We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Gare Du Nord” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Paris Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Paris Hotel to your Saves list
Avalon Paris Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131/133 boulevard Magenta, 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #933 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
1 review
“Close to Gare Du Nord”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very close to Gare de Nord, which is really convenient if you are arriving by the Eurostar and have a lot of luggage. The room is very small but has a good shower bath and toilet. It was very clean but hot and stuffy with no air conditioning or fan. If you open the doors to the balcony it is very noisy with street traffic, sirens and lots of shouting.
If you visited during the cooler months this would not be a problem at all. There is also no fridge or tea making facilities in the room. The girls at reception are really nice and friendly and gave us written instructions on how to get to the hop on hop off bus stop. The man is quite rude and unfriendly and not helpful at all. If you are only after a small breakfast of orange juice, croissant and coffee, suggest you go to the little cafes across from the post office next to the Gare de Nord for about 5.5 euros. The area appears a bit seedy with 90 percent of the shops selling wedding outfits. So take the metro if you want to shop. To use the hop on hop off buses, catch the metro train at Gair du Nord, platform 4, to St Michel where all the HOHO buses stop at Notre Dame. It only costs 1.7 euro. We were nervous going into shops as we do not speak French, but found that everyone speaks enough English for you to order a meal in the cafes and restaurants. We only paid 80 euro a night for this hotel through Whatif so in our case it was value for money. For the normal price of 245 euro, I would expect a little more, at least air conditioning.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations publiques at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Chris ,
thank you for your comments ,
we are glad you enjoyed your stay in Avalon Hotel and that you found the area convenient to move around . We would like to inform you that air condition is planned to be put in our hotel until the end of the year . Also , we offer coffee and tea making facilities in the breakfast room where you can prepare your own coffee or tea any time of the day . Apart from that , we offer a full breakfast buffet with a big variety of products such as pastries , different types of bread , ham and cheese , yogurts and bio products . Thank you for your advice and review of your trip as it will be useful to our future clients. We are taking into account your review and we will try to make ourselves better. We hope to see you soon in Paris and hotel Avalon .

Best regards
Stella
Hotel Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    216
    173
    49
    37
See reviews for
142
168
37
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Keith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Near to the Gare du Nord and within walking distance. Rooms small but for the price you can not expect large rooms in Paris. Very stuffy, so had to sleep with window open so hence traffic noise but I am used to sleeping in traffic noise so was preferable to stifling heat.Friendly reception staff unlike a lot of other rude waiters etc which you come across in Paris. 12 euros for breakfast which I understand you can eat as much as you want , although there were plenty places nearby to eat. There is a vending machine sells cold drinks. The corridors are cramped and lift small. Beds comfy although the cleaning of the bathroom and toilet and room could be more thorough, dusty radiators and there was a empty toilet roll stuffed behind a pipe , which was there all week. The maid obviously never looks behind the door. If its just a convenient and relatively cheap place to sleep and tour Paris and you don't mind dust and noise it is fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations publiques at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your comment. Our hotel is indeed placed in a very convenient area , near to the train station Gare du Nord and with a big choice of buses to move around Paris. Unfortunately Paris is a loud city and it can get hot in the summer but air condition is planned to be put in the hotel this year. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast in hotel Avalon, the price includes a full buffet with a big variety of things such as pastries , yogurts , ham, cheese and bio products. Regarding the cleaning of the rooms , we have ladies that take care of all the rooms every morning and we try to be very careful about it. Thank you again for your comment and your information as it will help as make ourselves better . We hope to see you again soon in our hotel.

Best Regards
Stella
Hotel Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Avalon Hotel, the staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful. The location was ideal so close to Gare du Nord and bus No.30 directly in front of the hotel took you to you to Arc de Triumph and Eiffel tower. the room was spacious with ample storage and a comfortable sized shower
I would recommend your hotel to my friends and I would definitely return to stay there on my next visit to Paris.
during my visit the temperature was over 30 degrees and Airco would have been very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations publiques at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Jenny,
Thank you so much for your nice comments , we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Avalon Hotel , it is indeed located in a very convenient area , close to the metro , the RER and with a lot of buses to take you all around Paris ! We would like to let you know that air condition will be put in the hotel until the end of this year. We look forward to seeing you soon in Paris and in our hotel .

Best regards,
Stella
Hotel Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is indeed convenient for the whole city. We walked to the Louvre and Musee d'Orsay from it - a long walk, but very interesting. Close to the Gare du Nord. But it is desperately noisy, hot and expensive. Rooms at the back are quiet but small. The 12 Euros charged for breakfast is very bad, although there are many places close by to get a morning meal. The lift is tiny. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: A room at the back is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations clients at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
The staff would like to thank you for your comment. We are glad that you found the area where the hotel is situated convenient to move around . It is true that the area can get noisy and hot in the summer but we are doing our best to keep all of our clients satisfied . The breakfast however is worth 12 euro because of the different varieties of things that we have such as yogurts, pastries, ham, and cheese. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for choosing our hotel .

