put out fresh squeezed orange juice. I got value by eating more than I usually eat for breakfast and not having lunch. As others have mentioned, there are many reasonably priced (and good) restaurants in the area. If (when!) I return to Paris, I would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    378
    95
    32
    10
See reviews for
141
252
73
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birzebbuga, Malta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

GOOD POINTS:
• Clean hotel
• Very close to metro stations i.e. very close to main places of interest
• Close to MANY shops e.g. La Fayette Galerie
• Tea making facilities in the room with a choice of teas, coffee etc
• Friendly and well-mannered hotel staff
• Free and very reliable Wi-Fi
• Abundant breakfast; cereals, fruit, bread, croissants...
• Big, spacious rooms
• Excellent sleep quality - no noises, comfortable bedding and extra pillows
• Safe hotel for female solo-travellers
• Hotel is in the midst of many restaurants, pubs and theatres
• Fridge in the room with a complimentary bottle of water on the first day
• Very colourful rooms with good storage space
• Availability of many plugs to connect laptops, mobile charger and other stuff
• Well-lit room
• Safe box availability in the room
• Availability of shower gel, shampoo and soap which are replaced with new ones when emptied/used.

NOT SO GOOD POINTS:
• Foul smell coming out of shower and basin drain during my stay, in fact i made sure to always close the bathroom door after use.
• The shower is open and I hated the mess I made after having a shower, water on the floor etc...but it’s not the end of the world for many people

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for nine days. It's in a fantastic location with a lot of cafes and restaurants..very close to the Metro at three locations, one being a very major hub of the Montparnasse area. My room was clean and very comfortable. The bed was also very comfortable and felt great at the end of a busy day. The decor of the room is very basic, and if you're looking for something fancier, look else where. But, to me, as long as the room was clean and comfortable, had a hot shower, good bed, then all is well. Besides, you would probably spend most of your time around Paris and all that it has to offer. I don't think you'd want to stay in your room all day. The staff at the desk were always nice and courteous, and were helpful if you had any questions or needed help. The breakfast had a good choice of hot and cold foods, juices, pastries, fruits...etc. It was always delicious! I traveled solo, but met up with a group. There were days to do whatever you wanted, and, as a female, I felt pretty safe. The only warning is of pickpocketing...which, held true for any area of Paris, but as long as you are aware of your surroundings and are very careful, you'll be fine. Do some homework, there are ways to protect yourself. The rooms offer a safe to store your passport, airline tickets, and whatever you want to protect. I felt very comfortable leaving these items in the safe. It was very easy to use. Just carry a copy of your passport and enough money you need. There's a lot of activity in the area, because of the restaurants, and I had no problem sitting outside of a cafe with a drink, or eating solo in one of the restaurants. It felt very communal and the people were nice. Great people watching! The Metro is very easy to use and is very efficient. All of these things are available because of the great location of the hotel. The surrounding restaurants, for the most part, were pretty reasonable. You can eat pretty cheap, if you want. I would definitely stay in this hotel again...and would recommend it to anyone (solo travelers, couples, for business, families..etc.).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

the hotel is on an avenue full of restaurants and bars, a great thing for the evening, but the hotel itself still quiet.
The hotel is a two minute walk from a metro station and a 3 minute walk from central station Montparnasse.
The staff was kind and helpful and helped us a lot.
The hotel was clean and tidy and it was nice to be there.
The rooms were nicely decorated and had a seating area with a table, which was helpful.

The hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

In booking this hotel, I had the understanding that it is a 4star hotel. Once I got there, it was brought to my attention that a 4star hotel in Paris is not comparable to a 4star hotel in the US. I would categorize this hotel as a 2, maybe 3 star (on a good day) hotel. It's comparable to a Best Western, or Holiday Inn Express hotel. Came to the hotel while on vacation in Paris with my Mom. When on vacation, it's nice to get greeted with a smile and all those pleasantries. Upon checking into the hotel, we received none of that. The front desk staff weren't rude but they weren't very pleasant either. Only 1 elevator was working during our stay, there was shotty paint throughout the hotel, the paint in the hotel room was chipped, the furniture was cheap looking and worn, the soapdish in the bathroom was dirty. Overall, the hotel just had a "cheap" feel to it. The saving grace to the vacation was the location of the hotel. It's on a street with tons of cool restaurants and bars, walking distance to shopping, and close to the metro. I would love to visit Paris again. But the next time I go, I definitely will not be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Close to Montparnasse station. Lots of good restaurants and bars close by.

Very comfortable. Particularly welcomed being able to make a hot drink in the room - not usually a feature of hotels in France.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is located 5 minutes walk for gare montparnasse tube station & also has the edgar quinet tube station at the bottom of the street.

Hotel check in was quick & staff were helpful.

When we arrived in our room there was no cot for our baby however a quick call to reception solved that & within a few minutes a lovely gentleman arrived in our room with a cot.

Housekeeping came everyday & were very friendly.

Did not eat at the hotel - went for breakfast to fab place on the square at the bottom of the street which did amazing pancakes.

Edgar quinet tube station is at the bottom of the street which takes you to the eiffel tower within around 7-8 stops. We also went to Disney which again you go via edgr quinet to nation. then change there for disney.

Would defiantely stay here again if i return to Paris.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse

Address: 20 rue de la Gaite, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#222 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#316 Business Hotel in Paris
#367 Family Hotel in Paris
#391 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Montparnasse station to the south of the centre of Paris in a modern building close to the Montparnasse business district and the Porte de Versailles exhibition centre. Close to the popular tourist areas of Saint Germain des Pres and Saint Michel, the hotel is next door to the legendary cabaret club, Bobino, the only place in Paris where you can enjoy a drink, see a show, dance and have a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Montparnasse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.