We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who said European hotel rooms are tiny ??” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chambiges Elysees Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chambiges Elysees Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 rue Chambiges | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Who said European hotel rooms are tiny ??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We found this lovely, fairly small hotel through our travel agent. After a long overnight flight we arrived at the hotel late morning and our room was ready and waiting for us! A very easy check in, we quickly unpacked and set out for our first day in Paris! We found that we were staying in a perfect location. On a very narrow quiet side street but within walking distance to a very upscale shopping area including the likes of Dior, Jimmy Choos, Henry Winston and the list goes on! Had lunch overseeing all these stores and then had a lovely stroll to the Arc d'triumph! Going in a different direction that evening ate a little cafe facing the Eiffle Tower, watching it sparkle and light up before a walk along the Seine. Many little cages in every direction we walked!
The hotel served a lovely but a little spartan breakfast. The breakfast room was a little tight at times, but fortunately it was easy enough to go into one of their sitting rooms to enjoy breakfast. I think they could serve more fruit and perhaps this is European- I enjoy cold milk for cereal not room temperature or warm!
The staff was lovely, very friendly and very accommodating. One late afternoon my daughter wasn't feeling well and we found a local grocery store to pick up some soup. When asking if there was a microwave we could use, they insisted on doing it for us and brought the hot soup in beautiful China up to our room asking if we needed anything else. The next day they all inquired how she was feeling!
The room was a fine size with a lovely balcony. One late afternoon we were entertained by street performers - it was perfect!
One hint- the shower/bathtub has a shower head plus handheld but using shower head the water went all over the floor. We were warned by friends and brought a shower curtain with suction cup hooks and everything stayed dry!!
A small hotel with a familial atmosphere. Very definitely worth checking out! Also, we had a sofa bed for our daughter so three could easily fit in the room!
A perfect hotel to experience Paris!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    101
    8
    6
    10
See reviews for
112
192
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swanbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great little hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Located in a quiet street with plenty of good restaurants in the vicinity. It's not in a night life district but is easy walking to the main monuments! Quaint little bar area and beer garden.

Room Tip: A friendly hotel in a quiet street. The staff were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This a boutique hotel not a big place. For individuals and familys that like this type of hotel, it is nice. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed the breakfast selection! The location was perfect, great shopping location and close to the metro station. It was a good find.

Room Tip: Suite is preferred!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We chose it because of the location was promising. It turned out to be better that we could have ever expected. A short walk to the major tourist sites, a convenient taxi ride to the business centre, excellent dining options within a few minutes’ walk, and a convenient Metro station. The establishment is elegantly decorated. The rooms are tastefully appointed, large in the European context, and comfortable. Breakfast is generous. Yet all this pales in the light of the staff, it would be hard to pick an area that needs improvement. We were provided with assistance in every manner that would make our stay more enjoyable – restaurant options, booking reservations, and arranging airport transportation. It wasn’t just delivered, it was volunteered. The area is beautiful and quiet with excellent restaurants. Steps from the shaded river walk and Eiffel Tower. It might look pricey, but it is full value for the money. If you are seeking the complete Paris experience, look no further.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The price has gone up but the hotel is really dated. The value is no longer here which is why I rate this poor. But even at less than this price, it is merely adequate. This was one of our favorite hotels from 10 years ago and remains good in that it is a terrific location, easy access to many sites. As usual, the suite we had was large but the Asian theme bedspread matching wallpaper matching couch, was so old I didn't want to sit on anything.

The washroom is tiny with a separate water closet for the toilet. Toiletries are poor quality, an ancient looking hairdryer fixed to the wall. There is a request to recycle but no recycle boxes provided. The AC was ridiculously loud - impossible to sleep with it on, impossibly stuff with it off.

No water is provided (except for purchase), no coffee machine in room (instant powder), plastic disposable cups in washroom. No turndown service.

Recommended restaurants provided at desk not very good. Far better options available with a search on tripadvisor.

The breakfast area is cramped, awkward to move around in. Baked goods were dry, like day-old, hot eggs are extra charge, no fresh coffee, no service of any kind. Tables were covered and people piled dishes up. After we were there for an hour (reading newspaper), staff did come to clear but didn't say a word - no good morning, no smile, no - how are you, how is everything, nothing.

Room Tip: ask for a room off the main corridor for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaneteil, Hotel Manager at Chambiges Elysees Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

It is always hard to read that one of our client was disappointed with the Chambiges Hotel. We try to do all our best to satisfy our clients. But we will take your remarks in order to improve ourselves.

Please be assured that our carpets, wallpaper and bedspread in our rooms are changed or washed regularly. When we renovated the hotel, we tried to make our rooms the most comfortable than possible. Our toiletries are new but “old styled-model” in order to go with the ambience of the room, traditional and elegant. We agree with you about the hairdryer and are pleased to inform you that they will be changed very soon.

Technical problems are regularly checked by our technical service but can be resolved in the quickest way by informing the reception desk.

In generally, we propose restaurants that are walking distance from our hotel and that we tried before. Of course, there are so many other restaurants in Paris, that it would be impossible to propose them all. The restaurants in our area have good quality food and reasonable prices. Most of our clients are very satisfied with our suggestions. Sometimes, there can be, of course, a problem with the service or the quality of a dish but this is independent from us.

Our full breakfast buffet is offered (and not included) to all our clients every morning. On the breakfast buffet you find: ham, salami, bacon, 3 different kinds of cheese, sliced bread, fresh croissants, pain au chocolate, pain au raisin and baguette, 3 kinds of cereals, fresh fruits salad, 3 different kinds of yoghurt, boiled eggs, orange juice, apple juice and grapefruit juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate. Please be assured that our bakery is delivered freshly every morning.

You are right that our breakfast room is a little bit small but please note that you can have also your breakfast in our garden as well as in our salons.

Concerning the unacceptable behaviour of our employee from the breakfast service, we inform you that appropriate action will be taken.

We are truly sorry that you didn’t appreciate your stay in our hotel, nevertheless we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.


Clélia Feunteun
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, a lovely boutique hotel with a great location and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. We had a wonderful time and would go back there again. Great recommendations for day trips and dinner and resturants

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was really perfect for our short stay in Paris. It is in a beautiful location on a quiet street which is close to the Champs Élysées and an easy walk to the Eiffel Tower. The room was clean and relatively spacious given it is a small old hotel. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. I had read reviews about the breakfast room being small but we really did not find that to be an issue. My husband, my ten year old son and I shared a triple room and there was a more than adequate pull out couch for my son.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chambiges Elysees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambiges Elysees Hotel

Address: 8 rue Chambiges | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Paris
#32 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#59 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#101 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambiges Elysees Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant 5-story Hotel, housed in a turn-of-the-century building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, AvailPro, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Chambiges Elysees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chambiges Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambiges Elysees Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.