We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if nothing better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Paris Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Paris Hotel to your Saves list
Avalon Paris Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131/133 boulevard Magenta, 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #934 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Karachi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“if nothing better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband booked the hotel since it was close to the Gare de Nord, where we were to arrive from London; I was disappointed with the place as it was nothing close to what the pictures showed. The rooms very tiny despite the fact that we had booked a studio, you could hardly move. The bathroom was better in size in comparison to the room. The balcony shown in the photos could not be used as construction work was on and hence everything was in a scaffolding.
The pros:The bed was very comfortable and room was very clean with a kitchenette and the staff was very helpful and polite, Maralina at the reception was great help in suggesting places worth visiting in Paris. The hotel is not at a walking distance to any attractions, is only useful if you are arriving or departing from gare de nord. Wi fi was free and worked properly.

Room Tip: if you want to do some cooking then i would suggest the studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your advice and we are so sorry that you arrived at our hotel in the moment when we are doing renovations.
Unfortunately buildings in Paris are small and therefore STUDIO are the best room in our hotel, large and comfortable.
I hope my advices was useful and we hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best regards
Marilena and all the staff Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    216
    173
    49
    37
See reviews for
142
168
37
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed in Paris for about 5days and 4nights, considering I booked this last minute, for the price it wasn't too bad. Lovely staff, lovely hotel. The only thing, I could say that put me off slightly was the smell of the toilets. It smelt quite damp but nothing an open window couldn't fix. It was a shame that the room had no air-con, however I loved it here and would definitely stay here again.
Great location, close by Gare Du Nord, with lots of shops nearby if you get hungry. Staff were friendly and I definitely recommend it. Overall, not bad for a 3star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations publiques at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for staying in Avalon Hotel and thank you for your comment. The hotel is indeed situated in a very convenient area next to the gare du nord station . Our staff is always happy to help you around and make you feel comfortable . Air conditioning will be soon put in the hotel .
Also, our cleaning stuff is working every morning to keep the hotel perfectly clean.
Thank you for your comments as this will help us improve our selves and provide the best services possible .
Hope to see you soon .
Stella and the rest of the stuff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Hotels in Paris are expensive, We got a room for 2 adults/2 kids at a rate of 140 EUR/night excluding breakfast, Guess that's fair enough for Paris. Our room was on the 6th floor, so the last flight of stairs was a nice workout with the suitcases - the lift only goes to the 5th ;-)

Room was clean, internet worked fine (and was free) and the hotel is located very close to both Gare Du Nord and Gare D'Est. We used it as a stopover on the way across the Atlantic and enjoyed Paris for a whole day.

I would recommend this hotel and would probably use it again!

Room Tip: The sixth floor rooms require you to walk from the 5th to the 6th floor. But unless you have any dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, many buildings in Paris have a lift until 5th floor but we are happy to know that this didn’t represent a big problem for you and you appreciated location and free services offered in our hotel.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Paris.
Marilena and all Avalon Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My parents couldn't open the door because the card had to be refreshed the stripe. And my mom needed to go to bathroom in a hurry.
We trip consisted of Venice, Florence, Roma, Paris, and Copenhagen. This triple room was smallest, but most beautiful. My room is 419, my counsin's 319.

Especially the nicer TV. Checked in Feb. 8, stayed for 2 nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pdelarochette131, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hello!

We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and we hope to see you and your family again soon!


Best regards,
Benjamin, Hotel AVALON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I travel to Paris every year and I already know most hotels in this city. Avalon is definitely going to be among my favourite places to stay.
The hotel is located just 5 minute walk away from Gare du Nord. I was positively surprised with a room size (I booked single en suite) as it was quite large in comparison with most 3* hotels in Paris. I also liked that there were a fridge and a little kitchinette in my room.
The only thing I would improve is the time of room service. They start cleaning rooms quite early, at 9am-10am. A hoover makes a lot of noise so you'll definitely be waken up by it. I think it makes a sense to do it later cos many people still may rest at this time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
The staff would like to thank you for your comment.
You were in the Studio area which are the best part of the hotel.
We will consider your opinion and we hope to see you soon in our hotel.

Best Regards
Marilena and all Avalon Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in Paris in January for my birthday, our hotel was literally a few minute walk from the train station which was handy. Room was clean, not very big, but was ok for just the 2 of us. Also didn't have any tea/coffee making facilities in the room. But there was unlimited tea & coffee with breakfast :-)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your birthday in our hotel.
We have a kettle just in appartments and one in our lobby for free.
We hope to see you again soon, and thank you for choosing our hotel.

Best Regards
Marilena and all Avalon Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. The member at the reception was very friendly and helpful! The room was clean and tidy. Easy access to food restaurants and public transports! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We would like to thank you for your wonderful comment and for your fidelity towards our hotel. We are so happy to know that you keep coming back to our hotel because you feel so comfortable here, and you feel like you get great service as well. As we have become a 3 star hotel we keep trying to improve ourselves, and we are glad to see that you have noticed the changes. We look forward to your next visit, and we hope that your next visit will be as enjoyable as your previous ones have been.
Marilena and all Avalon staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Paris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Paris Hotel

Address: 131/133 boulevard Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #934 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Paris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Hotel is a favourite with guests who believe that friendly service, comfort and a central location make for an enjoyable stay in the City of Light. Located three minutes walking from Gare du Nord, International Train Station, this allow direct access by Eurostar, Thalys and from Roissy Airport. Near to Sacre Coeur or Canal Saint-Martin, less than ten minutes by walk. Galerie Lafayette, Republique, Opera, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge are at twenty minutes walking or twelve by Metro ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avalon Paris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Londres Et Danvers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Paris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.