We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern if small rooms. Friendly staff and good location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apollon Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Apollon Montparnasse to your Saves list
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Rue de l'Ouest | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #134 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, modern if small rooms. Friendly staff and good location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

Was travelling with my father and girlfriend for a one night stop in paris before heading south. We were all pleasantly surprised by the hotel which while one of the cheapest in the areas felt clean and modern. My only criticism would be that the rooms are a little on the small side with no frills or luxuries apart from a small empty fridge. The hotel is just a stones throw away from Pernaty metro station and a short 10 minute walk from the Gare Monparnasse.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    273
    37
    12
    4
See reviews for
125
354
79
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Stayed three nights in December - was a little worried as had paid so little for the room but had noticed good reviews on Trip Advisor. Booked a double superior room - it was small, but it was warm and clean - the bed was comfy. Shower was big enough and bathroom was also very clean. Ate breakfast each day (paid 8 euros each) and whilst we could only have one croissant and one baguette each there was unlimited coffee, cheese, cereals, yoghurts, cold meats etc - and given Paris prices thought it was good value. Worth trying Nexis, Les Frangines and Monsieur Lapin for evening meals - all close to the hotel. Really well situated as close to metro and therefore all the sights. If you can it is well worth having a drink at the nearby Tour de Montparnasse - super views of the City and the Eiffel Tower. Staff friendly and helpful. Definitely would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

I stayed at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse while passing through Paris on my way from London to New York. After having stayed a week in London at a similarly-priced but shabby hotel, the Apollon was a breath of fresh air. The receptionists could not have been friendlier or more helpful and welcoming. The room was small - expected - but with simple but lovely decor, and clean and well-appointed. Despite being there on a Sunday night, I did find several places open late to eat. I'd highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candelo, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

This was a lovely place to begin and end each day of the seven we spent in Paris. Yes the room was small... but hey! it is Paris. The hotel is 2 mins walk to Pernety Metro station so it was incredibly easy to get to and from most of the major destinations.
Room temp was nice, the bed comfy, the shower never lacked hot water. Who'd have thought that in a wee room you could also fit a desk, minifridge and cupboard.
Breakfast was simple though each and every croissant and bagette was delicious. The staff were keen to help and had very decent english-language abilities. The immediate neighbourhood includes a post office, ATMs, fresh food shops and laundrettes.
Paris is a wonderful city all on its own, but it certainly helps to stay in a place like Hotel Apollon were nothing was too much trouble and the room was a cosy haven to continue the romance of the day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend in October. Was extremely pleased with the hotel. It was better than a two star and the superior room we had booked was very clean and good value for money. It was not massive but of an ok size. i was actually expencting it to be tiny! The area is nice but be warned that most shops close on a sunday and monday. Went to Nuxis restaurant on the Saturday night which was memorable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I originally had reservations at a different hotel in the city, but after reading the reviews here I decided to change my reservation to the Apollon Montparnasse.

I stayed for 4 nights with my wife in Room 301 - two other friends also stayed at the hotel in Room 404. Our Deluxe Room would be considered tiny in the USA, but we knew what to expect going in.

Pros: Helpful and friendly staff 24x7, safe yet lively neighborhood, close to train station, pastry shops, ATM, restaurants, late-night "corner" store across the street for drinks/snacks, great value for price, free wireless Internet that was stable.

Cons: No food in room policy, expensive breakfast (11 euro per person, didn't try it - went with crepes or other pastries for breakfast from local shops for much cheaper). Hotel name isn't clear from street - not sure if the name changed recently - but I walked by a few times before figuring out I had to be in the right place.

Oddities: You leave your roomkey with the front desk when you leave. It's strange and it bothered me at first for some reason, but I adjusted.

I suggest the Air France bus to Montparnasse station. Not as close as Pernety but it's only a short (<10 min) walk away. Easier than navigating the Metro with bags and cheaper than a cab. Budget at least an hour for the ride to/from the airport.

I'd stay there again in a heartbeat on my next trip to Paris. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay that's in a safe neighborhood close to the Metro then this is your place. Expect friendliness from the staff, but realize you are not staying in a 4 or 5 start hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for one night in September 2009, and we were not disappointed. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was recently refurbished, and extremely clean and tastefully furnished. I have to admit it was pretty small (we had a double standard room), but what would you expect for 80 euros a night in Paris? The neighborhood is residential and very lively, with a few nice restaurants and bakeries nearby. It's also one block away from the metro station. Also a velib station is pretty much right outside the hotel.

The only negative was that our room was on the ground floor, and at night we could hear people talking in the lobby and it was pretty noisy at times. But over all, we had a very pleasant stay there, and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Acropole
#193 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#71 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel de la Mare
Hotel de la Mare
#121 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel du Prince Eugene
#149 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Le Fabe Hotel
#61 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Atelier Montparnasse
#293 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apollon Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apollon Montparnasse

Address: 91 Rue de l'Ouest | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#84 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#103 Business Hotel in Paris
#128 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apollon Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independant charming hotel, L'Apollon Montparnasse offers you 33 rooms all equipped with air conditioning, bathroom WC or shower WC in Montparnasse area, near a Metro station serving the main district. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apollon Montparnasse Hotel
Apollon Montparnasse Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.