We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 Star Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille to your Saves list
Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Rue Du Chemin Vert, 75011 Paris, France (Bastille / Oberkampf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #810 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good 3 Star Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Front desk staff were good, check in service and enquires with Lorenz especially. The rooms are of modern design but simple and quite small. No fridge or safety box in the room. The free internet worked okay. No English TV channels which was disappointing considering France is an international travel destination. Hotel is close to 2 Metro stations where you can then easily navigate the entire city. There are cafe's nearby and a supermarket just across the road. Good 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    391
    155
    45
    25
See reviews for
187
257
31
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland west
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of September. I was travelling with my Dad, we had requested a twin room,when checking into the hotel, there was a short delay but on the plus side we got upgraded to a larger family room. The room was quite big, 2 single beds and 1 double, more than enough space for 2 people. Everything was spotless and room was cleaned to a very high standard everyday. Air conditioning was fantastic, it was approx 27-30 degrees when we stayed and it was so nice to come back to a cool room after a day of sightseeing. The metro station Bruget- Sabin is about a 2 minute walk from the hotel and Chemin Vert about 5 min. There is a supermarket across the road and a larger one about 5 min away. There are many nice restaurants in the area. Overall I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Paris. For 3 nights accommodation without breakfast we paid £192 ( €230) and with budget flights for £40, this was a very inexpensive trip to one of the most beautiful cities in the world.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stay in this hotel for 3 night end of the August. Good location, friendly staff, specialy receptionis (sorry forgot name, hi is originaly german), the value for money. Bad point: chambermaid came in the room with no knoking in half an hours after we was checked in. Well we were not naked before taking a shower.

Room Tip: Room on 6th floor with balcony - comfortable for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel was the first one for some time where I ignored the reviews of tripadvisor in order to make the other party with us happy. Had I not done so!. The room for myself with four children was way to small, nowhere to hang things up, itstank of smoke in spite of the warnings everywhere. The shower, updated for wheelchairs, was for us without them unpleasant as the water coninually ran everywhere there being no separation between shower and the other area. As we arrived the price that I had been quoted moths earler was immediately challenged in an agressive manner- if i was the manager this person would not be working anymore in this hotel. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My friend stayed at Campanile in the middle of August, in peak season and were really surprised by the cheap price for a hotel in such a good location - £63 per night for the first two nights and £53 for the second two nights for a twin room (without breakfast). Based on the fact the room was so cheap, I was a bit sceptical. However, I was very pleasantly surprised and the hotel delivered everything it promised.

The hotel is in a great location situation about 10 minutes walk from Bastille station and 3 minutes from Breguet Sabin and Chemin Vert. It was really easy to travel anywhere in Paris from here, and easy to walk to Notre Dame and the more interesting parts of the Seine. It was also a relatively clean and safe area, particularly in comparison to Republique and Montmatre which are other common place travellers on a budget stay.

The room itself was sufficient. The decor was very basic - particularly the carpet which was old and worn and discoloured, as were parts of the bathroom. The room and bathroom were, however, very clean, and the beds were comfortable with good quality bed linen which was more important for us. The room was also quiet and a decent size.

One thing I particularly liked about the hotel is that they provided a kettle, tea, coffee and sachets of milk with biscuits which was nice if you didn't want to opt for their paid for buffet breakfast. We didn't try the buffet breakfast but there was a nice outdoor courtyard area to eat the breakfast in, and it looked good.

The only thing I can complain about is the fact the lighting was somewhat dim, and no hand towels were provided. Otherwise, this hotel had everything else we needed (including wifi, a TV and helpful staff) at a really budget price. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This review is late, but I realized I had not done it already.
This hotel was picked because of ratings and reviews as well as a central location. My travel companion and I had not been to Paris before. We were two single ladies and obviously tourists from America. We booked our stay for Thanksgiving holiday for four nights. Our room was as expected, but had a view of the street. Since it was cool we left the windows open a bit at night. We could hear the busyness of the street but it was ok, we enjoyed it. Breakfast daily was lovely, one of the other reasons we picked it. Every morning and evening we walked to the train station. We also walked the area to restauramts and stores. The staff was gracious and quite forgiving as we did not speak ANY French. What we tried we were laughed at, and not in a bad way. The rooms were clean. As I stated we choose this location b/c we planned on seeing a diverse area of Paris and did not want to be too far away from anything. Train rides were no more than 20mns i"d like to say.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I subscribe entirely what has been said in most previous reviews concerning the strong points of this hotel. It is clean, it has quite decent prices and the staff is amiable and well disposed. It is also very conveniently located, at less than 100 meters from two metro stations, several bus lines and at a walking distance of several major sightseeing points, like place des Vosges, Notre Dame and la Ile de la Cité, and even the Louvre.
The nice supermarket at less than 20 meters is also really convenient. In fact, I did not have breakfast at the hotel restaurant, but in the room with the things bought at the supermarket.
I do not share the reviews concerning size of the rooms, but I must clarify that I had a four-people family room, so mine was a special case. For four people, the room was quite good in size, not cramped at all, but in the emergency evacuation plan it can be easily appreciated that, in comparison, other rooms looked tiny.
The size of the room is precisely the greatest strength of this hotel in my opinion. As most parents do know, it is quite difficult to find hotels offering family rooms for more than three people, in a good location in a major city and at reasonable prices. Most hotels only give the option to take two side-to-side rooms, giving a token discount around 10% at most, which, as can be imagined, is a very costly option if you want to spend several days at the hotel. Therefore, Campanile Bastille gets my full votes on that point.
Finally, I want to give my opinion on the area where the hotel is located, because I have read a previous review concerning the homeless people staying in the surroundings. The area itself is not specially bad, it is a middle class residential area with good looking buildings, medium level commerce and good restaurant options. It is true that a group of foreign paperless inmigrants seemed to be stablished around the area, but I have been walking around with two six year kids and my wife, some days at relatively late hours, and never felt the slightest sign of threat or risk to my personal security. They did not even beg. Unfortunately, homeless inmigrants seem to be a commom problem in most european major capitals, but I do not think that in this specific case it was specially acute or dangerous.
In summary, if you want to visit Paris with your family, this is a top option from the cost effective point of view.

Room Tip: Every floor seemed to have two big size family rooms. They are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille

Address: 9 Rue Du Chemin Vert, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#138 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#505 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Paris Xi Bastille Hotel Paris
Campanile Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.