We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and Nice environment to stay in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apollon Montparnasse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Apollon Montparnasse to your Saves list
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Rue de l'Ouest | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Safe and Nice environment to stay in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

About 1 year plus since i visited this hotel in Oct 2012. But I still wanted to review it. As it really a safe, cozy and nice hotel to stay in Paris. It's take about a min walk to Pernety Metro Station and nearby with lots of restaurants and bakery that you won't be hungry during the morning or at night. The room size is think it is still acceptable and cozy as mostly Paris hotel aren't that big in size. Bed and pillow are really nice. Really had a good rest everyday when I was there. There will be a staff station at reception area throughout the day and if the staff is away for awhile the main door will be lock to prevent strangers to enter in and ensure safety of the guests. Staffs are friendly and will advise you of the area to beware or places to go. Comfortable staying and value for money. Will still stay at this hotel if I go Paris again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,
Good morning from Apollon Montparnasse Hotel.
We would like to thank you for your very nice comment.
We were very glad to learn that you had spent a lovely stay at our house; satisfying our guests' expectations is our main priority, and our responsibility, too.
Our hotel has this great advantage to be located in a safe and nice area of Paris, with a metro station (Pernety, on line 13 that enables you to reach the heart of the capital in 5 minutes), and looking like a village with numerous restaurants, local shops and bakeries, proposing to you the French baguette; of course, the "baguette" is one of the most important symbols of the French ways of life.
In addition to its ideal location, our hotel was entirely renovated one year ago, with a design and refine decoration, new appliances and new bedding in every room; in spite of all our renovation works, our rooms remain reasonably rated.
In order to help our guests to feel good among us, what we do is bringing them a warm, friendly and helpful atmosphere.
Dear guests, we are waiting for you to come back and make another stay at Apollon…
With warmest regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    260
    36
    12
    4
See reviews for
118
334
73
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were very happy with the hotel. Less than a minute walk from Pernety metro station. A nice large bed , and apart from that the size of room was what you would expect from a 3* hotel in the centre of a major city. There was a fridge in the room, although no tea and coffee making facilities. We did not see any sign of the "bar" nor was it mentioned to us by any of the staff, who as many other reviewers have mentioned couldn't have been any more pleasant or helpful.
We walked to Eiffel Tower, Museum Marmottan Monet and Notre Dame so everything is within a reasonable distance.
We would recommend AuMetro14 for good bar food. We ate there twice and the steaks are particularly worthy of mention, as are the snails. 2 courses with 2 pints and a litre of wine was about €80 which is good value for Central Paris. We also ate at Bistrotters which is excellent although dearer (about €70 per head). You need to book Bistrotters in advance as they had no availability on the day

Room Tip: We were at the front on 3rd floor and you could hear the rubbish carts early in the morning but to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear travelers,
Good morning from Apollon Montparnasse Hotel.
We thank you for your kind comment, and we are happy to learn that you spent a nice stay at our hotel.
That's true that we have this great advantage to be ideally located very close to a metro station (Pernety, on metro line 13, enabling you to reach the heart of Paris by 5 minutes).
Pernety is an area of Paris looking like a village with numerous local shops and excellent French cooking restaurants, with especially "Bistrotters", "Au Métro", "La Cantine du Troquet"… Among these restaurants: some of them do not require any table booking, and some other ones, however, do really require a booking; if they are fully booked, it is independent of our willing, and our staff always do their best to recommend other restaurants availabilities somewhere else in Paris.
Regarding the rubbish carts that come early every morning, we cannot do anything about it, because this is Paris mayor's decision.
Our rooms are fitted with a fridge, which is empty, and we do not assure any mini bar service inside them; however, we have a cold drink machine beside the breakfast area, and we also have a coffee machine beside our front desk. A drink mini bar service is, more especially, assured in rooms of 4 and 5-star hotels.
In 2 and 3-star hotels in Paris and even in every European big city, rooms size is always a little bit small, but architects always designed quiet small rooms and flats inside old buildings, historically, in the whole old Europe.
However, we can insist on the fact that our hotel was entirely renovated one year ago, with a very nice design and refine decoration, a new and comfortable bedding, and usual cleanliness in our rooms. This is what our guests can observe, when they come and stay among us. In spite of our renovation works, our rooms remain reasonably rated.
Moreover, you felt good with us, thanks to our team helpfulness and kindness, which are really among the most important points, in addition to our beautiful renovated style and cleanliness rooms.
Best regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Having read all the positive review, I decided to go with this hotel. I visited this hotel during the holiday season through till New Year. If I have to compare the value I am paying for with the experience, I would say it is truly a steal! Understanding that it was my first time visiting Paris, the staffs provided an extensive list of "must visits". The rooms were exceptionally clean and the service provided was beyond description. The receptionist would usually try to strike a conversation which makes visitor feels at ease and at home. As the hotel is conveniently located near Pernety station, travelling around was not at all a problem.

