We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apollon Montparnasse

Save Saved
You added Hotel Apollon Montparnasse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
91 Rue de l'Ouest | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #63 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse in October, with our two children. I booked over the internet and requested inter-connecting rooms. We arrived in Paris at Gare Montparnasse and were easily able to walk to the hotel. We received a fantastic welcome and interconnecting rooms, as requested. This was great for us, as our children are 8 and 10, and it is often difficult to get rooms like this. The rooms were typical size for Paris, beds comfortable, and rooms made up nicely every day. We had one room facing the street and one away from the street - definitely a bit quieter away from the street, but it's not a particularly noisy/busy area anyway. The major advantage of this hotel is the helpful and friendly staff - they provided EXCELLENT restaurant recommendations, were happy to provide advice on our daily plans, and booked a taxi for us to get to Gare du Nord on our last day. We also found the area good to stay in, with lots of good food shops, where you could create a substantial picnic at reasonable prices (e.g., cooked chicken, fresh bread, cheese and salad). The Pernety metro stop is very close as well. Totally recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,
Good morning from APOLLON MONTPARNASSE HOTEL.
That was so kind from you to write for us this excellent comment.
Our whole work team was so happy to satisfy all your expectations, more especially the type of room you needed, and all the enquiries you received about where to eat and what to visit in Paris, thanks to our front desk team helpfulness.
Family rooms are highly required and very much appreciated.
As you could have experimented it, room size in Paris (for 2 and 3-star hotels) is quiet small, but all our rooms were entirely renovated a few months ago, in order to improve our guests' comfort: a new design decoration, a new bedding, and this, with reasonable rates.
Moreover, geographic localization of our hotel is really ideal thanks to train station PARIS MONTPARNASSE, and metro station PERNETY on line 13; this metro line enables you to reach the heart of Paris by 5 minutes.
PERNETY area is a part of Paris that rather looks like a village with many local shops, restaurants and brasseries, offering to you the typical French way of life.
We will be very glad to welcome you again among us, when you come back to Paris, with the same satisfaction.
With kindest regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    210
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
103
267
67
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just stayed 5 nights at the Apollon Montparnasse and enjoyed the friendly staff and top location. Metro station is metres away and it's in a good neighbourhood with shops and supermarket close by. Breakfast was excellent . Rooms are not large but very comfy, modern and quiet.
Can't stress too much how the manager and desk staff helped us to enjoy the stay. They went out of their way to assist in every way. Very understanding of my attempts at French and good-humoured.
The walk to the Eiffel Tower is a great way to sample Paris and the Catacombs are also nearby.
Will definitely come back when we are next in Paris!

Room Tip: Small lift gets luggage to the room but hotel is only a few stories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guests,
Good evening from APOLLON MONTPARNASSE HOTEL.
That was so kind from you to write for us this excellent message.
We are very happy to learn that we helped you to appreciate your stay at our hotel, entirely renovated for improving your comfort, and very well located.
Friendliness and helpfulness of our staff enabled you to feel good among us, and to spend lovely time in PARIS with the French way of life based on good food and numerous touristic curiosities to be visited.
You understood perfectly that room size is not the only one important point to be satisfied with your stay, but their comfort, their cleanliness and their very nice renovated decoration, in addition to staff kindness, are, certainly, more important ones.
Our hotel was entirely renovated a couple of months ago, with reasonable room rates, and has this great advantage to be located in safe and quiet PERNETY area with all the main facilities, such as a metro station, numerous local shops and good restaurants all around.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again among us, when you come back to Paris.
With warmest regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is located only about 2 minutes walk from the metro station Pernety. The welcome at the hotel is realy nice. As noted by other reviewers the rooms are quite small although there are much smaller in Paris! The neighborhood is very pleasant with a mix of good restaurants, small cafes and bars etc. One small issue for those arriving by plane is that it is a hassle to get to CDG by metro/RER via Pernety (2 changes and long walks underground); if you don't have lots of bags it is best to walk the 15 minutes to Denfert-Rocheleau and take the RER direct to the airport there; it is quicker and less annoying!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
Good morning from APOLLON MONTPARNASSE HOTEL.
Thanks a lot for your nice comment.
Regarding the size of our rooms, you need to know that this is a typic and general phenomenon in each old building of Paris and even of every European big city; unfortunately, we cannot do anything else than getting adapted to it.
Size is one thing, but a warm welcome, the cleanliness and the very nice and cozy renovated design decoration of the rooms, are certainly more important ones.
Regarding the way to the airport, we work with a shuttle pick up company; the driver picks you up from our hotel, and drops you off at the airport.
That's true, one of our greatest advantages is to be located nearby a metro station, surrounded by numerous good restaurants and cafés, showing the French life style…
We hope that you have appreciated your stay among us, thanks to our staff kindness.
Best regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Newly renovated, including comfortable beds, new decor, new bathrooms. Extremely helpful front-desk staff. Very close to Metro, and quite central to all major attractions. Rooms relatively small, yet I have stayed in MUCH SMALLER before. Breakfast is served in very quaint old wine cellar, yet well lit, and cosy decor. I would highly recommend this hotel. Also, very good internet speed in room, plus really peaceful and quiet(My room faced the courtyard) Thank you for making my stay in Paris very pleasant, team of Hotel Montparnasse

