We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautifull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 boulevard de Magenta | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,364 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautifull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, friendly people and staff. The location is good, in Republique place. Many restaurants. The metro in front of the hotel. The wifi is free ad speed. The breakfst is good. I will come again with my girlfriend

Room Tip: The prices are cheaper on the website of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    33
    15
    22
See reviews for
34
39
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copthornw
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here for three nights, rooms were cramped but nice apart from the fact the bed sheets didn't get changed in the time we stayed. Also there was minor light on the stairs - serious health and safety issue. Breakfast was nice but very cramped with only a few seats.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed here with some friends, whilst out and about on the Saturday our rooms had been cleaned and money was taken from the room. The manager? (not much of one) said it could not be his staff and then proceeded to get quite irate, he then started accusing my room mates of taking the money!! we asked that we have the number of the local police station to report the crime, he then said he didnt know the number, we asked if he could fine out, he said no and told us to use our phones to find it out. The rooms have black carpets that seem to never get a vacuum, and the beds have plastic sheets that crinkle when you move. Its also extremely noisy even in the early morning. Please only stay here if you are desperate!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager E, Gérant at Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear guests,

We are very surprised by your accusations that we reject because you had 2 options for safekeeping your documents and money:

- Put your documents and money in the safe with password provided in your room for free
- Put your documents and money in the safe of the reception for free

It is important to remember that you were not alone in your room, and you were with 3 roommates. Also, you have written 2 reviews on Tripadvisor regarding the same room, the same booking and the same problem: "Do not stay here unless your desperate", "Terrible experience".

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed in a very cramped room (photos are extremely misleading) with three friends for a nice weekend in Paris, but although the hotel is well-situated the staff are rude and we had a terrible experience. We were out all day Saturday and returned to our room to find the room had been cleaned, but money had been stolen from one of my friends! The manager was very accusatory and basically told my friend that one of us (her friends) had stolen the money! Don't stay at this hotel...rude and untrustworthy staff, plus the rooms are very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager E, Gérant at Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Same response because the previous review is from the same guest:

Dear guests,

We are very surprised by your accusations that we reject because you had 2 options for safekeeping your documents and money:

- Put your documents and money in the safe with password provided in your room for free
- Put your documents and money in the safe of the reception for free

It is important to remember that you were not alone in your room, and you were with 3 roommates. Also, you have written 2 reviews on Tripadvisor regarding the same room, the same booking and the same problem: "Do not stay here unless your desperate", "Terrible experience".

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The pictures certainly show the best of this hotel but don't do it justice. We stayed for three nights and had a good stay but a couple of complaints. Disappointed with the size of the bathroom - the toilet was crammed in one corner, the shower in the other, with the sink in the middle and little space to stand, let alone walk. The beds weren't long enough - I'm 5 ft 7 and my feet hung out the end! On the whole, the room was clean and enough space for our luggage, but was far too dark (because of the black/white decor). Staff were a lot more friendly than others suggest, despite our inability to speak French. We asked where we could print out some tickets and they happily printed them for us - very good service! Excellent location, situated between two metro stops and plenty of shops/cafes etc. While there are better hotels in the area, there sure as hell are a lot worse!

Room Tip: Don't sleep with windows open, as despite the heat from the room at night, the outside noise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Rude staff with a very low service standard, Rooms are small and too expensive for what you get. We booked a room for 3 persons but could only get breakfast for one person. We had to pay aditionally for the breakfast for the others (!!?????) which was 10€ each for a buffet that was empty (30 minutes after it opened. When we asked why we had to pay extra the receptionist didn't even bother to explain and was also too lazy to get more food. Conclusively, not worth visiting unless you like to piss away your money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hotel Staff both am and pm very rude. They do not know what Customer service is. Was billed for room and when the clerk tried to give me my room key; suddenly room not available. I had to call my US Bank and cancel transaction; since no manager seems to ever be on site; whom according to clerk is the only person authorized to reverse charge. In my opinion I sensed fraud.

I ended up staying in my traveling companion's room / a double bed, and there was an extra charge for a downgrade from queen to double bed. His room was a queen.

The rooms are tiny, elevator tiny, floors don't ever seemed to be vacuumed; general area very noisy. I HIGLY do not recommend anyone stay at this property. Price may be cheap for Paris standards but my experience was HORRIBLE there. The rude treatment from Staff alone; is a reason NOT to stay.

Room Tip: avoid property / not worth low quality rooms or rude staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique

Address: 4 boulevard de Magenta | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,364 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the 10th district of Paris, Hotel Exposition République is located in Place de la République, a stone's throw from the Marais quarter, Place de la Bastille and major department stores. Hotel Exposition offers comfortable, soundproof rooms some of which include a balcony. They are all equipped with satellite LCD TV and Wi-Fi access. The professional staff is on hand to ensure you have a pleasant stay in Paris. 24/7, Phone, Safe, Wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Exposition
De l Exposition Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.