However, I do wish to recommend consideration in putting a door post. A door post meaning a sign stating whether to have the room done or not to disrupt the room. Due to a late night out, I was planning to sleep in for the following day but was disrupted by the cleaning lady. It is not a major issue, but it would not have embarrassed her if I could at least inform her that the room is occupied in a way or another. I do need to emphasise that this in no way created any dissatisfaction. (She was just carrying out her duties.)

I would also like to draw attention to all that the breakfast might be slightly overprice considering the range of food they provide. Travellers might consider walking down the street and grab a pain du chocolat or 2. This might prove to be more satisfying instead.

All in all, I would highly recommend any visitor who wish to enjoy quality stay in Paris to consider this place. Be it location, cleanliness, quality of staff, there is nothing one could grumble.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear travelers,
Good afternoon from Apollon Montparnasse Hotel.
We would like to be very thankful to you for your kind message.
This is really rejoicing for us to learn that you spent a lovely stay at our hotel, further to the numerous excellent comments received on tripadvisor about other guests experiences.
Our ideal localization nearby Pernety metro station, cleanliness of our rooms, -reasonably rated-, and our staff kindness contributed to your satisfaction.
Further to your observation, we are under the project to settle door posts, in order to make everything easier for both our guests and our chamber maids, and to avoid any disturbances. We had already this project for a certain time, and we are, now, about to achieve it.
Satisfying our guests and helping them to feel good with us as their second home is what we always want to do.
For your next stay at our house, do not hesitate to try our buffet breakfast, which is a good value and composed with fresh products, and served in a nice cellar stone area; you will not regret it.
Your satisfaction is our goal.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again, when you come back to Paris.
With warmest regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Apollon Montparnasse was a great place to stay for the couple of days we were in Paris. Situated 30 seconds walking distance from the metro, it was perfectly located for relief post-shopping or dinner! The staff were all really friendly and incredibly helpful, catering to every need (including quelques trombones!). Rooms were lovely and clean with an amazing shower but possibly could have more lighting. All in all, a wonderful place to feel welcomed :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Madam and Triad visor user,
Good afternoon from Apollon Montparnasse Hotel.
Thanks a lot for your nice comment and we are happy that you spent a lovely stay in a friendly atmosphere.
As you experimented it, our hotel has this great advantage to be located very close to Pernety metro station, on line 13 that enables you to reach the centre of Paris by 5 minutes. Moreover, Pernety is a lovely neighborhood of Paris looking like a village with numerous local shops and restaurants, showing to you one of the good pictures of French way of life.
Lighting system in our rooms is due to new European norms settlement, and it is not surprised that some guests may find it a little bit weak. However, set apart from lighting system, all our rooms were entirely renovated with a very nice design and refine decoration, and our chamber maids do their best to keep them always clean.
The essential for us is that you appreciated the quality of our services and our friendliness spirit.
Very kind regards,
Emmanuel


De : PRIGENT HERVE MR <apollonm@w
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Malaysia and United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Apollon Montparnasse provided us an excellent stay over the weekend in Paris. Rooms are clean and the family connecting rooms are especially useful. Service is fantastic, with a 24 hour reception that helped us book taxis and even print some documents for free! A great value hotel and also very convenient with Pernety station nearby.