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sir,
Good morning form Apollon Montparnasse Hotel.
Thanks a lot for your nice message.
Contributing to your satisfaction was a very great pleasure for us, and always represents our main target.
Thanks to our work and our services quality, you have managed to spent a lovely stay at our hotel.
Even if our rooms are quiet small, they were entirely renovated at every level: new design decoration on the wall, new bed mattress, new equipments, fast internet wireless connection, for improving our guests comfort, without any strong room rates increase.
Moreover, we are very pleased that you appreciated, as well, our breakfast area, looking like a wine cellar with stone and warm atmosphere, our closeness to PERNETY metro station (line 13 that enables you to reach the heart of Paris by 5 minutes), and our quiet neighborhood.
Regarding room size, it is quiet small in almost every 2 and 3-star hotel in Paris and even in each European big city. Our hotel was, in the beginning, an old building entirely renovated and transformed into the hotel you know today. And in the old Parisian buildings, architects had always built small rooms, and we recognize it. Maybe in your country, you may have the privilege and the happiness to have bigger areas than in our old Europe.
However, what is the essential: you have spent a nice time among us with a warm atmosphere.
Best regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a great little hotel in a very happening area of Paris. Lots of public transport near by and just a few km's stroll into St Germain & Notre Dame via the stunning Luxemburg Gdns. The concierge on arrival could not have been more helpful, highlighting tourist maps and giving helpful suggestions. The rooms are smallish but very nice and the pillows & bed super comfortable. I will definitely stay here again, it was worth every penny!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Madam,
Good morning from Apollon Montparnasse Hotel.
We would like to thank you for writing to us this very kind message.
We are very delighted to learn that you spent a very lovely stay at our hotel.
Our hotel is located in a living neighborhood, very well deserved by metro line 13 that enables you to reach the rest of Paris very quickly.
Helping our guests in finding their way in Paris and giving them what should be very useful for their stay in the capital, represents one of the biggest part of our work.
In spite of their size, typical aspect of Paris and of every European big city, our rooms were entirely renovated a few months ago with a very nice design decoration and new comfort equipments, highly required by our guests.
We will have the pleasure to welcome you again among us for your next stay in Paris.
With warmest regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed at hotel Apollon between Oct 14-17 on a Business trip.
It was a nice place to rest up from the hectic activities during the day.
This part of Paris provides many hotels with questionable quality for relatively high prices.
Not so with Apollon!
It was clean, the bed was comfortable, amenities like TV/Remote and Wifi are working well.
Abpove all the staff pleasantly friendly and hospitable.
Top quality in this price range!!
I will for sure return to this hotel either on Business or private trips to Paris.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Good afternoon from Apollon Montparnasse Hotel.
That was so kind from you to write for us this excellent message, very encouraging for our whole staff.
It is really rejoicing for us to know that we managed to satisfy all your expectations, at every level.
We made many renovation works a couple of months ago, in order to improve our guests' comfort, and we did not increase our rooms rates that remain reasonable and affordable.
We insist on a service quality, hospitality and helpfulness for welcoming our guests, that enable them to feel like coming back at our hotel without any hesitation.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again among us, for your next trips to Paris.
With kindest regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our first trip to Paris. The customer service was excellent, very professional and service oriented. Someone is always on staff and available. The room we stayed in was small (as most are in Europe) but clean and comfortable. The hotel is very stylish, as you can see in pictures. Our cab driver had a hard time finding the hotel initially, as it is a bit removed from the big sights of Paris. We enjoyed getting to know the more "non-tourist" side of Paris with this hotel, and the metro station down the street made getting anywhere very accessible. A handful of good restaurants very close as well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL A, Responsable réception at Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guests,
Hi from Apollon Montparnasse Hotel.
We would like to thank you for your excellent comment about your positive experience of our hotel.
We were very delighted to learn that you appreciated your stay at our house, thanks to our staff helpfulness and the quality of our services; we always try to do our best to satisfy our guests, remaining at their entire disposal anytime they need some help.
In spite of rooms size, which is typically European, you appreciated, however, their cleanliness and their comfort. Our hotel was entirely renovated a few months ago, which makes it elegancy.
Our hotel is located outside the overcrowded touristic part of Paris, and our neighborhood, Pernety, is a "Paris village" really reachable by metro line 13 and with numerous local shops, restaurants, cafés and brasseries.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, when you come back to Paris.
Very kind regards,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Apollon Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apollon Montparnasse

Address: 91 Rue de l'Ouest | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Paris
#32 Family Hotel in Paris
#37 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#74 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independant charming hotel, L'Apollon Montparnasse offers you 33 rooms all equipped with air conditioning, bathroom WC or shower WC in Montparnasse area, near a Metro station serving the main district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AvailPro so you can book your Hotel Apollon Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollon Montparnasse Hotel
Apollon Montparnasse Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apollon Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.