We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mareuil

Save Saved
You added Le Mareuil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Mareuil
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Notre Dame Hotel) (Notre Dame / Marais)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Hotel was recently renovated, clean. We stayed in twin room with 2 beds. Beds are comfortable; rooms are very quiet, not big, but enough space for 2 people. Bathroom is fine. TV has several news channels in English. A/C temperature regulated from reception desk, so it's can be a problem during summer, but heater you can adjust on your own. All staff is highly professional and very friendly, all speak English. Location is very convenient to almost all attractions: we walk 15 min to Marias, 30 min to Notre Dame, 40 min Montmartre. Metro 2 min walk form hotel (Republique or Obercampf # 5 and 9).We did not eat breakfast in hotel, there are plenty of cafe and restaurants in the area. I would definitely stay again in this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    38
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
65
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denderleeuw, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very well located (close to Place de la Republique,where you can take a metro),walking distance from the city center.Parking Alhambra:100meters from the hotel.The hotel is brandnew,rather small but very convenient,comfortable and clean.Staff is very friendly. Breakfast was ok,but could be more extensive.There is a nice little restaurant across the street,Le chemise.Reservation requiered!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Mareuil is quite a new place from what I can see (i.e. it had a different name before). This is a plus because our room was really nicely furnished, nothing even slightly tatty, brand new shiny bathroom, lovely bed linen etc. I can say that it was a pleasure to come back to, and you can't want more than that. Our room had a strange cove lamp that plays a variety of music to help you get to sleep (my favourite was 'waves on the sea-shore') and then wakes you up with a collage of music, bells and voices ("time to wake up") that starts really softly and then gets slowly louder. I'm afraid that neither of these had the desired effect on me but were quite cool nevertheless.

For first timers in Paris, for an evening stroll I would recommend turning right out of the hotel and continuing roughly in that direction (south-east) for about 15 minutes to get to Marais (quaint, small roads, boutiques, cafes) rather that turning left into the morasm of the renovation of the Republique Square (writing in April 2013) and the general messy trampishness of the Canal St Martin and the Grands Boulevards. The latter of course have their place in the big city but may be off-putting as a first view.

I mustn't forget the lovely Hammam and fitness area, a real plus. There was also an oxygenating machine in the hammam which my wife got quite addicted to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is very nice indeed. We only had a 1 night stay in this hotel, but it is great.#

The rooms and hotel are finished to a high standard. Our room was really nice (not the biggest) but overall perfect. The bathroom is really nice and huge walk-in shower and the room has all accessories for iPhones and other gadgets too.

There is also a nice spa area and small gym, but again they were really nice too.

The staff were great, very helpful and special mention to Belinda for her help during our stay.

The location is also great. Nice quiet street a few minutes walk from Oberkampf metro and not too far from Republic either. Only 10 minute bus ride from Gare du Lyon too.

The breakfast was really nice and had everything from fresh pastries to salmon and even some bacon and scrambled eggs for those with a heartier appetite.

All in all a great hotel....we will be returning in July thanks to a groupon deal we purchased!
Do not hesitate in staying at the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was a very nicely presented hotel, very clean and the reception staff spoke good English and were very helpful. The room was certainly 'cozy' but this wasn't a problem it had everything you needed including the comfiest bed and pillows I have encounter for a long time including my own. The location was handy for the metro and we did manage to find a lovely restaurant about 300meters away from the hotel that was lovely. We would stay here again on our next visit providing we can pick up a great deal again like we did this time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We bought the deal from Living Social hence the cost was great although I think it's usually much higher. Staff very friendly and helpful as I had forgotten my phone charger so they installed a docking station in my room. The hotel is brand new and as such it's clean and well fitted out.

Do explore Marais it has great little shops cages, bars and restaurants (unless you have children with you, it's more of an adult area). Don't be tempted by the bright lights of the Notre Dame tourist area by night...terrible food and reminded me of Leicester Square.

We travelled as two female friends in our 30s and we enjoy good food, wine and cocktails all in a great atmosphere. We loved our stay and will return :)

A couple if highlights included the Little Red Door, speakeasy and Des Gars dans la Cuisine restaurant, both in Le Marais.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had 3 requirements of our hotel - a good location to metro around to and from the run, a comfy bed for the weekend and a robe! We got so much more. The staff were fantastic, the Hamman steam room and oxygen machine was incredible. The staff helped with recommendations on places to eat, taxi's and lots of hot water and biscuits for after the run. Oh and the lift helped! I would stay here again when visiting Paris as it's very comfortable, quiet and relaxing. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Mareuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mareuil

Also Known As:
Hotel Notre Dame
Notre Dame Paris
Address: 51 rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Notre Dame Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais , République
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Paris
#31 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#347 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mareuil 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, AvailPro, Tingo, Venere, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Le Mareuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mareuil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.