We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find in superb location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mareuil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Mareuil to your Saves list
Le Mareuil
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Notre Dame Hotel) (Bastille / Oberkampf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #98 of 1,774 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic find in superb location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I agree with all the positive reviews of this hotel. It is a twenty minute walk from the Gare Du Nord and situated within three minutes of the Republique metro which will get you to any of the tourist areas of Paris within 20 minutes. Pompidou Centre is a 20 minute walk away. Superb location!!!

Staff were very friendly on arrival and showed us to the room. We had a superior double located on the sixth floor. The hotel is immaculately clean and the room was no exception. The room's quirky design and features just added to the pleasure in finding this hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    90
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
44
149
18
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was upgraded to a Superior room, and I must say it is very good sized. I was looking for a quiet hotel, and this one fits the bill. One nice thing is that there is door that you can shut that blocks any noise coming from the hallway. As others have noted the hotel is in good shape due to a recent renovation.

Did not parkake in the breakfast, so I cannot comment on that. But if you opt out there are plenty of places in the vicinity to get a decent breakfast.

Service is very good at the front desk - very helpful and assisted with getting the luggage up to the room.

Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it for anyone looking for a clean, quiet hotel that is a stone's throw away from the Metro.

Room Tip: Room 51 was a nice sized Superior Room at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

everything was just great - very friendly and helpful front desk staff - immaculate rooms - very clean and comfortable and well designed. I would definitely return there and recommend it to anyone who enjoys Le Marais area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I can't really add much more to the positive reviews given elsewhere, and would not hesitate in staying here again next time we are in Paris.

Yes, the rooms are on the small side without a great deal of drawer space so maybe if you intend to take a lot of luggage, you should look elsewhere. However, the rooms are very clean, newly decorated with a VERY comfortable bed - safe & minibar in the room, big screen TV and the "sound machine" is a quirky touch.

The ensuite was spot on, and the drench shower is just the job to revive/awaken you after or before a hard day's sightseeing. The in house steam room in the basement is well worth a visit too, although gym bunnies may be somewhat disappointed in the exercise room - one treadmill, one static bike, one cross-trainer and one vibration plate, which may be a bit of a squeeze (to be fair, why go to Paris to work out?!).

The staff could not be more helpful (we had an issue with the safe) and the free wifi was much appreciated - cannot comment on the breakfast room as we took the advice of a previous reviewer & dined at the local bakery (turn left on leaving hotel & walk to the end of the block). The beignets & hot chocolate since you asked...

Location-wise, the metro stations aren't too far away whilst its not too far to walk to the Bastille or Pere Lachaise if you are relatively mobile - from the former, the Seine isn't far away and a pleasant stroll to Notre Dame via the Left Bank is just the ticket. We even managed to walk from/to Gare du Nord at arrival & departure, but next time the Metro beckons.

Plenty of restaurants in the vicinity too and the Marais district ain't too far away if you venture further afield.

All in all, a highly recommended establishment at a reasonable price, with friendly & helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After staying in a couple of rather "basic" hotels prior to our stay at Le Mareuil...I felt like I had arrived in heaven! The rooms were spotless...lots of amenities and the BEDS were amazingly comfortable. Fluffy and cozy. The staff were all very polite and helpful. Even carried our luggage to our car in the rain. They do advertise a bar but I'd say that is a bit misleading. We were able to get a glass of wine but we were the only ones and although they have bottles of liquor I think they seldom make drinks. The front desk help were the ones to find the wine and play bartender. But they had no hesitation. I really loved this hotel. My only complaint is the location. It was not near a lot of the attractions we were wanting to see. It's a bit on the outskirts but some nice restaurants close by and you can walk to the metro...although it is a bit of a walk. If you stay here make sure to walk across the street and eat dinner at the little french bistro. Can't remember the name off hand but the only restaurant directly across from the hotel. Wonderful authentic Parisian food! Get the chocolate lava cake for dessert.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have been working in Paris for the last two months and due to a bad experience at another hotel booked this one at the last minute. Wow I was impressed - at checkin they couldnt have been more helpful, the room was excellent and the well equiped - the Night Cove alarm clock was just great.

My time in Paris is drawing to a close and I really wish I had find this hotel sooner.

I will keep the details of the hotel and when I am next booking a place to stay in paris I will look this place up again !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, Herts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

One of the most important things that makes a great hotel is the service, and this hotel has loads. Staff are so friendly and helpful, they couldn't do enough to help us.
My wife and I had a superior room and it was very nice. Superior soft bed linen, and fluffy bath robes.
The hotel is well situated right between Republique and Oberkampf metro stations both only
3 minute walk. A number of local restaurants, le Chemise is across the road, make this hotel an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Le Mareuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mareuil

Address: 51 rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Notre Dame Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , Notre Dame / Marais , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#61 Family Hotel in Paris
#140 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#160 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mareuil 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Mareuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Notre Dame
Notre Dame Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mareuil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.