We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed with the accomidations and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mareuil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Mareuil to your Saves list
Le Mareuil
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Notre Dame Hotel) (Bastille / Oberkampf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressed with the accomidations and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Le Mareuil is a small hotel within a short walk to the Metro station. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room was small but brand new. The bed was excellent and the alarm clock sound feature put my wife to sleep despite my snores. The bathrooms were sparkling clean and new and the shower was excellent. We will stay there again when we visit Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    100
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
49
175
23
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I agree with all the positive reviews of this hotel. It is a twenty minute walk from the Gare Du Nord and situated within three minutes of the Republique metro which will get you to any of the tourist areas of Paris within 20 minutes. Pompidou Centre is a 20 minute walk away. Superb location!!!

Staff were very friendly on arrival and showed us to the room. We had a superior double located on the sixth floor. The hotel is immaculately clean and the room was no exception. The room's quirky design and features just added to the pleasure in finding this hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was upgraded to a Superior room, and I must say it is very good sized. I was looking for a quiet hotel, and this one fits the bill. One nice thing is that there is door that you can shut that blocks any noise coming from the hallway. As others have noted the hotel is in good shape due to a recent renovation.

Did not parkake in the breakfast, so I cannot comment on that. But if you opt out there are plenty of places in the vicinity to get a decent breakfast.

Service is very good at the front desk - very helpful and assisted with getting the luggage up to the room.

Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it for anyone looking for a clean, quiet hotel that is a stone's throw away from the Metro.

Room Tip: Room 51 was a nice sized Superior Room at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

everything was just great - very friendly and helpful front desk staff - immaculate rooms - very clean and comfortable and well designed. I would definitely return there and recommend it to anyone who enjoys Le Marais area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I can't really add much more to the positive reviews given elsewhere, and would not hesitate in staying here again next time we are in Paris.

Yes, the rooms are on the small side without a great deal of drawer space so maybe if you intend to take a lot of luggage, you should look elsewhere. However, the rooms are very clean, newly decorated with a VERY comfortable bed - safe & minibar in the room, big screen TV and the "sound machine" is a quirky touch.

The ensuite was spot on, and the drench shower is just the job to revive/awaken you after or before a hard day's sightseeing. The in house steam room in the basement is well worth a visit too, although gym bunnies may be somewhat disappointed in the exercise room - one treadmill, one static bike, one cross-trainer and one vibration plate, which may be a bit of a squeeze (to be fair, why go to Paris to work out?!).

The staff could not be more helpful (we had an issue with the safe) and the free wifi was much appreciated - cannot comment on the breakfast room as we took the advice of a previous reviewer & dined at the local bakery (turn left on leaving hotel & walk to the end of the block). The beignets & hot chocolate since you asked...

Location-wise, the metro stations aren't too far away whilst its not too far to walk to the Bastille or Pere Lachaise if you are relatively mobile - from the former, the Seine isn't far away and a pleasant stroll to Notre Dame via the Left Bank is just the ticket. We even managed to walk from/to Gare du Nord at arrival & departure, but next time the Metro beckons.

Plenty of restaurants in the vicinity too and the Marais district ain't too far away if you venture further afield.

All in all, a highly recommended establishment at a reasonable price, with friendly & helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After staying in a couple of rather "basic" hotels prior to our stay at Le Mareuil...I felt like I had arrived in heaven! The rooms were spotless...lots of amenities and the BEDS were amazingly comfortable. Fluffy and cozy. The staff were all very polite and helpful. Even carried our luggage to our car in the rain. They do advertise a bar but I'd say that is a bit misleading. We were able to get a glass of wine but we were the only ones and although they have bottles of liquor I think they seldom make drinks. The front desk help were the ones to find the wine and play bartender. But they had no hesitation. I really loved this hotel. My only complaint is the location. It was not near a lot of the attractions we were wanting to see. It's a bit on the outskirts but some nice restaurants close by and you can walk to the metro...although it is a bit of a walk. If you stay here make sure to walk across the street and eat dinner at the little french bistro. Can't remember the name off hand but the only restaurant directly across from the hotel. Wonderful authentic Parisian food! Get the chocolate lava cake for dessert.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have been working in Paris for the last two months and due to a bad experience at another hotel booked this one at the last minute. Wow I was impressed - at checkin they couldnt have been more helpful, the room was excellent and the well equiped - the Night Cove alarm clock was just great.

My time in Paris is drawing to a close and I really wish I had find this hotel sooner.

I will keep the details of the hotel and when I am next booking a place to stay in paris I will look this place up again !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#170 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Fabric
Hotel Fabric
#17 of 1,791 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Original Paris
Hotel Original Paris
#136 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regent's Garden
#45 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 741 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Les Jardins de la Villa
Les Jardins de la Villa
#57 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#41 of 1,791 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mareuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mareuil

Address: 51 rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Notre Dame Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , Notre Dame / Marais , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#65 Family Hotel in Paris
#131 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#145 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mareuil 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Le Mareuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Notre Dame
Notre Dame Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mareuil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.