Kind regards
Stella
Hotel Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel was cramped, uncomfortable, over-priced, under construction, and in a bad neighborhood. Family room was a joke, being on the 6th floor when the lift only goes to 5 with an awkward layout, crooked floors, and a bathroom that was water damaged. There was no ventilation, so in mid-July we couldn't sleep at night. The only positive thing I could say is that the proximity to Gare du Nord was helpful. Paris is not kid-friendly to begin with, and this hotel put the exclamation point on that.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable relations publiques at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are really sorry that your stay at our hotel was not as you expected it to be . Our hotel has just become a 3 star hotel and we renovated already many parts of the building . Also, air conditions are planned to be added in all the rooms before the summer of 2014 . As for the size of the rooms and the elevator , the hotel is placed in a classical, old building in the heart of Paris so its normal to be a little small (although you had a quite big room of 27 square meters which is a big room for Paris) . The hotel itself is really safe and there is a receptionist available 24/7 . All of your comments are noted and we will do our best to satisfy you next time .

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Stella
Hotel Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Heatwave in Paris. No Air-con in Avalon hotel rooms (why?) - so you either sweat unsleeping at night, or open the windows and listen to very noisy busy-all-night road outside.

Shame really, cos the staff are so friendly and the hotel is genuinely 5 mins walk from Gare du Nord (Eurostar train station + metro) so ideal for travellers & visitors to Paris. Area is strangely devoted to shops retailing wedding dresses & suits (I guess) for the N African community.


Internet connection is very fast - surprisingly. Rooms are small and nothing like on the hotels website, but the shower works fine & the beds are comfy & clean which is all we wanted - if only sleeping at night was an option.

Would certainly go back at a cooler time of year.

Room Tip: DONT get room facing the main road !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable réception at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We thank you for your comment.
Hotel Avalon has air conditioning, but only in the studio rooms. We’ve noticed many customers asking for it without checking what we really have in the hotel. Anyway we know we need to install it, and probably at the beginning of 2014 we’ll have it in the whole hotel.
We are happy to know you’ve appreciated our fast internet, comfortable beds and cleanness.
Our windows are double glazed but we know it’s easy to choose when you have to sleep in the silent but very hot room with the closed window or with the opened windows and the noise from the boulevard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Having recently had a baby my husband wanted to treat me to a break for our wedding anniversary. We looked at this hotel and thought it would be perfect, rooms looked lovely, great price, hotel pictures made it look lovely and clean.... How wrong we we.

We were made to pay fully up front which I know is standard practice in most places but has we seen the room we would of walked out and found elsewhere. We paid €436 for 4 nights-the first room was so small, dark and dirty looking, no way you could get your bag in there never mind two people!! We were then offered another room-the lesser of two evils, room had mildew in the shower, broken tiles around the toilet, dirty tissues in the cupboards and it was so hot you couldn't open the windows as its on the main road, after a sleepless night, i asked at reception for a fan and basically got laughed at!! I emailed the manager to complain, after breakfast ( which is very nice-the only good thing about our stay) we were moved to a studio room. This room was bigger and had air con which we thought was brilliant....until the air con unit that was in the roof above the bathroom started leaking over all our stuff!! Regularly we got wet from this unit-we told recovering but no one seemed to care!
To top it all off I then received an email from the head of reception which basically said we should just deal with being uncomfortable as the staff are dealing with it-my answer is they are not paying to stay there and a fan that costs around £10 would of helped the situation.

Very poor attitude from the hotel, they didn't even offer to refund us anything as an apology as this hotel was ridiculously over prices feel they have completely ripped us off-this was far away from the romantic break we wanted to have. Ruined our stay completely!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres133, Responsable réception at Avalon Paris Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear customer,
When we received your 1st email, we immediately ask the from office staff to change your room.
You originally booked a standard room; 105,90€ BB, which is a good deal for a 3* hotel
You have been upgraded for free in the studio room, as we wanted to make your stay enjoyable.
Unfortunately, you inform us about water coming from air-conditioning (we checked that during the day but we haven’t seen any water leaking).
You have a number of ways to check the standard of our hotel on internet, by reading customer comments or checking ratings. The photos from our hotel have been done last year by professional; you have also non professional photos on TRIPADVISOR.
You could also ask for a refund; what we accept if you decide to check out even you paid in advance.
We are sorry if you did not have the standard you’ve expected.
Once again, please accept our apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Paris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Paris Hotel

Address: 131/133 boulevard Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #933 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Paris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Hotel is a favourite with guests who believe that friendly service, comfort and a central location make for an enjoyable stay in the City of Light. Located three minutes walking from Gare du Nord, International Train Station, this allow direct access by Eurostar, Thalys and from Roissy Airport. Near to Sacre Coeur or Canal Saint-Martin, less than ten minutes by walk. Galerie Lafayette, Republique, Opera, Pigalle and Moulin Rouge are at twenty minutes walking or twelve by Metro ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Avalon Paris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Londres Et Danvers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Paris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.