We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't meet Bryan Ferry & not likely to!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Paris Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Paris Hotel to your Saves list
Avalon Paris Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131/133 boulevard Magenta, 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #933 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Didn't meet Bryan Ferry & not likely to!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot...and when you do, you get a nose for a crappy hotel and this one is right up there. The acid test is when you feel compelled to check the sheets to see if they have been washed!
Location is OK if you want near to Gare du Nord but from there it's downhill. The rooms are small, the public areas are seriously in need of upgrade, the bathroom...shower room is dingy and finally it's on a busy,noisy road. Do your research....many better hotels in the area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable commercial at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciated your comment on TripAdvisor following your visit in Hotel Avalon Paris.

We were deeply sorry to read that your last experience has not been entirely in keeping with your expectation.

Please do not hesitate to let us know should you chose to plan a future visit, and we will do our utmost to reverse the impressions you had during your stay.

We remain at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Clément Lépine
Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    216
    173
    49
    37
See reviews for
142
168
37
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

A lady by the name of Cynthia Fanny (if I remembered it correctly) made our day with the smooth check-in, upgrade, explanation of best shopping areas, arranging our transfer to airport, buses to take, the do's and don't(s). The two day stay were filled with nothing but helpful staff from the reception who helped us to confirm our booking with France Tourisme and re-confirming the details for our delayed transport for transfer. Forgotten their names, but these are the staff that worked during the day from 4-6 of Jan 2014.

Rooms were great. Clean and nice. Location a mere 5 minutes walk to Gare Du Nord Train Station. Buses to central Paris and Montmarte are just facing the road of the hotel.

Room Tip: The VIP wing is suited with better facilities. Try to get Room 10 or 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Mr Shaffi,

I remember you and your entire family, i am so happy that you had such a wonderful time and that i could help you all out with your questions. Your family was a joy to have at our hotel and we hope to see you guys again very soon. I see that you all made it back safely to Singapore, if i am ever there i will be sure to look all you guys up. Again it was my pleasure to help you and your family out during your stay.

Kind Regards,
Fanny Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our one year anniversary in October. We loved it. We had a cute room. Everything was clean. The front desk people all spoke great English, and we even had our own balcony. The only potential down side is that the elevator stops on floor 5 and if you stay on floor six you will have to take a short set of stairs.

Room Tip: The elevator only goes to 5 so pick a room on floor 1-5 if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us this wonderful comment. We are glad that you could spend your wedding anniversary at our hotel and that you enjoyed the room that we gave you. All of the reception speaks English to be able to help our guests who are from all around the world. As for the elevator it does indeed stop at the 5th floor and then you have to walk the little steps until the 6th. We hope to see you again very soon, until then Happy New Years.

Fanny
and the rest of the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel is located right next to the sacre coeur and Gare du Nord. The staff is very welcoming, speak English and were able to answer all our questions. The lobby has newspaper and computers with wifi access. The rooms are a little small (also the elevator) but apparently it is normal in Parisian buildings. Besides that, the room had a balcony with a view on Paris rooftops. The room is very clean, the beds are comfortable and they even have complementary coffee and tea in the room. The bathroom is functional and clean.
They served a large variety of food for breakfast and Dragana was the best!!!!

Thank you for this experience and I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment; we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We have two different types of accommodation: normal rooms and apartments equipped with every comfort such as the one where you spent your pleasant holiday.

Dragana will be happy to read your comment and we hope to see you again in our hotel.

Happy Holidays to Marilena and the entire Avalon Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Avalon Paris Hotel is simple, small sized (my 1 person room was), but clean and has friendly and helping staff. Stayed here to attend a congres and it suited my needs perfectly. Well located close to Gare du Nord. I'd stay here again!

PS. fast and reliable WiFi!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time out of your day to write us this comment. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay and that you plan on staying with us again if you ever come back to Paris. Our hotel is the heart of Paris and to get to the most famous monuments in the country is easy by the many different buses and metros. As for our staff our job is there to help you, so if you found us helpful then our job is done. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Fanny
and the rest of the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel is very close to Sacre-Coeur (less than 10 mins walking) and to the North Station-Gare Du Nord and to the metro. Besides, there are plenty of places near by to eat.
We had a standard twin room. The worst thing about it was the light - so poor that I could not even take smth.out of my luggage without turning on the mobile phone light. And the ceiling - brrrrr. It needs to be repaired as soon as possible. The bed cover - eeks, so old. When I removed it from my bed, I immediately had to wash my hands, because I felt disgusted. The stuff was friendly anyway. Yet I think that the hotel owner cannot compensate by friendly stuff those substantial flaws of the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us this comment. Comments like yours help us to better ourselves. We are working on getting better lighting for the entire hotel, as for the bed covers we wash them daily so there should not have been any problems with that. Again thank you for your remarks and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Fanny
and the rest of the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

First of all: This has nothing to do with the nice name of the hotel.....!

It's a small travellers' hotel close-by Gare du Nord.
If you take a single room you end up in a prisoner-cell-like room.
If you take a double room, you get another VERY DARK room, with old furnishing and old everything.
SO: Make sure you get a RENOVATED room!!!
It makes a HUGE difference! They're almost nice!
That's the only way you can survive a night - or even stay two or three nights without feeling really bad and sad...
What's also important: Most rooms face the Magenta boulevard, which means traffic 24/7.
Staff at reception was helpful and understanding though.

Breakfast is okay. Typical bad fast-machine coffee (those like you also have in Italian hotels)
Croissants and Baguettes abound of course. Also some ham, eggs, salami, and jam

Room Tip: Accept only renovated rooms! Very important!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon131Magenta, Responsable commercial at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciated your comment on TripAdvisor following your visit in Hotel Avalon Paris.

We were deeply sorry to read that your last experience has not been entirely in keeping with your expectation.

Please do not hesitate to let us know should you chose to plan a future visit, and we will do our utmost to reverse the impressions you had during your stay.

We remain at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Clément Lépine
Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Paris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Paris Hotel

Address: 131/133 boulevard Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #933 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Paris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Hotel is a favourite with guests who believe that friendly service, comfort and a central location make for an enjoyable stay in the City of Light. Located three minutes walking from Gare du Nord, International Train Station, this allow direct access by Eurostar, Thalys and from Roissy Airport. Near to Sacre Coeur or Canal Saint-Martin, less than ten minutes by walk. Galerie Lafayette, Republique, Opera, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge are at twenty minutes walking or twelve by Metro ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avalon Paris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Londres Et Danvers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Paris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.