We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to lay your head...... but that's about it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Paris XI Bastille

Save Saved
You added Campanile Paris XI Bastille to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Campanile Paris XI Bastille
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 rue du Chemin Vert | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #720 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place to lay your head...... but that's about it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The location of this Hotel is perfect for the traveler who wants to discover Paris. It's very close to 3 separate Metro lines which means you are never more than 20 minutes from most of the main sites. The Hotel itself is very basic where the expression 'you can barely swing a cat' comes to mind when describing the rooms. Saying that the rooms were warm and very clean and again are perfect if you are just going to use them to rest at night. The breakfast is decent enough and a perfect way to start the day. I have to say my experience of the male receptionist was very poor. When we arrived it took him nearly a minute to even acknowledge us even though we were standing right in front of him. Even then his attitude was such that we felt as if we should apologize for disrupting him. It was a very bad first impression.
Overall the location itself would be the main reason for recommending this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    305
    121
    37
    21
See reviews for
136
189
22
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Unless you go to the outrageously expensive kind, Paris hotels almost never offer value for money. This one is no exception. The rooms are tiny (the beds cover 50% of your room space), the materials are the cheapest imaginable, the walls can use a new coat of paint, the hallways look like you're in a nursing home. And you get all this for about 90 euro a night (which in Paris is not such a bad deal).
And hey, it's clean, the beds are ok, the water is hot, the staff is friendly (by Parisian standards), and it's very conventiently located just a couple dozen of meters from not one but two subway stations, and a 5 minute walk from place de la République and the opera. So if you need just a place to take a shower and crash at night after exploring one of the greatest cities on earth, you might as well pick this one.
As I said: no reason to go there, no reason to stay away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Not much to say about this place.

It was clean, there was free wifi, and unusually for Paris, had tea and coffee making facilities, although the paper cups were a bit rubbish.

The room was a bit dark and dingy, with no view to speak of, but had everything we needed.

The front desk gave us an estimated time for the shuttle to the airport which turned out to be a bum steer. Traveling in rush hour traffic, and picking up from another hotel on the way, we arrived at Charles de Gaulle with very little time to spare and with my non-European passport I didn't make it through security in time before my flight closed.

We chose the place because of the location, primarily, so might look for somewhere else nearby next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October. We travelled by Eurostar to Garde du Nor and found the hotel quite easy to get to it by Metro. The hotel itself is in a very good location, within walking distance of Notre Dame and Metros. We had an easy chcek in by a a very polite male receptionist. The room, although a little small was quite adequate as we were out most the day, just coming back to get changed to go out in the evening. The hotel was very clean as was the room and the towels were changed each day. We had breakfast each day as members of our family, including two grandchildren were also staying at the hotel. There was a good selection of cereals, yoghurts, cheese, ham, a selection of breads, croisants etc. Plenty to set you up for a mornings sightseeing. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a surprise this accommodation was! When we arrived at Campanile in Bastille, we were welcomed by a very helpful lovely lady called Teresa,who went out of her way to make us feel important during our short stay of only 2 nights on Oct 5 & 6 of 2012.
We had booked two nights via the internet some months ago, as the rates were excellent, as well as most reviews were highly recommend it.
We had a lovely room on level 3,with a beautiful view of the rear garden, very clean and comfortable.
The actual accommodation is close to all amenities, with a supermarket just opposite, the metro station & restaurants only 5-7 minutes walk, plus the addition of beautiful Bastille, not far away from Paris itself.
So fellow travelers, what else can I tell you, except do yourself a big favour & check this budget place out, I know YOU`LL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED, we will definitely be staying there next time we visit .... 10/10 so there!! Ross & Judith Saliba (Melb.Australia)

Room Tip: Third floor facing south / and remember to ask for a garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

It was a very nice stay at this little hotel in Bastille. Rooms are small (very common in Paris), but quite clean and new (no so common in Paris). Breakfast is expensive, so you can avoid it. There are plenty of bars to have petit-dejeneur within a short walk around hte hotel. Quality sleep is OK, bathroom was confortable and nice. Good shower ! On block away from a Metro station. Nightlife bars, restaurants and pubs 4/5 blocks away, easily walkable @ late night.
I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed in this great hotel from 30th Sept to 4th Oct 2012 with my DD in a twin room without breakfast.
It's a lovely clean hotel and very central to everywhere with the Metro being so close. We used Breguet Sabin station two mins away and were able to get everywhere we wanted to go easily.
The beds were a little uncomfy and there was only one spare pillow for the two beds but on the whole this place was very good-excellent. The shower was fab and the maids came regularly if you wanted them to.
Breakfast was quite expensive at 9.50 euros each. We didn't bother and went to the supermarket over the road and got pain au chocolat (10 for 2.50 euros) but you could easily get something whilst you were out and about anyway.
Would definitely recommend this place and would stay again if we were to visit Paris again.
Tres Bon!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Campanile Paris XI Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Paris XI Bastille

Address: 9 rue du Chemin Vert | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#417 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Paris XI Bastille 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Campanile Paris XI Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Paris Xi Bastille Hotel Paris
Campanile Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Paris XI Bastille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.