I will definitely come back when I'm next in Paris!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guests,
Good afternoon from Apollon Montparnasse Hotel.
We would like to be really thankful to you for your very fast and very kind message.
It is both very rejoicing and encouraging for us to know that you spent an excellent stay with us, and that you really appreciated our family rooms.
These family rooms have become more and more required, because we happen to receive numerous families.
It was for our team a great honor to satisfy all your expectations, thanks to our services quality and our rooms cleanliness, reasonably rated in spite of renovation works.
One other thing: thanks to Pernety metro station, at around 60 minutes distance walk, it was very easy for you to join the heart of Paris very quickly.
Do not hesitate to make another at our hotel, when you come back to Paris; we will be very glad to welcome you again among us, with the same satisfaction for you.
With warmest regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Really helpful friendly staff. The gentleman at the front desk went out if his way to assist us. Super easy to find & get to. Good south paris location. The rooms are small & the beds are even smaller.. At 7 1/2 months pregnant I felt massive in the bed & shower. Very clean & well presented. Breakfast nice in cute underground room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Sir and Madam,
Hi from Apollon Montparnasse Hotel.
That was so kind from you to write for us this good message, and thanks a lot for it.
You have to know that room size in every 2 and 3-star hotel in Paris, and even in each European big city, is always quiet small; we can not do anything else than getting adapted to it.
Size is one thing, but comfort, very nice new decoration and cleanliness of the rooms (entirely renovated, and reasonably rated), a staff helpfulness to assist guests, a good breakfast service with fresh products in a nice "cellar" area…are, certainly, more important ones.
Thanks to metro station Pernety (on line 13), at around 60 meters away, our hotel is very reachable; this metro line enables you to get the center of Paris by 5 minutes. The 14th district of Paris is an area that has become more and more required by foreign guests, wishing to change from the other touristic areas of Paris overcrowded, and shows a certain "village" atmosphere.
We hope that you will keep a good souvenir of your experience of Paris, thanks to our services quality.
Best regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were beyond pleased with our stay at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse. Sure, the hotel is quite small, but this is Paris. Space is at a premium, and you shouldn't be spending much time in your room anyway. My fiance and I are both quite tall (he's 6'1" and I'm 5'11") and we were plenty comfortable in the room.

We absolutely loved the neighborhood. Between the staff's recommendations and our own searches, we found wonderful places for dinner near to the hotel each night. Bistro L'Envie on the corner right by Pernety Metro was recommended by the hotel and was fantastic. We didn't partake in the breakfast as we felt it unnecessary. There are plenty of small produce markets and boulangeries in the immediate neighborhood. So we left the hotel each morning and grabbed fruit, pastries, and coffee to enjoy while exploring the neighborhood and before starting our sightseeing.

Although the hotel is very conveniently located near the Pernety Metro, there's not really much reason to utilize it. The hotel staff provided recommendations of which bus routes to take to travel to the sights we were planning to visit each day. We live in DC and take the bus whenever possible, as we know that it's one of the best ways to explore a city. For us, these bus recommendations were invaluable, as they allowed us to experience Paris in our own way.

We are unlikely to return to Paris in the near future, Spain and South America are calling our names. However, when we do return, we will not hesitate to stay at Apollon Montparnasse yet again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear travelers,
Good afternoon from Apollon Montparnasse Hotel, and happy new year, too…
We would like to be very thankful to you for your kind message. We are very happy to learn, that you spent a wonderful stay at our house.
Further to your own experience, you saw that room size in Paris is never very big, but you were able to appreciate our rooms new decoration and cleanliness.
Moreover, you were seduced by the charm of our neighborhood (Pernety), looking like a village, with a metro station and so numerous good restaurants and local shops, the French way of life. The 14th district of Paris, after being rebuilt, has been more and more required by French and foreign guests, that want to make a change from too touristic areas of Paris.
We encourage our guests to use local buses, in order to move inside of Paris; it is, really, more pleasant than metro, and you really can see the city.
Helping our guests to organize their discovering of Paris is, as well, a significant part of our work.
Do not hesitate to come back and visit us, for your next trips to our beautiful city.
With warmest regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Apollon Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apollon Montparnasse

Address: 91 Rue de l'Ouest | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Paris
#86 Business Hotel in Paris
#128 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Apollon Montparnasse 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independant charming hotel, L'Apollon Montparnasse offers you 33 rooms all equipped with air conditioning, bathroom WC or shower WC in Montparnasse area, near a Metro station serving the main district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and T4B so you can book your Hotel Apollon Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollon Montparnasse Hotel
Apollon Montparnasse Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.