We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for sleep but otherwise poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel International to your Saves list
Hotel International
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Auguste-Barbier | 11 Arr., 75011 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #797 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London, England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“OK for sleep but otherwise poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

I was in this area of Paris for 2 nights on business and stayed here. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, and the hotel was reasonably quiet, so sleep quality was good. However, the bathroom looked awful - with a peeling ceiling, stained wall, broke shelf and no shower curtain or screen. The room lacked several of the advertised facilities, and two of the lights did not work. Most channels on the TV did not work, and phone signal reception was poor.
So, if you just want somewhere reasonably priced in the 11th Arr. to sleep then this place is OK. If you want more from a hotel in Paris look elsewhere

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    205
    70
    34
    25
See reviews for
61
159
39
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Very nice welcome at reception and all my stay (3 days) very helpful and friendly staff. Room is small, but for Paris ok, clean. Wallpapers are a bit older (peel off the wall).The walls are "thin", so you can hear noises from outside. Hotel is in a small quiet street, close to the metro station. Just at the corner of the restaurant, so in the night you can hear the conversations... but it was bearable (I am a light sleeper). Wifi works all the time perfect. Breakfast is for extra 9 EUR, a bit small for the the price. But overall, I suggest, it is fine.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

At 60 eur per night, it was one of the cheapest places available in inner Paris. Budget family hotels tend to be very dodgy in Paris so I was expecting for the worst. However I was pleasently surprised.

- Location is good. Safe (important nowadays in Paris) residential area but steps away from République which is an interesting area by itself and very handy for the Métro or even walking to the center (30 min walk to Notre Dame)

- Staff was surprisingly friendly for this kind of hotel in Paris.

- My room was quite big and airy.

- On the minus side, decoration tends to be old furniture and you can see some humidity stains in the bath. Wifi is free but it could be a bit unreliable. But those are minor issues considering the price for a city as expensive as Paris.

Of course for a higher budget you can get way better options, but for that range of price, it is perfectly convenient.

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Great find, value for money with great location - close to 2 metro stations, restaurants, bars, and the Canal. We stayed at the hotel for 8 nights, and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was small but functional with confortable beds, and the bathroom was ok (but it could use a shelf and a shower curtain). And everything was clean. The only negative thing was the shower because of the wall support that didn't match, so we had to tie something to keep it up in place.
We'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed at Hotel International for 3 nights. Everyone was very helpful and polite and we were allowed to leave our luggage there after having checked out. The room was a bit small but compared to other options it was definitely value for money.

The area is very interesting, lots of bars and places to eat and very close to central paris.

I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Hotel is very small quarters which is standard for European hotels. Front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was clean. Close to the metro. About a €50 cab ride from the airport. The room is not one to hang out in as there is literally only room for the beds and there is only three outlets in the room and a very small lift.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is wonderful. We were amazed at the value for money. The checking-in process was easy, as was their baggage holding policy. Our room was small but ideal - entirely suitable for our needs, with a bathroom. It was clean, there was maid service every morning and the beds were comfortable. The staff were friendly and we had Wifi! The best thing is the location - we were between three metro stations and the Place de la République. Avenue Parmentier also has some great restaurants. It's also ideally situated for Gare du Nord - only three stops - making it really useful for Eurostar travel.
Slight irritation is that the maids were very noisy in the morning and woke us up once or twice! Other than that, everything perfect - thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International

Address: 6 rue Auguste-Barbier | 11 Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #797 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel International 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely hotel is recognized for the warmth of our welcoming staff, and offers its 37 comfortable rooms which all include a bathroom with a bathtub or a shower, private toilet amenities, telephone and TV. We are located in a very quiet blind street, very close to the historical center (5 min by metro). We will assist you in finding the entertainment high spots of this district much in vogue within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Paris
Hotel International Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.